We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate guesthouse - great food”
Review of Kandy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy Guest House
Ranked #5 of 438 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here (2 adults & 2 kids). We stayed in the 2 rooms upstairs. Given the glowing reviews we were a little disappointed.

Pros
Great food
Nice relaxing balcony to sit on if you are in either upstairs room
Quiet location away from the chaos of Kandy (if you ignore the trains)

Cons
Cleanliness........ When we arrived late in the afternoon there were dirty cups & a full ashtray left on our balcony. Room felt a little damp most of the time. Bathroom was pretty poor.
Value for money......we felt it was overpriced for what was essentially staying in someone's home. Our room was straight off the living room & you could hear everything from the family.

Overall it was an adequate stay, food was superb but it wasn't overly comfortable or great value for money. We've travelled extensively & have stayed in many better guesthouses which have offered much greater value for money & hospitality.
Obviously others have had a much better experience but my advice if you stay here is to go with an open mind & realise it is really just a homestay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Kandy Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 259 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

George and his family are very friendly and we felt immediately at home. The food his wife cooked for us was the best of our whole trip in Sri Lanka. Our room was very clean and we slept very good, with the sound of the river next to us. It's a 20 minute ride by tuktuk to Kandy, but that was no problem for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are a family of 4 (with 2 teenagers) and stayed for 2 nights at George's riverside home. We had the 2 rooms with the balconies overlooking the river and paid US$50 (+10% s/c) per room per night on a H/B basis. The rooms were fairly spacious, with simple and comfortable furnishings and had very efficient fans. There were no mosquito nets provided but the plug-in repellents seemed to have worked fine. The ensuite bathrooms were clean and had hot water. As it is a family home, it wasn't really convenient to sit in their living room to relax so we were very glad to be able to sit out on the balcony in the evening for a coffee after dinner. The free wifi was also very welcomed.
We can say that after travelling around Sri Lanka for 11 days, George's wife's cooking is really the best! The breakfasts and dinners we had were simply delicious and as we were in Kandy in Days 2 and 3, it set the bar very high for the rest of our holiday.
We weren't bothered with the out of town location as we had our own van and driver (arranged by George's Michelle Tours) but can see that the location may be a little inconvenient for independent travellers. Also, as already mentioned by other reviewers, the railway line runs parallel just on the other side of the river so there is a certain amount of noise from that but we didn't really notice it that much as the trains aren't that frequent.
All in all, we enjoyed our 2 nights stay there and in the particular, the food!

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pfamily78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Kandy Guest House, The owners were so helpful, George took us all around in his lovely new car , for a very reasonable cost and Ann his wife cooked us some delicious meals at night, The Guest House is right beide the river and we had a lovely balcony overlooking it. The room and the bed was excellent, we really enjoyed our time there .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Unfortunately, we could only stay one night at Kandy Guesthouse but we really enjoyed our stay at this place. George and his family are very friendly and his wife cooks delicious local food so make sure to make an advanced booking for dinner at their place.
The guesthouse is about 20 mins from Kandy town but if you take the train from Ella, you end stop is at Peradeniya station. The guesthouse is only 5 mins from this train station which we found very convenient after a long train ride. If you have more time, you should stay a few nights at this guesthouse as the surrounding area is beautiful. Kandy itself we found not so interesting with lots of traffic and not much to see.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonieBensink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Located a short distance from Kandy Town this family guesthouse looks out onto the river with a balcony accessible from your bedroom. Comfortable beds with good ensuite shower and bathroom. The guest house is meticulously clean and sitting out on the balcony is very relaxing and tranquil. Breakfast was delicious and staying in a Sri Lankan family home was a pleasant novelty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWSKIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's true, George's wife is one of the best cooks in Sri Lanka but that wasn't enough to make us fall in love with the place. It is good value for the breakfast and the room but it is in a very remote location so you need to rely on George or a driver to take you places, all of which cost $$. The roads in Sri Lanka are bad so it takes ages to get only a few km's. It's not somewhere you can easily get a tuk-tuk too. If you are happy to laze around on a balcony looking at a river than this is the place for you, but it's hard to just head out somewhere for dinner or for a couple of hours without having to arrange transport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kurst22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
4.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
708 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,091 reviews
5.4 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
5.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Guest House

Address: 9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $28 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Guesthouse is a place of comfort, happiness and relaxation. It is situated beside a beautiful river and away from the crowded and traffic bound city. The location of the guest house is also rich with birdlife,wildlife and surrounding nature which creates a very calm and peaceful environment to stay in. It is just 7 Km away from the Kandy city and 2.5 Km away from the Peradeniya railway station. The place is run by a family and is filled with warmth and safety and will be sure to make you feel at home. The Kandy Guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in and explore the beautiful region of Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kandy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing