We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hospitable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel
Ranked #87 of 368 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Oak wood inn was in a nice quiet area just outside of Kandy. Lovely peaceful accommodation with great Hospitality! Extremely helpful staff and really nice freshly cooked food. Nice trickling waterfall just behind the hotel.About 5 minute drive from the lake which was fine as we had a driver!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoneyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 75 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Oak wood inn is one of the good hotels in Kandy.It gives a homely atmosphere.It also gives us homely food.The hotel is situated in a natural scenic background with waterfalls at the back.My tour operator was Deva.Excellent person,very helpful,guided me to all places in Kandy and Colombo in my trip to Sri Lanka.Sri Lanka ...,, super place to tour.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Brahadeesh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We can really recommend Oakwoodinn Hotel. A very calm place near the city of Kandy. Nice room with air-cond, clean and confortable. The food was exellent and the service were perfect.
The family were kindly and helpfully.

Anita and Kaj from Sweden

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaj E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were very satisfied with this hotel. Family room is very nice and clean with hot water and european electricity plug. The family that runs the hotel is really kind and helpful. The owner even ,took us in the town for free. Ali that is described about the hotel is true. We recomende it very much.

Room Tip: We recomende family room for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank premzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at hotel with my friends during my visit to Sri Lanka. Its a very simple hotel in a very quiet location. We had a small stream flowing behind the hotel and waking up listening to the sound of flowing water is a beautiful experience. The owner is an Indian and on our request prepared Indian Breakfast for us -- poori sabji, Idli - sambhar. The taste of both the dishes was really good. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a nice stay with awesome hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back side where you can hear water flowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VikrantChaplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I cannot recommend Oak Wood Inn highly enough! Our hosts Mohan and Lakshmi made our stay in Kandy very easy and enjoyable. Mohan made sure we were able to get train tickets for our onward journey, arranged transport to Sigiriya at short notice. The family shared their New Years celebrations with us, fed us cake and the traditional New Years breakfast. The impression I am left with is of a lovely family who go out of their way to help their guests enjoy Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Pink room is quiet and overlooks a waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Here is the good news and bad news of this review. First the good news... there isn't any so that doesn't take long.

The bad news....

It's in a charmless area where dogs bark all night long making attempt at sleep completely futile, no one knows where it is also making it even more frustrating.

The rooms are where the 'fun' really begins. We were in the 'Maroon Room' if you see the website you will see a lot's of all the in room services listed, such as TV, hairdryer, safe, coffee and tea making. What we really had was like an episode of 'when builders go bad' bathroom falling apart (have some great pics) shower hanging off the wall plugs hanging off the wall.Also it was filthy. the owner, although apologetic, accomadating as he could be and a very nice man, really needs to step up his game if he wants to be successful as it's like Sri Lankan Faulty Towers.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel

Address: No 321 George E.de. Silva Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 368 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: $32 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing