We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Excellent”
Review of Baramba House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baramba House
Ranked #14 of 465 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Barbara and Sandun are the wonderful hosts of this beautiful property. Without doubt, the best accommodation we found in terms of value, ambience and service during a recent trip to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 164 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is the place to stay in Kandy if you want quiet and beauty. The accommodations are exceptional and the hosts can not be better. The large room is the way to go if available although the "smaller" rooms are also extremely well appointed . The included breakfast was the best I had in Sri Lanka and the value for dollar can not be surpassed. I would stay there again in the blink of an eye. The location to Kandy is not an issue and the view is fantastic. I can not say enough nice things regarding this small boutique like accommodation. And definitely, eat at least one dinner there.......you will absolutely not be disappointed. Terrific place to go as a couple or with a small group. With only 3 rooms, the place is yours and you would not regret it. IF available, don't hesitate.
.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you are lucky enough to secure a booking at Baramba House you are in for a treat. Barbara and Sundun have created a wonderful, intimate accommodation experience that could not possibly get any better.

There are only 3 rooms available at this luxury property set high in the hills of Kandy. Our room was large, airy and quiet overlooking the lovely garden. There is a good sized pool, seats on the veranda for taking in the views and a stylish guest lounge room (with a great music collection) as well as a separate breakfast area.

What makes this place so special is the friendly, personalised service from both Barbara and Sundun. They genuinely want to ensure that you enjoy your stay in every way. Barbara is also an incredible cook! The breakfasts were amazing and the dinner she cooked for us probably the best meal we had in all of Sri Lanka. We only stayed at Baramba House for 2 nights and wished it could have been longer. If we ever return to Kandy, I would not consider staying anywhere else. It is quite simply perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Well what to say without sounding completely biased? WE LOVED this place. We spent 14 nights in Sri Lanka in various hotels in various places at various price ranges and we both agreed that Baramba House was by far our favourite. Its cheap compared to the quality of the rooms, gorgeous garden, spectacular views and unsurpassed hospitality.
We were not sure if the location was going to be ok as it's not in the Kandy city center but the view you see once we arrived put my mind at rest that it was already a better location. Plenty of eating facilities within walking distance and the hosts provided excellent dinning advice. From some of the reviews you might worry that Baramba House will be too far out of town but the location is actually a 5 minute drive into town. Getting to Temple of the Tooth, Botanical Gardens and Elephant Orphange was actually very easy. Baramba House is in an afluent area, Primrose Hill, and the area is safe, secure and clean.
Breakfast each morning was far better than the other 5 star hotels we stayed at and set up outside overlooking the lush valley below.
Free wifi was good, cleanliness is prefect, hospitality was warm when you wanted it and discreet when you wanted space.
There are many many reasons why you wont regret this beautiful home in Kandy. We have already booked our next stay. Just Marvelous! Thank you B&S.

Room Tip: Go large! The largest room on the corner was largest, I think, and had lots of good ventilation and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Passport1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a very special B&B designed to the highest standard with beautiful rooms, gardens and views. I would recommend to anyone. The breakfast and evening food prepared by the owners was very nice and fresh.

My only tiny negative point was there was no door to the toilet/bathroom, this was part of the style of the bedroom, but i wouldn't have been too happy had i been experiencing tummy problems.

Fantastic place, very calm, and great value for money

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLML0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

What an amazing gem!

We have travelled all around the island and we can safely state that this is by far the best lodging in Sri Lanka.

With a 5 star service, designer villa, furnishings and attire, this property was by far not just the nicest, but the cheapest. cleanest and greatest value for money.

Barbara is such a great host, she has an eye for detail, which is reflected in the unique touches given to this property.
The refreshing design, and nice modern furnishings enrich this secluded villa.

The crisp white designer bed linen are a true welcome to a lovely relaxing sleep after the tiring long journey.

We spent 1 night at Baramba and really wished to have spent all our holiday here.


The breakfast was the most genuine we found during our 10 day holiday. We were greeted with warm homemade bread, freshly made jams, exquisite Sri Lankan porridge and an extensive fresh fruit platter.

We were even offered the option to taste the traditional kola kanda (home made Sri Lankan soup), lovingly prepared by Barbara's husband.

Thanks so much for this lovely experience. Wish you all the luck in the world with this business. You deserve all the lovely comments on Trip Advisor and we truly give you 100 stars for this outstanding service.

Room Tip: We opted for the large villa. At only $85 we would definitely recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just checked out of Baramba House today. A bit difficult to locate at first since there are no signages, but we came with a driver. One phone call later he found the place.

Barbara's home is beautiful and she is such a fantastic host. Always making sure we are well fed and taken care of. It helps that we are the only guests there, so the service was amazingly intimate. The house has only 3 rooms, so it is likely everyone will get the personal attention from her.

Dinner was curry crab, and it was among the best meal we have ever had in Sri Lanka.

Bed was very very comfortable. We came here after climbing Adam's Peak and slept like absolute babies.

Stay here if you're in Kandy, but book early because with only 3 rooms, it's likely not everyone will get as lucky as us.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kennysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 57 in Kandy
587 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
1.4 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 465 in Kandy
317 reviews
3.1 mi away
Notting Hill Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baramba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baramba House

Address: No 22 Upul Mawatha | Primrose Hill, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 465 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $85 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seductively embraced by a magic hillside setting. The charming Mahaweli view house is waiting for you to fill it with life. Baramba House is home to three double rooms with spacious en-suite bathrooms. A separate dining/living area and a quiet pool complement your visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing