We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull island at Kandy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House
Ranked #13 of 389 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Varsovie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peacefull island at Kandy”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

After 1 week in Sri Lanka this is so far the best guest house we have seen.This is a great place to stay at kandy, the house is really nice, rooms clean and comfortable, and relatively calm for Kandy. The rice and curry very good too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yum_yum75013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    89
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
116
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed for two nights and had the most wonderful time! I felt right at home and very comfortable. The Madugalle's were fantastic hosts, so gracious, polite and extremely considerate. The home cooked meals were mouthwatering and delicious. I would recommend this place to anyone. Thank you for making my stay so memorable!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mudsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two non-consecutive nights either side of a trip to Sigiriya and Polonnaruwa.
The home cooked local food was delicious, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the Madugalle's were great hosts helping us and giving us great tips.
The stay here is fantastic value and just what we needed on our trip to Kandy as part of a two week tour around Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

...if you are looking for a place to feel at home, then this is it. Kumari, the owner, makes this guest house very special trying to accommodate your stay to your needs. This place is hidden gem in busy Kandy, located within walking distance from the center; upon entering the house you will find a quiet and warm family retreat. We stayed there 4 nights in July and we can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiara736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The surrounding of the guest house was very nice,there were very traditional SRI pictures and decorations hung on the wall which make the house romantic,and the hostess Kumari was very kindheartedly that she gave us a warm welcome.We are very satisfied with the comfortable accommodation and considerate service.Besides,the breakfase was very yummy.But the location of the guest house was a bit far from the tooth temple and Kandy Lake,but that's OK..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peilin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

One of best experiences of singalease home life. Kumala,the proprietor, is absolutely smashing hostess,very helpfull and obliging with variety of requests and questions about local area ,places to see and things to do. Her pineapple jams for breakfast is simply legendary. Very clean and big rooms with en-suite bathrooms,mosquito nets(there were no Mosquitos there in July) and absolutely giant bed! You just feel like you are visiting your favorite aunt and not a guesthouse!
Very centrally situated, close to all the main attractions. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter with outside terrace communal sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

From the moment I was collected up by Kumari’s friendly and well travelled brother-in-law, I felt right at home. Basic clean rooms are accessed through the family home and breakfast and dinner (if you opt for it) are provided in the family dining room. Breakfast was enormous!

Kumari was a lovely host, arranging day trips to Sigiriya/Dambulla and Pinawalla for me. Plus she also gave me great tips on how best to watch the Perahera and arranged tickets to the Kandy dancing.

The guesthouse is within 10 minutes or so walk of the lake so is well located. The living/dining area has lots of family photos which look like a history of Kandy – some very old photos and drawings of family members line the walls.

Things to be aware of – you are staying in a family home, so need to respect that and Kumari politely requested that I stay out no later than 10pm, so any night-owls may want to bear that in mind.

The house is between the road and the train track, traffic noise does start to build from 530am or so, and there is the occasional train from about that time as well. If you are a particularly light sleeper you might want to bear that in mind, although as you will be getting to bed early this shouldn’t matter too much!

There is free Wi-Fi which I could access from my room.

I very much enjoyed my stay and it was nice to be part of Kumari’s “extended family” for a few days!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.7 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.8 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
972 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 389 in Kandy
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House

Property: Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House
Address: 291A D. S. Senanayake Street, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Guesthouse in the heart of the city with-in walking distance from the Temple of the tooth, Kandy Lake, shops,restaurants and supermarkets. Bus stop opposite Guest House. All rooms have an ensuite and hot water. Free WiFi. Recently renovated bathrooms with brand new fittings. Warm friendly environment. Meals can be ordered (Home style Sri Lankan cuisine). An oasis in the middle of the city. Tours can be organised on request. (Day tours around Kandy as well as tours to other cities around the country). Airport pickup or drop off can be organised on request as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing