We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant forest walk”

Udawattekele Sanctuary
Ranked #8 of 74 things to do in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very pleasant forest walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

A lovely, pleasant, forest walks, easy level paths - I managed fine with my ordinary sandals. Not many flowering plants at the time when I visited (late March) but the trees, the climbers and the general greenery are beautiful. Especially lovely on a sunny day when the trees provide shade.

Saw groups of monkeys in a couple of places - they seemed quite bold and let me come up very close. Heard plenty of birds but couldn't see them high up in the trees - not being a bird person I couldn't tell what they were, but for a bird expert armed with binoculars this forest must be very exciting!

Signage is variable and the map (which is provided on a leaflet you get when you pay for your entrance) is a little confusing - the man who took my fee explained which is the best way to go for the amount of time I wanted to spend there - I wouldn't have known without his advice.

Plenty of stone benches scattered around the path.. Beware of the small blood-sucking leeches though - I've been warned about them but this was my first experience of these creatures in 2.5 months, only noticed some hours later when changing my clothes that about 4 of the blood-suckers were having a party on my left leg!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Masha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    98
    28
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing discovery. Great for a long walk in the wild.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Price around 700 LKR/person. This was a great rainforest experience. All those birds singing, monkeys jumping and almost no tourists around. Simply great. I regret we had only 3 hours to spend there. Most def a great place for people who like walking in the woods. There are a few tracks to follow and a few different landscapes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice place for a walk but not spectaculair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

A nice place to go for a walk, it's really quiet near the bustling city of Kandy. We didn't see much animals (some turtles, monitor and just a few birds) so that was a bit of a disappointment, but there were some nice big trees. They are afraid of poachers, so they will check your bag for plants, etc. when you leave the forest.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petra77_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice for a walk on a nice day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's hard to believe that there's such a nice, peaceful nature reserve within around 15-20 minutes walk from Kandy city centre, and I only discovered this place after being here for 2 weeks.

It's definitely worth visiting if you like walking in nature. It cost around 700 rupees to get in, which is actually quite reasonable.

USEFUL TIPS: If you can, try to avoid going a day after heavy rain. Also, you may wish to wear walking boots instead of sandals as I kept getting a lot of dirt in my sandals which was quite annoying.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Uncle_Ji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

A good sanctuary in the here of Kandy. Very peaceful and is a good place especially if you have enough time to spend in Kandy. But be careful for the leeches so have some acidic solution such as perfume as it will be handy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank UdSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udawattekele Sanctuary also viewed

 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Udawattekele Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing