We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden)
Ranked #6 of 147 Restaurants in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: European, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Ease on into the laidack vibes of Slightly Chilled Lounge.We have the best sunsets in Kandy town and offer, happy hour on beer between 5pm and 6pm, free wifi,live premiership and other live sporting events on a large screen, pool table, great food and friendly service. Please note we are closed on poya days( full moon)and please call for any other public holidays or elections.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went to Slightly Chilled after finding it rated no. 1 for restaurants in Kandy and must say that it did live upto its reputation!! The food is tastefully delightful, the portions cover more than two people and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The kitchen is open and is in plain sight and seemed to be kept very clean, and the owners keep mingling and checking on guests, food etc. this decently priced restaurant offers a stunning view of the city of Kandy, an added bonus. Overall you'll just be Slightly Chilled, if not more....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seldomspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    559
    177
    61
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular place”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

It's a walkable distance from town centre. The view up there is just amazing. We had a great time enjoying our late afternoon at the balcony while watching the sunset. We also had a great chat with the friendly owner and enjoyed unexpected awesome dumplings for dinner. Definitely recommend this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank henryhsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Huge portions! Great place to chill in the evening with an awesome view of Kandy”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our B&B introduced us to Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar and we took a short tuk tuk drive there. We went there after the sun had set, but I'd imagine it would be a great place to view the Kandy sunset as it sits on top of a hill and overlooks the rest of the city.

It can get pretty chilly in the evenings, so ladies do bring a shawl if you're afraid of the cold. Portions were huge, but serves decent food and cheap drinks. Owner had his two dogs roaming around the restaurant but they were well-behaved so all good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrisL_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good spot for a sundowner!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I didn't eat here although the food did look good. I would recommend this spot simply for the view and if you like stay for a little boogie!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome view of Kany”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

After a long day of travelling, bus journeys and site seeing, we almost gave up on trying to find this place as it's hidden away at the top of a hill (plus we were looking for it under its old name "Pub" in an out of date lonely planet).

Thankfully we found it, and had happy hour Lion Beers at 200rps each, watching a beautiful sunset over Kandy Lake, white Buddha in the distance, and 1000s of Fruit Bats flying over head.

#priceless

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden) also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing