We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!!!!dont get fool for the lonely planet/tripadvisor logos.”
Review of Golden View Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden View Rest
Ranked #280 of 444 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm right now at this place and its too late to change. Rooms can't be dirtier, service is awful and the location is uphill but quite close to the city so the tuk tuks won't take you there.
It's a very very scary place,.....but really cheap!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankCortesBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 79 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there one night.
In the morning we chose to have breakfast in the restaurant just across the street (where we liked having dinner the day before). The manager of the hotel did not like this act of daring! He blamed us for that and asked that we checked out earlier.
The rooms are dirty and expensive for what they are.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed one night here on our way to Sigiriya. Again the weather was not cooperating and the rain would not stop. The room was clean and there was hot water. The bathroom smelled musty and there was mold on the back of the sink, but at this price I think all the hotels have this problem because of the constant rain and humidity. It was fine for 1 night. The owner and staff were very helpful and nice. Since there was so much rain we really appreciated the restaurant that was covered and overlooked the street. A place to relax and have a good cup of tea. This hotel is on the street where most of the budget hotels are located so it is a good place to meet other travelers and get advice on where other people have stayed in the country. The area is safe and a short walk to the lake.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very average guesthouse on a hill overlooking the the lake/fan room /hot&cold water/basic room with small balcony/no soap/no toilet paper/no towels had to ask/owner don’t care attitude towards guests/was just alright for a one night stay can do better in this area but cost will be high/do not get a Tuk Tuk from here you will be ripped off. Told owner that i do reviews for trip advisor and he just laughed and said walk to the station then. Price for Tuk Tuk to station 1.5 kms at most 800Ruppes cost train trip Kandy To Galle 6hrs 720Ruppes when will they learn to stop ripping tourists off such a lovely country trying its best to encourage tourists these guys are not helping won't be back to this guesthouse and suggest others avoid it

Room Tip: DON'T Stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place wasn't on our list for places to stay, but after taking a visiting a few rip off hotels and bed and breakfast we came across this place. The rooms were clean and basic, although a bit rough around the edges. There is free wifi and 24 hour hot water. The staff are a bit sell - sell for tours and stuff, but they get the idea when you say no. All in all a good place for 1800rs and only a ten min walk from town. If you are not looking for plasma t.v's and 500 channel sky this might be the place for you.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We found this place by coincidence and took it because it had the lonely planet and tripadvisor sign outside. prices were ok and first, we were really happy to be there because somebody made a huge scratch in our rented motorbike while parking it in the city and the owner was very friendly and told us he knows a mechanic who can repair and polish the damage the next day. next morning we were waiting for this man, first they told us he'll come in one our, then 10 minutes, then they told us they don't know when he comes and we should go and visit the sights. we told them that we want to know the price and especially the success of the repair before doing something. when we came back in the evening, that guy had already put some kind of black paste on the scratch what looked even worser than before. but the owner said it's no problem and he would come back the next day to polish everything and then the scratch would disappear. we told him that we have to leave very early in the morning (what he KNEW before!) but he said that the mechanic would be there at 6.30am to finish his work. we were so angry that he started to botch on the bike without even asking us or telling us the price before! and next day, the mechanic naturally did not come to finish the repair and, what a big surprise, the owner was disappeared. and we had a bike that looked even worser than before ... later, somebody told us that it was black paint (!) that was put on the scratch - so glad that we refused to pay for this s...t. it's really a pity because the staff was quite nice and the breakfast was great, but the owner is really terrible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna-pitchoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The staff is friendly but is lacking attention to quality, except for the breakfast which is good.
There is wifi in the reception area. Make the price before you go into the room.
The rooms on the topfloor are perfect. No beer being served. We didn't have food here.
Internet is very slow.

Room Tip: The top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayke188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
2.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden View Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden View Rest

Address: 46 Saranankara Rd, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing