We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific service good location all you need”
Review of Anna Shanthi Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anna Shanthi Villa
Ranked #10 of 428 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“terrific service good location all you need”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

i thought that this bed and breakfast was the best that we stayed in in three weeks of the holiday. it is conveniently located up a quiet residential road next to the lake. can walk to lake and temple of tooth etc easily. the grounds are beautifully manicured if small and the common room/restaurant is clean and has a large screen television. It provides a lovely cool respite from the heat of the day. The room was once again clean and confortable. it was spacious and the bathroom was excellent - obviously new and very clean. room itself was basic but adequate - no storage though. Tv didnt work but they had plan to get it going soon after we left. The staff could not have been more helpful. Very welcoming and accommodating. The run a laundry service was was impecible. Our clothes were brought back the next day clean and pressed. They have a room for drivers and will accommodate with pleasure. The staff were also helpful in recommending trips restaurants etc. Would highly recommend - very good value for money. Just a note there is no safe to keep valuables but the house is manned all the time so felt safe. Top tip - if the air conditioning goes off and there is noone to ask - the switch is in the kitchen.

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobA9_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    62
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
143
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is one of the places that makes you feel like home :) .. It's owned by a lovely couple (Srilankan & Australian) & it's named after their adorable daughter Anna Shanthi :) .. The hotel is up on a hill that is 20 minutes walk from Kandy Lake .. It's in a quiet & safe area .. Rooms are clean, beds are comfy & toilets are spotless! A/C & hot water are available in the rooms/showers .. The service is amazing & food is very delicious .. If you will have all your meals at the hotel, make sure to give them enough time for cooking .. Marissa - the owner - was lovely enough to do our laundry & press them :) .. Even our tour driver was very welcomed & had his own room/food .. We stayed there for 2 nights & wished we stayed more ..

I totally recommend it :)

Room Tip: If you like to sleep late, maybe you would wanna book the rooms inside .. We stayed at the one next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damdoom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

There are three reasons why Anna Shanthi Villa is a must-stay in any Kandy-visit - it's a home away from home in the truest sense of the word; drivers get a room and breakfast free of charge; and, then there's Marisa. I'm not sure if it's her Italian genes or her Australian upbringing that makes her so warm and friendly. Got along like a house on fire and chatted with her late into the night.

Marisa and Prasanna's place is a cute bungalow on a hillside (as are most places in Kandy) and within easy distance from the centre of town. We were told it's walking distance to the Kandy lake but we had a vehicle so never got around to timing that walk. The house is very clean - rooms are big and well-kept. There's air-conditioning - it was nippy at night so we didn't switch it on. There are TV-DVD players in all the rooms - you can borrow DVDs if you wish, but we chose to chat with Marisa and Prasanna instead! And, of course, play with Anna, their bundle of sunshine.

But the best thing about Marisa and Prasanna's place is there are NO RULES. You can pretty much do what you want. Stock your soda and food in their refrigerator or order pizzas to be home delivered! It's preferable to eat at home though - Prasanna can rustle up a great Sri Lankan curry. He even made us kottu roti one night.

Breakfast is good and hearty - you can choose the standard fare of eggs, sausage, bacon and toast or mix and match like we did. There's tea on demand and it's on the house! We were even allowed to use the Internet at no extra cost. The place may not run like a well-oiled machine as some B&Bs do, but that's the charm. You feel comfortable putting your feet up at the end of a tiring day - there's no one glaring at you!

Strongly recommend Marisa and Prasanna's place if you're looking for a chilled out place to stay. The cleanliness and good food are the icing on the cake. And Marisa is the cherry on top!.

Positives: Nice house with big, clean rooms; good food; great company; relaxed and friendly environment with no house-rules

Negatives: Takes a while to find the place (they are in the process of putting up signboards so it should get easier); not run with military precision so there can be occassional slip-ups (but they always apologise and make up for it somehow, so can be easily overlooked!); no swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in September as a part of our honeymoon travels. The owners (and daughter Anna!) were extremely welcoming and friendly, and we were so pleased that we chose this property to stay - even our driver was made to feel welcome and was well looked after! Our room was large, clean and very comfortable, and breakfast was a feast each morning - cereal, toast, omelette, eggs, sausage - whatever you desire! We were also treated to a Sri Lankan dinner one night, which was amazing - and were kindly given a lovely bottle of wine, since we were on our honeymoon - a lovely gesture! The property is central and easy to walk to the lake - we highly recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fantastic place a short walk from the lake in Kandy. Possibly the cleanest B&B I've ever stayed in - the place was sparkling.

Friendly owner and his young daughter Anna, plus fantastic staff made this a memorable stay. They arranged a great Tuk Tuk driver who drove us around the sights calmly and with none of the usual madness of a tuktuk on Sri Lankan roads!

Definitely recommended - you may not be bang in the middle of Kandy but you are within easy walking distance, and have the advantage of a calm, quiet local environment. Plus the beds were some of the most comfortable I've slept in when travelling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We recently stayed in Anna Shanthi for 3 nights and were made to feel part of the family. Prasanna could not have been more welcoming and helpful. He arranged a great driver to bring us to the cultural highlights (Suni) and a Tuk Tuk driver for trips around Kandy. The room was large and very comfortable, the bed linen was the highest quality of all the guesthouses we stayed in Sri Lanka. The bathroom was very modern, with a great shower. Each morning we were treated to a large breakfast (too big for me) and one of the highlights of our stay was a home cooked traditional evening meal cooked by our host. Thank you Prasanna, Brian and Anna for making our trip to Kandy so memorable. I would definetly recommend staying at Anna Shanthi for the comfort, the friendliness and the convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelier41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bankstown, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night in July, we had 3 rooms. All were very good size with very comfortable beds. Rooms were very clean and tidy, with brand new bathrooms, and air-conditioning. The location is good, only a short 15min walk into town around the lake and past the temple of the tooth, which is a very nice walk. The owners were incredibly friendly and more than accommodating, asking us the night before what we would like for breakfast for the next morning (which was fantastic). The hotel was also great value for money. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anybody, wether it be for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.0 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 55 in Kandy
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kandy
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Shanthi Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Shanthi Villa

Property: Anna Shanthi Villa
Address: 203 Rajapihilla Terrace, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 428 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anna Shanthi Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Shanthi Villa, nestled amongst rich vegetation and tranquil surroundings. The villa has recently undergone renovations and provides spacious bedrooms all with adjoining en-suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anna Shanthi Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing