We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant B&B”
Review of 36 Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
36 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 438 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This guest house is one of the loveliest place we stayed in while on holiday in Sri Lanka. The house was very comfortable with modern furnishings - the bed was very comfortable and we were the only guests during our two nights stay! We also had the room with a balcony, and it was worthwhile because the views over Kandy lake and city were incredible.
Finally a note of thanks to the manager and his wife who did everything they could to make sure we were comfortable and well looked after during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for 36 Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent 2 nights here during our 2 week trip through Sri Lanka. We had booked a room with a balcony ahead of time ($65/night). When we arrived (only some tuk-tuk drivers seemed to know where it is), the manager and his wife asked us if we wanted the room with the balcony, or a cheaper room without the view. Apparently monkeys had damaged the roof of the room with the balcony, and with the heavy rain that evening it was leaking in several places. In the end we chose the room with the balcony anyway, as the view was worth the inconvenience, and there were no leaks above the bed. Later on when the rain got even heavier we noticed a leak above the bed, but we were able to move the bed out of the way. The leaks left the room smelling damp, and there was also some mold on one of the walls. The manager told us that the owner would be at the house in December 2012 to repair the roof.

The manager and his wife gave us a very warm welcome, and did everything in their power to make sure we had a pleasant stay. We were the only guests for the 2 nights we stayed there, and were often asked if we needed anything else. The final section of road up to the hotel is unlit at night, but they provided us with a flashlight to walk to a nearby restaurant for dinner.

Breakfast was sufficient, with eggs, sausage, toast, butter/jam, fruit and yoghurt. There was plenty to eat, but the sausage and toast could have been of better quality. The eggs (scrambled one day, an omelette the other day) were good.

The view of Kandy and the lake from our room was excellent, and the dining area for breakfast in the mornings was bright from the surrounding windows, and had a similar view of Kandy.

The leaks in the roof were a big shame, but the warm welcome of the manager helped to make up for this, and hopefully this has now been fixed. With a little bit of effort to improve the rooms (the leaks, a few pictures on the walls, etc.) this could be a great place to stay in Kandy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mystrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This guest house was the loveliest place we stayed while in Sri Lanka. The house was immaculately clean and appears to have been recently refurbished, with comfortable and modern furnishings - the bed was very comfortable! We paid the extra $5 per night for a room with a balcony, and it was worthwhile - the views over Kandy lake and city were incredible. Don't be put off by the 15-20 minute walk into town - it's far too busy and noisy to stay at a hotel in the town centre - this gives you the best of both worlds.

Finally a note of thanks to our hosts, who did everything they could to make sure we were comfortable and well looked after during our stay. Their hospitality was second to none. We were sad to leave the 36 B&B.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the extra!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkip378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great view of the kandy lake from the room. tastefully done interiors. The room and bathroom was delightfully clean. Great for a b& b. the caretakers were also very warm. Tip- Do remember to ask the caretakers to switch on the geysers before you go in for a bath. Had to wait 15 mins for hot water. Overall, a great memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I are currently staying in the 36 b&b and will be so sad to leave tomorrow. The villa is so lovely and worth being a little away from the action as the views and standards the house keepers Mahinda and visatha keep are impeccable they have really made our stay truly memorable. Would recommend to all visitors to the wonderful Kandy. P.S - Do try the little take away cafe at the bottom of the hill by the lake - garden cafe , very good & local prices.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank joannehorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We paid extra for the balcony room and it was worth every penny!! It was the largest room- newly furnish with large glass windows overlooking the city. Definitely one of the best rooms we stayed in so far!!! Mahidran was the housekeeper there- he was so polite n helpful, always asking if we needed more tea or water. Would hav been awesome w wifi or/n tv, and we'd gladly pay more for that as well. Room rate is very reasonable as it is.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xtravellerxSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A scenic and perfectly idyllic place to stay in the Hill capital of Sri Lanka.Perched on the side of a mountain with expansive views of Kandy the very modest and comfortable house was a treat. The balcony was a highlight as we could sit and absorb the surroundings with the entertaining monkeys in full performance. The hosts were pleasant and attentive. The Sri Lankan breakfast which they serve was beautiful and had a feel of a home cooked meal .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.7 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pranobaa Home Stay
Pranobaa Home Stay
#26 of 438 in Kandy
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#27 of 438 in Kandy
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Elephant Shed - Tourist Hostel
0.2 mi away
Lake Round Residence
Lake Round Residence
#38 of 438 in Kandy
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kandyan Sweet Villa
Kandyan Sweet Villa
#70 of 357 in Kandy
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Bed & Breakfast

Address: 36 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $46 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 Bed & Breakfast is a modern three bed roomed Bed & Breakfast equipped with all modern amenities located in the heart of Kandy, Sri Lanka. Visitors can virtually walk to any attraction in Kandy in a couple of minutes and return any minute to relax, or even just use our free WIFI. Our guests can book any of our three rooms individually or even the whole bungalow if they need more privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 36 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing