We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amateur”

Kandyan Dance Performance
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.50*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Kandy Sights Including Kandy Cultural Dance Show
Ranked #2 of 2 Concerts & Shows in Kandy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The kandyan heritage
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amateur”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This performance is, unfortunately, quite amateurish. The fire walking, when we were there, was a bit jaded due to heavy rain. Wouldn't recommend

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank barhud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    473
    468
    189
    102
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Can be better”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It can be better. The sound of the drums was too loud. We did it on a rainy early evening, so we did not feel that we wasted our time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good performance”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The performance at the City Hall was beautiful and should not be missed by culture enthusiasts. The dance was full of energy, color and vibrance. The fire-walk at the end was indeed awesome! Their punctuality is commendable. A couple of the performers though looked very casual, chewing gum and beating the drums, like they did not care about what they were doing. It was disheartening to see that, but overall the dance performance makes the evening brighter in Kandy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NishaBothra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Red Cross hall”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Saw these at the Red Cross hall near the lake. Organisation very 'Sri Lankan' and the old hall was busy and very atmospheric if a little chaotic - but that was part of the charm for me. Dances were very good if a little touristy, and the fire dance walking at the end was our kids highlight of the holiday.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumby Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“exciting experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

unless you were there early and had a front row it was a bit tricky to try to get photos. The fire walking afterwards was a first time activity for me to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandyan Dance Performance also viewed

 

Been to Kandyan Dance Performance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing