We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, wonderful host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House
Ranked #11 of 451 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I can't rate this place highly enough. It's a cheap rate, and we stayed here for five nights. The rooms are clean, wonderful balcony area to chill and relax.
The real plus is the host. She is wonderful, warm and friendly and willing to help visitors out whenever they need it. We had dinner here one night and it was a big feast of delicious curries, rice and fruit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Greater_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 273 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don't be fooled by the plain and uninviting exterior. Madugalle is a wonderful little guest house run by Kumari - a charming, friendly. knowledgable lady with excellent English who can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable.

We arrived after 9.30pm but Kumari had arranged a tuk tuk - and had curry and cold beer awaiting us her the lovely dining area.

The rooms were simple but clean, comfortable and mossie-free (our first bug-free stay in Sri Lanka!) there was a lovely outdoor space close to our room with plants and somewhere to hang your washing. We were well fed and looked after and Kumari has achieved the perfect balance of offering suggestions and answering questions without ever being pushy.

Although you are aware you're in a family house you're made to feel completely at home.

We had to leave at 4.30am to catch the early train down South and Kumari got up to make sure the tuk tuk arrived as planned as we were safely on our way!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Arrived very late in the night to stay for that night. It was host's own home, adorned with many plants and furnished beautifully. Room and toilet were clean and it was cool in the room even without a/c. Place was also near Tooth Relic Temple.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YawenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Simple, clean rooms in a very convenient location just a short walk to the lake and sacred tooth temple. Mrs Madugalle (Kumari) the owner is a great source of advice and the food was delicious! With her help, we took a four day tour around the cultural triangle with a drop off at Adam's Peak. We could not recommend more highly the service we received; from a very comfortable air-con mini bus with throne like seats to recommendations of where to go. We also had a really great driver - Karru. He was a great and safe driver and also part guide, taking us around some sites (for no extra cost) but did not pressure us to see anything we did not want to, stay anywhere we did not want to stay or ask for any money at any point (even at the end of our trip!). He pointed out sights along the way and thanks to him we managed to spot several wild elephants on the drive! He was also like, most Sri Lankans, incredible poite and friendly and spoke pretty good english.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KateXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a guest house with 6 rooms, 4 upstairs and 2 downstairs and more in the body of the house. It's immensely pretty, with plants everywhere. The rooms are good and the attached bathrooms have all the usual facilities. Everything is clean. What makes it special is Kumari (Mrs Madugalle) who presides over the establishment with great calmness and kindness, somehow keeping track of the comings and goings of all the assorted guests and making sure everyone is happy. Also -- the cooking is great, so do have lunch or dinner there at least one night. I also want to mention Rizvi, Mrs M's regular taxi driver, who will come and collect you from the station -- Kumari will arrange this -- as well as taking you around town at reasonable prices. While I was there I was suffering from a stomach bug, which I caught in Colombo, I hasten to add, and had to see two doctors, the first arranged by Kumari and the second actually was Rizvi's doctor. Highly recommended. The only slight negative is the noise from the nearby railway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda_Escobedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I spent 4 nights at Kumari's and loved my stay. The guesthouse has a lovely feel to it and although is walking distance to everything it feels very peaceful and tucked away. I feel lucky to have met Kumari and was very welcomed in her home. The rooms are clean and comfortable and I recommended this place to everyone along my travels. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Mr+mrs mudagalle were such lovely people,we were made to feel very welcome and she couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Nothing was too much truoble and the food was great. We were prewarned of our rooms proximity to the trains but I had my trusty earplugs and the trains don't run all night! The rooms are plain and clean. It is very good value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuddsAliD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.7 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
725 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 451 in Kandy
307 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kandy Guest House
Kandy Guest House
#5 of 451 in Kandy
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 451 in Kandy
352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Holiday Home
1.7 mi away
Notting Hill Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House

Address: 291A D. S. Senanayake Street, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $25 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Guesthouse in the heart of the city with-in walking distance from the Temple of the tooth, Kandy Lake, shops,restaurants and supermarkets. Bus stop opposite Guest House. All rooms have an ensuite and hot water. Free WiFi. Recently renovated bathrooms with brand new fittings. Warm friendly environment. Meals can be ordered (Home style Sri Lankan cuisine). An oasis in the middle of the city. Tours can be organised on request. (Day tours around Kandy as well as tours to other cities around the country). Airport pickup or drop off can be organised on request as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing