We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional”

Kandyan Dance Performance
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$14.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Kandy Sights Including Kandy Cultural Dance Show
Ranked #2 of 2 Concerts & Shows in Kandy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The kandyan heritage
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“traditional”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

suposedly traditional, but at times it looked like magic or possesed people, but well worth it the entertainment. of course fire eating and fire walking is not to be tried at home...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank toby w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    483
    474
    192
    106
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend some free time”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you are interested in traditional music and dance I would recommend this performance. They perform several different dances. You get a list of them and a short explanation at the entrance so you get the idea about their meaning. At the end of the show you can also see a fire walk.
There are several different places that offer this shows. We watched the show at the Red Cross Hall next to the Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic as suggested by our homestay owner. Tickets are about 500Rs. The show starts at 5 p.m and lasts about an hour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Urska R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very entertaining”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I was very sceptical about this show, and only went because our driver really pushed it on us, but it was fantastic. Really entertaining, short dances give you a quick glimpse of Kandyan arts. There is acrobatics, fire walking and fire works, all packed into about half an hour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Europa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“20 minutes of my life I won't get back”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I knew it was not my thing before I went, but went along with friends anyway. When playing music or listening to it, most people smile because they are enjoying it. These performers seemed to hate everything about what they were doing - they looked desperately bored in fact! Luckily for me, my friends did as well and we left after about 20 minutes!

Better doing something else in Kandy! Don't waste your time... If you do, bring earplugs. All they do is bang drums for the duration.

Helpful?
Thank Enda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fire walk”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

its been over 35 years returning back to the country of my birth and enjoying this typical traditional dance performance that i enjoyed as a child. The fire eating and fire walking was something like magic when I was a kid, watchinhg this brought back great pleasant merories.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank suraj F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandyan Dance Performance also viewed

 

Been to Kandyan Dance Performance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing