We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Home Stay with very nice owners but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Tourist Lodge
Ranked #28 of 288 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Lisboa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Real Home Stay with very nice owners but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Tourist Lodge just before X-mas and we choose it mainly because of the TA reviews and dates availability. Since the 1st email, Mr Razik gave us good and useful information about traveling in Sri Lanka (we re-adapted our traveling plans after the information he gave us). Mr Razik also booked trains tickets to Colombo without any extra charge and organized a pick up from the airport (80USD). The garden is very nice, even if smaller that what we imagined, but our 1 year daughter could enjoy it and we could enjoy a nice breakfast on the veranda overlooking the garden.
We found it extremely expensive (75USD + 10USD for the baby cot) for what it was (+ 6 USD/ person for breakfast). As other reviews mentioned the rooms are big, but not extremely clean (especially the bathroom where you could find cob webs ) and almost no amenities: 1 small soap (no shampoo), 2 towels for 3 people for 3 days (it is true that we did not ask for more but we were always hoping that we would receive at least a new soap after the room cleaning). As other review mentioned the bathroom facilities need a "refresh".

Room Tip: Garden View is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filipaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razik, Owner at Royal Tourist Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for the lovely words expressed with regard to the owner.The room was reserved in advance & the price were all agreed upon.The room given to the guest was the largest triple room but charged for the double room with $ 10 charged extra for a baby cot which is as big as a bed.The bathroom had a shower cubicle,bath tub in addition to other accessories with hot water.This is a Guest House & guests bring their own brand of shampoo & hardly use soap except to wash their hands.Regarding only 2 towels we do not have baby towels to provide for 1 year old kid,still we could have provided an extra bath towel if requested.Not providing new soap after cleaning the room was a lapse on our part & all other lapses have been taken care of.We apolozise for the lapses & take this opportunity to thank the guests for letting us know of the shortcomings.
Razik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    36
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We've been staying 2 nights at the royal tourist lodge and loved this quiet place with large bedroom and confortable bed, the breakfast in the garden and the excellent srilankan diner. Above all, we liked the kindness of Mr. Razik who suggested many good places for the rest of the trip and took time to explain us a lot about Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

we had a wonderful stay in the royal tourist lodge, especially because of the owners mister razik and his wife. they took very good care of us, arranged tickets for the train to ella and tickets for the perahera for us, organized a safe drive to our next destination, everyhting was perfect.
the room we stayed in was beautiful, there was wifi, a small refrigerator, beautiful furniture, nice beds and a lovely verandah outside where we had a wonderful breakfast every morning surrounded by the sound of many birds. mrs.razik cooked a delicious sri lankan dinner for us in the evening.
they really made us feel at home. highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Tourist Lodge for two nights. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. We had breakfast and an evening meal served to us there on both days. The owners could not have been more welcoming and attentive. Our food was served at a table on our own veranda. It was superb and the closest we came to home cooking during a months stay in Sri Lanka. The position of the Lodge is perfect being above the bustle of Kandy but easily walkable. We would highly recommend anyone visiting Kandy to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyjillybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Our experience was pretty short actually. But we came to the Royal Tourist Lodge in the very late hours, maybe around 2-3am (I can't really remember, I just know it was after midnight and we were all tired and exhausted from the day's activities and searching for a place to stay), after trying to find a decent, affordable and clean place to stay in for the night. For about 3 hours, we had been searching for all the 3 and 4 star hotels, all around Kandy and ALL or most of the ones we considered legit was FULL. We finally came to one inn or a similar lodge somewhere in town, in the hills and that was a friend of Royal Tourist Lodge's and he recommended us to go there (Royal Tourist Lodge). To our surprise everything we wanted was there: cleanliness, quaint, helpful, and kind. So we stayed over for the night and left in the morning....but only after we ate their SCRUMPTIOUS BREAKFAST :) ...The only thing I think could be improved was the HOT WATER in the shower could be a little more stronger and hotter. Other than that, it was good hospitality, great hosts, clean and comfortable sleeping...OVERALL A POSITIVE EXPERIENCE AND THANK YOU GUYS FOR EVERYTHING!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSoeryadjaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

A long awaited rest from the hot and often busy Colombo & South. This is no party palace, but instead a genuinely welcoming, friendly retreat! Amenities were exceptional (why anyone would complain about the hot water is beyond us). Even more important than the beautiful room and setting were the people. An absolute must is to ask the owners to prepare a meal for you (ask in the morning and they will prepare a most lavish meal), this meal was one of our most memorable in Sri Lanka (quality & quantity). Wi-Fi is also available. Upon booking, the owner organised a reliable tuk tuk to collect us from the station for a fair price. As the next part of our journey included visiting Ridigama (slightly remote) the owners were more than helpful in arranging not only a reasonably priced driver, but also a safe one who knew exactly where he was going! Even after we had departed, their pleasant nature & concern was further demonstrated when they called the next evening to make sure we had arrived safely and that the taxi service was of standard! The lodge is in easy walking distance of the lake and town centre, though alcohol is not served a fridge is provided and guests are welcome to byo. We will definitely visit again and recommend it to anyone visiting Kandy!

Room Tip: It is definitely worth spending the extra US$7 to have the room with the balcony and table, why go a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed with our 6 months old baby son in this guest house 2 nights in December 2011. The owners were really kind and pleasant and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean but some renovation would do them good. The views were great, the terrace where we had our meals is great to sit on and just enjoy the surroundings. Thanks to the owners for all their kindness and their help with our baby, so we were able to have our meals in peace. Kind regards, Magdalena, Samo & Maks

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Blinkbonnie  Inn
Blinkbonnie Inn
#10 of 288 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jack Tree Lodge
Jack Tree Lodge
#23 of 288 in Kandy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sweet Lanka Kandy
Sweet Lanka Kandy
#2 of 288 in Kandy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kandy Hills Resort
Kandy Hills Resort
#47 of 366 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kandyan Villa
The Kandyan Villa
#32 of 288 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Notting Hill Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tourist Lodge

Property: Royal Tourist Lodge
Address: No.201 | Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 288 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Tourist Lodge is meant for a quiet escape from the hustle and noise of the ever changing city life. From the picturesque and attractive environment to the variety of ranging cuisine, Royal Tourist Lodge brings you ever closer to a peaceful relaxed Sri Lankan lifestyle. ROYAL TOURIST LODGE is situated about 1 kilometer away and 15 minutes walk round the lake to the city. The guest house is completely away from all sound and air pollution. There are large modern comfortable rooms (Newly Refurbished with Air Conditioning, TV and Mini Bar) with attached toilets, hot water and sit out facing lush lawn ( smoking permitted in this area ), beautiful garden and greenery. Excellent environment for relaxation. Besides the guests will enjoy Sri Lankan family hospitality. Guests are advised not to come with drivers as we do not provide drivers accommodation. However cheap accommodation for drivers could be arranged.Good vehicles and tuk tuks could be arranged for city tours.Arrangements could be made for airport transfer or pick up from the railway station. Shortest approach is from Rajapihilla Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Tourist Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing