We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nestled into the forest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clove Garden Kandy City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clove Garden Kandy City
Ranked #48 of 271 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nestled into the forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

There`s not much that I can add to previous reviews. This property (and the more upscale `Sweet Cinnamon`) are nestled into the hills above Kandy, with the jungle rising up behind the property. The breakfasts were a real treat, and Priyan was very patient in helping us plan the next leg of our trip. The staff here are very attentive - and despite not speaking great English were always willing to give it a go (Sthoothiy). As others have noted, some tuk tuk drivers have difficulty finding the hotel, so negotiate the price beforehand, and have the address and phone number handy. We stayed in the family room which is more like a separate cabin, and for the price we had no complaints at all. If you`re looking for something more upscale then the Sweet Cinnamon may suit- the rooms there are quite grand! My only minor complaint is that we had laundry done there and it was very expensive (about $20 Canadian) - when we were out the next day we saw a local laundry that was within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_g_kulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Set in beautiful grounds this was a great place to stay for a couple of nights. Owners friendly and helpful and breakfast was delightful with French toast one day waffles the next. Make sure you take their card and ir phone number as tuk tuk drivers did struggle to find it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was my personal favourite hotel during our trip to Sri Lanka. This one is a boutique hotel and the sister concern of "Sweet Cinnamon". So here's a brief about the place:

Location: Secluded from the main city, hence cut off from all the noise and pollution. The Clove Garden is located in a valley in the canopy of huge trees. You almost get the feeling you've entered a rain forest. Its mesmerising!!

Rooms: Excellent is the word. Very clean and so is everything that one uses in the room. Rooms are beautifully done up with flower petals before the guests step in. Toilets are spick-and-span.

Service/Staff/Owners: We were delighted. Genuine guys managing the place leaving no stone unturned towards delighting the customers. The owners, Priyan and Shalini are lovely to talk to. They are well educated and well travelled, so they understand the needs of the tourists coming in.

Breakfast: Super! Well balanced continental spread with lots of fresh fruits. Sri Lankan breakfast is also available upon request. The cakes they serve are mouthwatering.

Price: Not very cheap, but not expensive considering what is offered

If you are looking at a more grander place, then you needn't go far, there's Sweet Cinnamon right next to Clove Garden which is got bigger, better rooms and "GRAND" wash rooms.

Room Tip: It is a choice among equals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prakasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is an EXPERIENCE to stay at Priyan's and Chalani's place. I have stayed many times and still cant get enough of their hospitality, the amazing breakfasts and the atmosphere!!! Nothing to complain about, close to the city center, yet in calm area with huge garden. Also recommending their place in the tea plantation...in the middle of nowhere, ideal for weekend realax, meditation, walks in the tea bushes!!!

Room Tip: Choose the room from Clove Garden or look at their Deluxe accommodation in Sweet Cinnamon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lenkak594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked for 2 nights and enjoyed them both. We were welcomed by a lovely black labrador, having 3 labs at home in italy, we were more than happy to greet the pet before the hotel staff.
The guest house is simple, humble and clean. Colonial style, with terra cotta floors, antique furniture and nice plants. The staff is very kind. The rooms are basic; hot water shower; there are no mosquito nets, but there were no mosquito anyway. The fan was enough to keep the ventilation throughout the room. The gardens are truly lovely, beautiful lush plants and well kept grass. I slept very well, no sound coming form the near by roads, it didn't even feel like I was in Kandy. Its 5 min drive to shops and traffic; and 10 min drive to the train station. The breakfast was the highlight; huge, delicious, well prepared, fresh fruit, pancakes, toast, tea, eggs. The second night we had dinner, tasty and good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSurfCabanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were given a free pot of tea when we arrived at the Clove Garden and from then on the patrons could not have been more charming or helpful, answering questions about Kandy etc & organising our onwards travel. They even brought us some ice & glasses for the evening cocktails we had brought. Breakfast was beautifully done with fruit, eggs & either waffles (delicious) or pancakes with toast & jam, alone worth the cost of the stay.

Clove Garden is difficult to find but tuk-tuk drivers always managed, 15 mins from the centre, 250-300 rupees, the room we had was basic but comfortable & clean, a small amount of minor repairs to shower etc would improve things but really I'm just nit-picking.

If you want city life go elsewhere, this is just a secluded oasis of calm away from the chaos that is Kandy, sitting on the balcony watching the fireflies darting around, hearing the frog chorus & the trees swaying & creaking, there is no more relaxing place to stay & very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

After reading all the great reviews of this place on Trip Advisor we decided to stay there one night, on our way back to Colombo, via Kandy. The place is tucked away from the city centre, quiet, peaceful. Our rooms were well maintained and the staff were excellent. We hardly met the owners, they said 'hi' but didn't make a particular effort to talk with us. It's much more than a 20 minute walk into the centre and not a very nice one. We asked to leave our bags there for the day because our train to Colombo was at 4pm. They did let us leave our bags, said they'd organise that for us but when we returned the bags were kept in the front room, in a very open space. Nothing was stolen. Perhaps I had very high expectations of this place after reading all the great reviews. It did not meet those expectations. I did not particularly enjoy the dinner ($7) nor the breakfast. Although my partner enjoyed both. Not sure I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room. It was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locomotive_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#31 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
4.1 mi away
Serendip Stone Bungalow & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Yalegoda Walauwa
Yalegoda Walauwa
#5 of 15 in Peradeniya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Villa de Roshe
Villa de Roshe
#5 of 165 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sweet Cinnamon
Sweet Cinnamon
#14 of 271 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#6 of 165 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Garden Kandy City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Garden Kandy City

Property: Clove Garden Kandy City
Address: 198/11 George E De Silva Mwt, Kandy 01, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 271 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clove Garden Kandy City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located within Kandy city limits just 2.5km from the center of the city and 2km from the Railway station.We strive to offer clean comfortable rooms. Our garden is possibly the largest privately held property within the City limits. Theres plenty of bird to greet you in the morning and beautiful tropical trees to keep you cool throught the day. The silence only a private estate can offer will assure you a good nights rest so you can continue to visit what Kandy has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clove Garden Kandy City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing