We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place with outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Tourist Lodge
Ranked #29 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Erembodegem, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Relaxing place with outstanding service”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My partner and I spent 4 nights (21 april - 25 april 2013) in this lovely family hotel run by Razik and his wife who made us feel at home right away. As we planned to start our 3 weeks journey throughout Sri Lanka in Kandy, we initially booked 2 nights at the Royal Tourist Lodge by sending a simple email from Belgium. Upon arrival at the airport of Colombo Mr.Razik arranged a pick up who brought us straight to his cosy place in the lush surroundings of Kandy.

The spacious rooms are very clean, with excellent silent fans and airco which don't make unexpected terrible noises that wake you up in most other places in the tropics, a fridge that really keeps your drinks cold and a bathroom that provides the necessary watersupplies to take enough showers if needed.

But what striked us most was the outstanding assistance Mr.Razik gave us during our stay...
For some it might sound as being pushy on requiries, but by asking what our plans were, where we wanted to go, what we wanted to see and what regions we intended to visit during the rest of our trip, he gave us so much local information that we altered our agenda according to that.
We've discussed several options of daytrips in Kandy, Mr.Razik took care of all the necessary transports to and from, tickets and guides in such an adapted way that it fully met the way we wanted to travel... We are amateur photographers and we take more time in trekking through nature reserves as "ordinary" tourists because of changing lenses, putting up additional lightsources etc. All those demands were perfectly met by the assistance of guides and drivers throughout our entire stay at the Royal Tourist Lodge, set up by Mr.Razik himself.
Because of it, we extended our stay with 2 more nights so that we could visit the Dambulla Cave temple and the Sigiriya Lion Rock as well and return to this little heaven without having to change hotels.

Another big "thank you" goes to Mr.Raziks wife who prepared some awesome Sri Lankan meals for us and gave us a culinary trip through this exquisite Asian cuisine by preparing rice and curries that stood out in excellence in comparison with other places we've visited later on.

Thank you for a wonderful stay...we loved the warmth you gave us, the local and detailed information about the region and the impressive hospitality you've provided.

Dries & Marion

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dries N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razik, Owner at Royal Tourist Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We read with delight your long,thoughtful and well compiled review with much interest and was very happy to note all our advice were taken in good spirit and our efforts to make you two feel at home & comfortable was very successful.
Thanks,
Mr & Mrs Razik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    36
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Royal Tourist Lodge and we were very well looked after by Razik and his wife. The large and comfortable room with A/C was a perfect place to rest, it opened onto the garden and we had our own small terrace where we ate our breakfast, The view from here was spectacular. WE also ate there on both nights and the home cooked Sri Lankan meal was delicious, Their daughter has a cookery website that I will certainly be investigating to try and replicate some of the amazing dishes. www.mumscookery,blogspot.com We were given excellent advice on where to go and tickets for the evening Kandyan dance performance. Razik can also arrange an airport pick up for you. This is the perfect base from which to explore Kandy and the Cultural triangle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razik, Manager at Royal Tourist Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much and I express my gratitude for all the time taken to post a lovely review and giving first hand information and true picture of my place.I earnestly hope this message reaches you.I hope you will one day revisit my place.
Razik & Nasli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in Royal Torist Lodge in winter 2012 during our travel across India and Sri-Lanka. The owner of this hotel - Razik and his family are very friendly and nice persons, their stories and assistance were very helpful and interesting. Even, we came without at night, and returned two times without reservation - Kandy city did not let us go :-) Rooms and everything were great and for a very reasonable price. The view from terrace is really spectacular
Oleg & Marina,
olegsomewere@gmail.com

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razik, Owner at Royal Tourist Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for your review and happy to note you enjoyed your stay at my place.
Razik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Me and my two kids stayed at Royal Tourist Lodge almost 1 year ago. I think my children enjoyed the garden more than anything. As for me, my job as a single mother was greatly reduced because of the friendly advise and help I got from the owners. They were kind in pointing out exactly how I could make the trip to the Northern and North Central Provinces more economical and thereby I saved me some time and a lot of frustration.

The room was very clean and had sat TV in addition to Air Conditioning and a Mini Bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Though this is my first review on TripAdvisor, I have frequented Sri Lanka before (in 2010). What I loved about Royal Tourist Lodge was their professionalism. When I booked online, I received a personal reply within 1 day and every little question I asked was promptly replied to. This sort of personal communication is extremely helpful when it comes to foreign travel.

The other thing which I must highlight is the food! Absolutely scrumptious! I did eat outside on 2 occasions, but I do not think it was worth the effort as eating in was a more pleasurable and relaxing experience.

The price was slightly higher than the competition, but when considering the value for money there is no doubt that this place gives the best deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed in the Royal Tourist Lodge for 2 nights during my visit to Kandy. The place is extremely convenient as it is close to the Temple of Truth and the beautiful Kandy Lake. On the second day I even managed to include a walk around the lake early in the morning. The bedrooms are comfortable and the food is delicious! Special mention about the wonderful open garden!!! I witnessed some beautiful birds.... Thank you so much for taking such good care of me!

Room Tip: Take time to visit the Temple of the Tooth (Dalada Maligawa)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked for three nights at the Royal Tourist Lodge after reading good Trip Advisor reviews. In the end we booked for a further night and we were reluctant to leave. The owners were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. The room was immaculately clean, with a roomy wardrobe which is nice if you are staying for a couple of nights. Bed was blissfully comfortable and air con efficient. It's in a quiet location up the hill but only a short tuk tuk ride from the centre of Kandy. We ate at the guest house every night we were there and the food was freshly prepared, delicious and more than we could eat. No alcohol is served but I think guests can bring their own (check first). The owners were able to suggest trips and itineraries which was helpful for us as we were unsure about some details of our onward journey. Altogether top marks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razik, Owner at Royal Tourist Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I take this opportunity in thanking profusely Julie & Richard for giving a true picture of my place and the thoughtful review posted to the Trip Adviser.My wife and I really enjoyed hosting you two.
Razik & Nasli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 53 in Kandy
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 53 in Kandy
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 53 in Kandy
514 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.3 mi away
Kandy Greenview Hotel
Kandy Greenview Hotel
#25 of 406 in Kandy
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tourist Lodge

Property: Royal Tourist Lodge
Address: No.201 | Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Tourist Lodge is meant for a quiet escape from the hustle and noise of the ever changing city life. From the picturesque and attractive environment to the variety of ranging cuisine, Royal Tourist Lodge brings you ever closer to a peaceful relaxed Sri Lankan lifestyle. ROYAL TOURIST LODGE is situated about 1 kilometer away and 15 minutes walk round the lake to the city. The guest house is completely away from all sound and air pollution. There are large modern comfortable rooms (Newly Refurbished with Air Conditioning, TV and Mini Bar) with attached toilets, hot water and sit out facing lush lawn ( smoking permitted in this area ), beautiful garden and greenery. Excellent environment for relaxation. Besides the guests will enjoy Sri Lankan family hospitality. Guests are advised not to come with drivers as we do not provide drivers accommodation. However cheap accommodation for drivers could be arranged.Good vehicles and tuk tuks could be arranged for city tours.Arrangements could be made for airport transfer or pick up from the railway station. Shortest approach is from Rajapihilla Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Tourist Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing