We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel
Ranked #88 of 380 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The service in the hotel was very good, people do their very best to make you as much as comfortable! clean rooms and I never had such a good curry! The hotel is near a couple of interesting things in Kandy town like the dancing show, temple of tooth.

Room Tip: Upstairs less noicy from the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 75 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having checked the reviews, I can't believe we were in the same place! Our room at the front of the house was awful! Two beds jammed in to a small room, grubby, one pillow, one sheet on the double bed plus a grubby looking synthetic blanket. The room was very dingy - the one light was behind the wardrobe and the lowest wattage possible. No remote for the A/C, very unusual plumbing, no hot water, no bath mat etc etc. when we complained about the lack of light someone was sent out to buy a brighter bulb, we did get the remote so that we could turn the A/C on, two more pillows were found and we were informed that the hot water system had broken down and as it was the weekend, could not be fixed. The dinner was very average - the owner suggested fried chicken and vegetables and salad. The chicken was so dry it was almost inedible. After all the delicious food we had eaten in Sri Lanka we were very disappointed. One staff member, who we dubbed "Manwell" tried very hard to make things better, which we greatly appreciated. Our guide had booked us in for two nights, but one was enough for us. We moved to another guest house nearby.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here - maybe the better rooms are at the back of the house overlooking the strea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toppies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Oak Wood was booked for us by our driver during our Sri Lankan holiday. We stayed there two nights. The place is a few km out of Kandy and you would need your own transportation to and from the town as there are no tuk tuks around. The rooms are of various sizes and named according to the color of the bathroom tiles. We stayed at the Blue room which faced the road and our friends stayed at the Green room which faced the hill side. The Blue room had no balcony but it was comfortable with clean sheets and clean bathroom. However the place was average in its maintenance, for example, the plug point was loose and fell out of the wall. There is no coffee maker as advertised in their website but they will give you a electric kettle on request. The Green room was a tad bigger but had no cross ventilation. However the balcony with a small brook running below was beautiful. The prices of the meals here are at least 50% more than those available in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is my first time for me and my family in Kandy; actually we planned to stay two nights. But because we enjoy the hospitality we decided to spend 7 days in Kandy. The hotel is in a quiet place with amazing waterfall view. clean and comfortable rooms with delicious home cooked meals.
In the hotel you will feel like you are staying in your home. Furthermore, Mr. Mohan and his family are providing good services to encourage the guests to stay more. Consequently, we recommend this hotel.
Moreover, Ms. Lakshmi,is cooking delicious food we have enjoyed a lot, even though if you like the Arabic food .they are very cooperative, and assisted us a lot.they can guide you to the best places to visit within Kandy.
If you want to spend more time to relax come and listen to the waterfall in the balcony, it is amazing (by the way i have not seen any hotel has such a waterfall like this hotel).
Finally , you will save a lot

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wael_assad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent three very enjoyable days with Mr. Mohan and his family. He was a most hospitable host who spoke English fluently and made our stay such a happy experience. His inn/guesthouse was very clean and comfortable with abundant hot water and home cooked meals were delicious. Consequently, we would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed 2 night at oak wood. Actually we planned to stay there only one night. But this lovely quite environment, setup, service & the people made us to stay one more night.
I felt so relaxed. No disturbance at all. Room balcony is opened to a little stony creek flowing. Wow… it’s beautiful.. My little son also was very happy to stay in the balcony and I too felt 100% safe to keep him there.
Morhan, his family and the staff are really nice people. Very concerned about my little one’s (15 months) requirements. Roy always wanted to play and look after him.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilushi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

first time we are here in candy and overnighting in Oak Wood hotel.

I command every one to come here if you want have fun,party or for rest.
it is verry close and kindly family, who"s hospitally is overcomplete us.
we can even cook here and made us owne dinner or they cook that wat you want.

greatings from sangam.

Room Tip: look if water and shower/bathroom is oke thats for me important here is every thing all right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#33 of 57 in Kandy
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 57 in Kandy
1,356 reviews
1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel

Address: No 321 George E.de. Silva Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 380 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: $31 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing