We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place by the river”
Review of Kandy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy Guest House
Ranked #6 of 433 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“A great place by the river”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at Peredeniyah station, George was toughtful to send his brother to pick us up with a comfortable van to take us to his place. It isn't Easy to find , but George will happily arrange a lift to it from Kandy. The room we got was brand new, and one the cleanest we've had during our entire trip. If you're tired after a long journey, you should certainly consider having dinner at the guesthouse . George wife's cooking is better than what you get in most restaurants!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    47
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
113
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I would recommend this guesthouse to anybody looking to stay just outside the bustling city of Kandy. It's surrounded by beautiful scenery (river running through the back), and the family are extremely nice and accommodating. The food in particular was excellent, and left me always looking forward to the next meal. Around 10 minutes outside of Kandy, but George will provide you easy access to and from wherever you would like to travel. Truly a family experience (as opposed to some other guesthouses I've stayed at), and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Overlooking the small local river with a nice garden; we found this small family-run hotel with new and very nice and clean rooms. After the tightly packed towns, this is a welcome change. Best of all: only rarely have we met people more forthcoming and helpful in every way than the owners of the guesthouse. And what is more, Mrs George is an excellent cook, we probably had the best Sri lankan dinners here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SorenSoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having arrived in Colombo it was a great introduction to Sri Lanka, George was a very welcoming host with a charming family. Having picked us up at the airport for a great price we had a really nice time with him, the food at breakfast was always plentiful but the evening meal was occasionally a bit overpriced. Our room had a balcony with a fantastic view which easily made up for a few ants in the bathroom. Overall a very nice stay I would recommend it all. Thank you for letting us stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

A lovely quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy. I can really recommend this small family-run bed and breakfast. We had dinner as well for the two nights we stayed there. Anne is a great cook. It backs on to a little creek and bush so is really quiet.
It is actually about 10 mins away from Kandy, closer to the station before. Call George and he'll pick you up.
George helped us plan activities and it was lovely to be invited into their home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill9786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrudim, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Within our trip around the island we had chance to stay 3 nights in Kandy guesthouse with wonderful George's family. George's wife cuisine was incredibly indulgent experience, she let us observe here cooking magics in realtime, and tought us her family recipes. If you want to enjoy genuine Sri Lankan breakfeast and dinner do not hesitate to have a stop there! Very clean and cosy apartments with a nice relaxing sound of nearby river. Guesthouse is located in outskirts of Kandy, but George offers free pickup from trainstation as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuraUrban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at Kandy Guest house one night only but we found George and his family to be marvellous hosts, who gave us a warm welcome and were keen to ensure we had the best possible experience. His wife provided delicious home cooked food, his children entertained our baby and George himself advised on local excursions and arranged our travel with his excellent colleague, Hiran. While the guest house is outside of Kandy itself, it is only a short drive which can be done by tuk tuk or car (George can arrange) and it is very well located for the Elephant orphanage and the Botanical gardens. George also arranged tickets for our onward journey to the tea plantations, ensuring we had first class seats for a wonderful 4 hour scenic journey. Special thanks to driver, Hiran, who also became a critical part of our holiday, not only driving us to places of interest but helping us on and off trains with all our luggage, providing a portable internet cafe to resolve a hotel booking problem and taking us to the best roadside cafes en route. A wonderful travelling companion!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerualtrawets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
4.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
699 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#41 of 55 in Kandy
539 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
495 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#2 of 433 in Kandy
297 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 433 in Kandy
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Guest House

Property: Kandy Guest House
Address: 9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Guesthouse is a place of comfort, happiness and relaxation. It is situated beside a beautiful river and away from the crowded and traffic bound city. The location of the guest house is also rich with birdlife,wildlife and surrounding nature which creates a very calm and peaceful environment to stay in. It is just 7 Km away from the Kandy city and 2.5 Km away from the Peradeniya railway station. The place is run by a family and is filled with warmth and safety and will be sure to make you feel at home. The Kandy Guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in and explore the beautiful region of Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kandy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing