We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in Sri Lanka.”
Review of Anna Shanthi Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anna Shanthi Villa
Ranked #21 of 462 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Top marks. Lovely couple. Very friendly. Rooms and en suite are superb. If in Kandy you must stay here. Pity we were only there for one night. Breakfast was superb. They even provided dvds for our kids.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavapotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Kandy.

Marissa and Prassana organised a driver to pick me up from Negombo to Kandy and arranged my trips to Dambulla, Tea Plantations and Pinnawalla. Nothing is too much trouble for these guys....breakfast was great esp the spicy omlette and tea.
Tuk tuk driver is friendly and cheap and receptionist is pleasant.
Its a short walk from Kandy lake and the Garden Cafe for food.
Our room was massive with 3 beds which were joined for a family of 4.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great rooms (especially the bathroom, which was delightful) and great breakfast. The owners were so friendly - sat down with us to help us plan the best way to see Polonorua / Sigiriya / Anaradapura - with some great suggestions, and found us great value driver to get us up there. They really did go out of their way to help - so thank you so much.
Highly recommended - would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Mirissa and her husband did every thing they could to make our stay in Kandy unforgettable. The rooms are amazing (flat screen tv and dvd, a/c, huge beds, beautiful decor, big and super modern bathroom and shower, spotless), the breakfast really good and whole place just makes u to never want to leave. There`s a house tuk tuk driver that is very reliable and punctual, and Marissa and her husband can and will help u in anything. Anything we asked for, we got: banana pancakes, driver, spicy omelette, dvd library, laundry and so much more. Thank you both for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we booked online after checking out anna shanti's tripadvisor reviews which were all positive. marissa, who owns the hotel with her husband prassana, was very helpful, even taking the extra step to provide us the telephone number for a hotel whose contact details were not provided. we appreciate that our travel arrangements around the cultural triangle were smooth and hassle free with their help and input.

the room we had was very clean, spacious, comfortable, pleasantly decorated. we had a good night's rest. the bathroom was equally spacious. towels and toiletries were provided.

we had to leave very early in the morning, but prassana made the effort to wake up early and prepare us a filling breakfast.

anna shanti is about 7 minutes tuktuk ride from the temple of the tooth. the hotel also had the best prices for airport pick-up and car and driver.

we also appreciate the driver they recommended, ranjith (cel no. 0777-615884), who is a reflection of the good service and concern for guests at anna shanti's. ranjith gave a reasonable price when we made changes to the itinerary, drove safely, spoke english well, knew which restaurants around sri lanka were clean and had good food, and did not press us to make any purchases at unsheduled stops.

overall, anna shanti was the best choice for us in kandy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeladelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are a family of 4 and have stayed at Anna Shanty Villa for one night in March during our 10 days trip in Sri Lanka. I can strongly recommend this place!

Anna Shanti Villa is one of the best places to stay in Sri Lanka with a great value for money:
-clean and spaceous rooms
-clean bathroom
-great breakfast
-very nice garden (to drink wine in the evening)
-very nice owners.

Overall, not wondering, the place has won the Tripadvisor Award in 2012.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we were welcomed with a big smile and a pot of tea, we felt relaxed and at home here. We only stayed two nights but even then nothing was too much trouble. The owners accommodated our needs with a smile eg an early breakfast was required one day. The breakfast was fresh fruit followed by bacon, sausage and egg (done how you liked) plus great coffee or tea. The rooms were very clean with a decent sized bathroom (watch out for slippery floor!) There was also a lounge area and pleasant garden. The villa is located up a steep hill but despite getting v.hot walking up there with our backpacks on, we were glad it was situated out of the noise and chaos of the city. It is in walking distance of the main sights in Kandy. Try the Garden Cafe at the bottom of the road for unpretentious, good value Sri Lankan food.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_and_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
5.2 mi away
Kandy Guest House
Kandy Guest House
#7 of 462 in Kandy
262 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 462 in Kandy
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#4 of 462 in Kandy
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Vista House
Vista House
#19 of 462 in Kandy
64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mountain View Holiday Home
0.8 mi away
Bethel Rest
Bethel Rest
#22 of 462 in Kandy
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Shanthi Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Shanthi Villa

Address: 203 Rajapihilla Terrace, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $19 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anna Shanthi Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Shanthi Villa, nestled amongst rich vegetation and tranquil surroundings. The villa has recently undergone renovations and provides spacious bedrooms all with adjoining en-suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Anna Shanthi Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing