We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality in a great location”
Review of Green Villa Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Villa Kandy
Ranked #69 of 458 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Idealy situated just 5 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Kandy's center. The rooms are big and quite clean, yet the bathrooms are a bit on the small size. The owners, Manjula and Metis, are super friendly and full of advices - they will gladly recommend all the interesting sights in Kandy and around and will even explain how to get there and what are the highlights. Manjula makes home made food, with her own hand made spices - don't miss out on her amazing curries!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yarden-Alona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 87 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We liked this place from the first moment! The Green Villa was recommended to us by a fellow traveller and we stayed there for four nights.

The house is just 5 minutes walk from the Kandy Lake and Tooth Temple, yet wonderfully surrounded by rainforest. You can sit on the terrace and watch the monkeys swing in the trees, spot colourful birds in the mornings, fall asleep to the sound of the jungle in front of your window.

It is run by a lovely family, who are great hosts, and we had very inspiring talks with the highly educated couple. They helped us organize walks around Kandy city and day trips to Sigiriya.

The dinners were excellent, delicious home made rice and curry, the best we had in Sri Lanka!

We would stay again at the Green Villa anytime. Truly wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Green Villa is a brilliant guesthouse just 5 mins walk from the centre of Kandy. The family are all extremely friendly and helpful, with a great knowledge of the local area. The guesthouse itself is also lovely and clean with ensuite rooms and food available if you like.

We'd definitely advise other travellers to stay here...it's truly lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samanthajaneashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

It s a nice place to stay, amazing family, so nice and so helpful!! Great location. The food they cook is SO GOOD! No doubt you will be satisfy. it's more a word of mouth type of place, not a lot a reviews but you will be happy you chose this one. Hot water, great little room, clean, good size, private bathroom. Have a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Lovely lovely hosts.!!
I was passed on the number to Green Villa when I couldnt get any rooms in Kandy during the Escala Peraha. The owners were fantastic. A very proud mum and dad,one a doctor and one a teacher. You literally live in their home.

greenvillasrilanka@gmail.com
Home - 081 - 222 5997, 081 - 2236930
Mobile - 071 8047569, 077 5982150

This is good guest house accomodation, better than basic rooms, the hospitality is 5 star. The loviest friendliest people I met all holiday.

It is a short walk from town in a nice quiet area. They called me up and directed me, the tut tut driver knew, it was pretty easy.

A good sleep, nice big breakfast and big dinner - a really good deal for the price compared to the rip off merchants in town.

In town they were charging thousands for street side seats for the procession (a massive rip off) so the owner told me to join her friends and colleagues in their shop doorway, right on the main street. It was brilliant. I was the only westerner there, sharing tea and biscuits and chatting away to the locals.
I even met a chap who took me to a rugby match the next day. That was also briliant. He was a friend of the familly.

I cant speak more highly about the hospitality at Green Villa. Whatever you like, whatever you want to get out of travelling in Sri Lanka this familly showed me how generous, friendly and good people can be.

Loved it.

Room Tip: Its not a hotel so dont expect it. If you travel around SL long enough you'll know that guest ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank emiliebestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Baboost L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 57 in Kandy
507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanthana Jungle View Holiday Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pearl House
Pearl House
#32 of 458 in Kandy
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 458 in Kandy
353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 458 in Kandy
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Villa Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Villa Kandy

Address: 26/3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $12 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family owned guest house is located in Kandy city at the edge of beautiful rain forest "Udawatta Kele" surrounded by stunning green. It’s 5 minutes walk to the Temple of the Tooth Relic and the Kandy Lake. The guest house consist of 5 beautiful rooms with attached bathrooms and toilets, hot water, Wi-Fi, etc. Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner are provided for your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Green Villa Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing