We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal guesthouse.”
Review of Kandy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy Guest House
Ranked #8 of 465 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Located a short distance from Kandy Town this family guesthouse looks out onto the river with a balcony accessible from your bedroom. Comfortable beds with good ensuite shower and bathroom. The guest house is meticulously clean and sitting out on the balcony is very relaxing and tranquil. Breakfast was delicious and staying in a Sri Lankan family home was a pleasant novelty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWSKIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's true, George's wife is one of the best cooks in Sri Lanka but that wasn't enough to make us fall in love with the place. It is good value for the breakfast and the room but it is in a very remote location so you need to rely on George or a driver to take you places, all of which cost $$. The roads in Sri Lanka are bad so it takes ages to get only a few km's. It's not somewhere you can easily get a tuk-tuk too. If you are happy to laze around on a balcony looking at a river than this is the place for you, but it's hard to just head out somewhere for dinner or for a couple of hours without having to arrange transport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kurst22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

As a family of 5 we stayed at the Kandy guest house. The hosts were very welcoming and we had a lovely evening sitting out on the balcony. Breakfast was amazing and it was so nice to meet a Sri Lankan family. It was peaceful and beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3girlsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a wonderful time with George and his family. Very clean and comfortable stay. Food was good but a bit pricey. The guesthouse is not situated near the city center and transport can be quite a problem if you're travelling with young children and the elderly. Overall, an enjoyable stay at Kandy Guest House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auntiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very nice place,just outside Kandy,very quiet and great settings with your own little terrace.
The place is close to a little river and you can enjoy a book while seating outside and listen to the birds and the water...
I must say that the food was oustanding,i think this is the best food we had in Sri Lanka,congrats to the cook.
George is a great host and will help you with everything,I actually did forget some clothes at a lodge in Sigirya and he arranged my clothes to be at the aiport the day of my departure...what a service.
Thanks again
Marc

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elijules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed with George and his family for one night and had a wonderful time. As other guests' comment this is more of a homestay than a guest house, which gives you a wonderful chance to spend quality time with a Sri Lankan family and learn more about the country and culture.
The guest house is located 20 minutes away from the hectic centre of Kandy, with views over the river. It is nice to be close enough to Kandy for a pleasant day trip but away from the hustle and bustle; which we found really refreshing. We loved relaxing on the balcony with our books, enjoying the peace and tranquility.
The food is some of the best we have had in Sri Lanka and a different range from the curries we've had in other hotels and restaurants.
Definitely recommend this place for anyone heading to Kandy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raaongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had private balcony room with beautiful view to nature. The room was clean, without A/C, with hot water and free wi-fi.The owner was very helpful (with good english) and his family is very lovely. Breakfast was perfect. We paid 5000 rupies for 1 night with breakfast (2 people). I can recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonitaPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
4.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
738 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
5.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 57 in Kandy
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 465 in Kandy
317 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 465 in Kandy
361 reviews
5.2 mi away
Anna Shanthi Villa
Anna Shanthi Villa
#25 of 465 in Kandy
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Guest House

Address: 9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 20442, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 465 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $27 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Guesthouse is a place of comfort, happiness and relaxation. It is situated beside a beautiful river and away from the crowded and traffic bound city. The location of the guest house is also rich with birdlife,wildlife and surrounding nature which creates a very calm and peaceful environment to stay in. It is just 7 Km away from the Kandy city and 2.5 Km away from the Peradeniya railway station. The place is run by a family and is filled with warmth and safety and will be sure to make you feel at home. The Kandy Guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in and explore the beautiful region of Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kandy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing