We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pocket of Calm”
Review of Green Villa Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Villa Kandy
Ranked #68 of 389 Kandy B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pocket of Calm”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A really lovely welcoming family run guest house.

Pros.
Clean rooms, great balcony for monkey and bird watching, Sri Lankan home cooked food (had to ask for Sri Lankan breakfast), very helpful with recommendations, communal eating, open kitchen and living room, quiet, 10 minute walk from Lake, great value.

Cons.
Can't think of any.

Room Tip: Just expanding with new rooms upstairs. We stayed in old rooms down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
12
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Beautiful People, the cream of Kandy, and magic times. Of course good things magnetizing each other, so it was like that. And a lot more. Ajurvedic treatment is an opportunity from the source.
Thank You! I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently spent 6 days at the Green Villa in Kandy and had a blast of a time! Even before we arrived, Manjula (the owner) replied to all of my emails and requests. I had to contact her to make sure that we would get a room with strong WiFi access because I need to work a couple of hours each day. On the day of my arrival to Kandy, I took a tuk-tuk from the train station (which charged 350 LKR for the ride) and the driver didn’t have a problem locating the hotel, I only needed to show him the address. When we arrived, Manjula, her husband and son greeted us kindly and gave us a warm welcome with some delicious Sri Lankan tea. Manjula had two empty rooms on the first floor of the building and she let us see both rooms and choose which one we liked most. We choose the one nearest to the kitchen because the WiFi signal was stronger there and also because it had a balcony facing the forest. I found the room to be very spacious and clean. The bathroom had hot water, the WiFi signal was fine, there is a ceiling fan which we barely used because the temperature was really nice, a full-length mirror and a net hanging from the ceiling to cover the bed at night. Each morning I would enjoy the singing of birds from our balcony and many times I saw squirrels and even a monkey walking there! Manjula made breakfast for us (400 LKR per person) and it was very delicious! You can choose either an international or Sri Lankan breakfast. Both are very tasty. On two occasions they made delicious dinner for us at an excellent price (600 LKR per person) and explained each dish. During the day we would walk down to the lake (about 10 minutes away) for our activities and later, when it was time to go back, we would ask a tuk-tuk to take us to the hotel. The price for a ride up to the hotel by tuk-tuk ranges from 150 (at the base of the mountain, near the Tooth Relic Temple) to 350 LKR (from town). One of the things that I liked most about the Green Villa is its peaceful location on a hill away from the busy downtown and surrounded by the forest, which turns out to be part of Udawattakele Sanctuary. The house has many levels, I think about 5 floors, we stayed on one of the inferior levels, but there are a couple of new rooms on the road level. Manjula’s husband gave me a tour of these new (recently built) rooms and they are really nice and have big windows with incredible views, although they do cost more, and for a good reason. He also gave us many tips about where to go and what to visit, and they always gave us good advice on how to reach certain attractions without having to pay much. Without a doubt, the best thing about this place is the amazing family that runs it. I really felt at home and wish we could have stayed longer! Next time I go to Kandy I will definitely come back to the Green Villa.

They only way I can think of improving the rooms downstairs would be by putting a mosquito net on each window so that the bugs from the forest don’t come in (although the rooms do have a mosquito net for the bed). It is also worth mentioning that both rooms downstairs smell a little moldy and Manjula has a cat around, so people with allergies or asthma should be careful.

Room Tip: The rooms on the kitchen level have WiFi access. The rooms on the road level are new and have a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

In spite of rooms that are in need of an update (they are opening a couple of new fresh rooms in january 2014), this place is great. The owners are extremely helpful and nice and we really got the most out of our stay in Kandy thanks to them. We are a family with four teenagers and we can really recommend Green Villa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnsalaBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Really liked this place up in the hills. Only a short walk into town (just ask the owner and they will explain the fastest way to get into town. We ate breakfast and dinner there which was really nice, they even explained which each dish was and we got to watch them cook one of the nights. Only thing is ask them how much the food it first before u agree to eat. We were a bit surprised how much our bill came to at the end. But all in all a great home stay :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank By051290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

At first we thought it had a nice family vibe to the place. over our stay they tried to push things on us for example trips etc and gave us incorrect information regarding trains. When we booked breakfast it was stated free but they charged us 400 r per person each morning! They also tried to get us to go to the dancing which we said no and they kept pushing. The last night we clearly stated we did not want dinner but they made it anyway and tried to make us feel bad as we did not want it as the cost was very high! We will not be going back!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cassiejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are a Bird-Photographer or doing Ayurvedic Theraphy with them , then this the place for you . If you are a tourist , avoid it at any cost . Don't get fooled by what they say .

This place is far from the city centre and the Kandy lake . To get in and get out you have to use a tuk-tuk, and one round trip can cost between 600 - 1000 Rupees depending on how long the Tuk-tuk 'waits' for you . As a tourist one will be going in and out 3 or 4 times a day . So be prepared to shell out 3000 Rupees extra everyday .

We were picked up from the station for which we were told, initially,that the cost will be 1250 Rupees .When we confirmed the transfer we were told cost is 1500 Rupees . When we reached the hotel , we were charged 1800 Rupees as "the train was 45 minutes late , and waiting charges apply " . We had to take a steep climb from the main road to reach this place . Then the luggage had to be carried down five flights of steps , to reach the middle floor of this 3 storey place . We were led to the rooms which were the most shabby I had seen in a long time . I was not expecting this after reading previous reviews .

It was 7 PM and we asked if Dinner could be made . We were promptly told that one had to order well in advance . We immediately called for a Tuk Tuk , and leaving our wives behind , went in search of a new place and dinner . The Tuk Tuk Driver helped us in locating 3 place just off the side of the lake in the lane going past the Suisse Hotel . We finalised one which was free for the next two nights , paid an advance and left to search for Dinner . We went to a local takeaway food joint close to this new place , packed our dinner and went back to our hotel . we informed the owner that we were moving the next morning , and to cancel the remaining 2
nights .

Next morning while leaving , they demanded for 2 more night's charges , and finally settled for 1 more night .

What a correct decision we made to move from here ! Our new B&B pad was so much superior , and so well located, and charged us 4250 Rupees per night .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdas54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjula K, Owner at Green Villa Kandy, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
It gives us great pleasure to see that our tourist guest house is an ideal place for bird photographers and for Ayurveda treatments.
Actually Kandy Lake and the main city with Temple of the Tooth Relic are only 1km away from our guest house. We are puzzled how this guest mentioned that our guest house is very far from the City Centre, as it is walking distance from the guest house.
We wonder that the guest has paid Rs.600-1000 for a tuk-tuk for a trip to the city while normal rate is Rs.200-300. We are not in a position to understand why does a tourist go out 3 or 4 times a day spending his valuable time that he has to spend for tourist attractions.
Kandy railway station is only 4.3km away from our guest house when we are coming by a vehicle as we have to go around the lake. But when walking it is only 2.5km along the main road passing tooth relic temple. For security measures government of Sri Lanka obstructed plying up and down through Maligawa (Temple of the Tooth) for vehicles. But people are allowed to walk along this road spending 2.5km to our guest house.
Our guest house located in a 5 storied building and there are various types of spacious and comfortable rooms for various rates. There are rooms even on the road level.
We always insist on epicure's appetite in preparation of our exquisite meals and on tabling at the correct agreed time, having excellent experience and ability of preparing Sri Lankan and western cuisine.
Normally every guest house has a system and policy for cancellations and the duration in connection with the bookings.
Over the above review anyone can understand that this is a splendid and marvelous guest house with birds watching, having “Udawatte Kale" sanctuary right behind for all nature lovers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.1 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#26 of 389 in Kandy
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#15 of 389 in Kandy
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mohan's Alpine
Mohan's Alpine
#1 of 1 in Nillambe
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Front Homestay
Lake Front Homestay
#105 of 389 in Kandy
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Villa Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Villa Kandy

Property: Green Villa Kandy
Address: 26/3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family owned guest house is located in Kandy city at the edge of beautiful rain forest "Udawatta Kele" surrounded by stunning green. It’s 5 minutes walk to the Temple of the Tooth Relic and the Kandy Lake. The guest house consist of 5 beautiful rooms with attached bathrooms and toilets, hot water, Wi-Fi, etc. Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner are provided for your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Green Villa Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing