We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”
Review of Anna Shanthi Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anna Shanthi Villa
Ranked #9 of 388 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The couple who run this place fantastic , very big warm smiles each day and they have a tuck tuck on stand buy if you need it ,

Breakfast was nice , i enjoyed the spicy omelet,

we enjoyed that I could make a cup of tea in the day with no problems , and use there fridge to store drinks in very helpful

They helped us organise trip to sirigyia which is a must if you in Kandy , also there where some other lovely guest where staying,

The only thing we find hard in kandy to find was a good restaurant

Room Tip: Very clean rooms like you could put things in the fridge in the kitchen eg beers etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    62
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
144
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A good place to stay in Kandy, good location - a little bit apart from from hustle and bustle of the city but also not far from the attractions of the town. Good condtions: comfortable bed, hot water, air-conditioning, fan, big and tasty breakfasts. The rooms were clean on arrival but not cleaned everyday, only on request. There was a problem with the shower in the bathroom, after shower the whole bathroom was wet and slippery. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Overall positive experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay in this spotless modern guesthouse. Made a real change from some of the shabby guesthouses we've experienced in Sri Lanka!
Only slight downside was the lack of a view over Kandy but Marisa's willingness to help with absolutely everything and her cooked breakfasts more than made up for it.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and loved it very much. The rooms were lovely and the bedding was of great quality. It was the most expensive guest house I stayed in whilst travelling Sri Lanka but it was worth it, hot showers, great breakfast and the location for me was good as it was only a short walk to the lake in Kandy. It was only a 30 min walk to the city centre and it was a very pleasant walk.
The hosts especially Mirissa was very helpful and arranged for tuc tuc travel to The elephant orphanage. She even dealt with the dispute I had with the tuc tuc driver where he had over charged me for my trip.
I would definitely stay there again if I travelled to Kandy on my next trip to Sri Lanka next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This newly renovated guest house is run by a young Australian/Singalease couple. They are doing a good job, but it is a hard one 24/7. Especially Marisa from Australia has excellent people skills. The rooms are clean but not fancy. The breakfast would be nicer with some homemade jam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMSilfverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Well placed guesthouse, very nice couple of owners always ready to help, clean room, bathroom and eating area, fan and AC available in the room, hot water shower, comfortable beds, very nice breakfast (quantity and quality). Globally very positive stay at Anna Shanti Villa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of our trip. What a lovely place and fantastic hosts! The standard of many guesthouses in Sri Lanka is very average but if you are looking for a place with clean sheets, clean bathroom and comfortable bed, this is it. The rooms are well set-up with flat screen television, wireless internet and ensuite.

Tips
- Go for cheap local food at the Garden Club Cafe towards the bottom of the hill.
- Bring a torch light if you go for a walk in the evening as the road to the guesthouse can be a bit dark.
- Book a room early!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 54 in Kandy
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Shanthi Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Shanthi Villa

Property: Anna Shanthi Villa
Address: 203 Rajapihilla Terrace, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 388 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anna Shanthi Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Shanthi Villa, nestled amongst rich vegetation and tranquil surroundings. The villa has recently undergone renovations and provides spacious bedrooms all with adjoining en-suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anna Shanthi Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing