We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, Kind, Clean, Comfortable and a Good Samaritan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Tourist Lodge
Ranked #27 of 376 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Our experience was pretty short actually. But we came to the Royal Tourist Lodge in the very late hours, maybe around 2-3am (I can't really remember, I just know it was after midnight and we were all tired and exhausted from the day's activities and searching for a place to stay), after trying to find a decent, affordable and clean place to stay in for the night. For about 3 hours, we had been searching for all the 3 and 4 star hotels, all around Kandy and ALL or most of the ones we considered legit was FULL. We finally came to one inn or a similar lodge somewhere in town, in the hills and that was a friend of Royal Tourist Lodge's and he recommended us to go there (Royal Tourist Lodge). To our surprise everything we wanted was there: cleanliness, quaint, helpful, and kind. So we stayed over for the night and left in the morning....but only after we ate their SCRUMPTIOUS BREAKFAST :) ...The only thing I think could be improved was the HOT WATER in the shower could be a little more stronger and hotter. Other than that, it was good hospitality, great hosts, clean and comfortable sleeping...OVERALL A POSITIVE EXPERIENCE AND THANK YOU GUYS FOR EVERYTHING!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSoeryadjaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 109 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

A long awaited rest from the hot and often busy Colombo & South. This is no party palace, but instead a genuinely welcoming, friendly retreat! Amenities were exceptional (why anyone would complain about the hot water is beyond us). Even more important than the beautiful room and setting were the people. An absolute must is to ask the owners to prepare a meal for you (ask in the morning and they will prepare a most lavish meal), this meal was one of our most memorable in Sri Lanka (quality & quantity). Wi-Fi is also available. Upon booking, the owner organised a reliable tuk tuk to collect us from the station for a fair price. As the next part of our journey included visiting Ridigama (slightly remote) the owners were more than helpful in arranging not only a reasonably priced driver, but also a safe one who knew exactly where he was going! Even after we had departed, their pleasant nature & concern was further demonstrated when they called the next evening to make sure we had arrived safely and that the taxi service was of standard! The lodge is in easy walking distance of the lake and town centre, though alcohol is not served a fridge is provided and guests are welcome to byo. We will definitely visit again and recommend it to anyone visiting Kandy!

Room Tip: It is definitely worth spending the extra US$7 to have the room with the balcony and table, why go a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed with our 6 months old baby son in this guest house 2 nights in December 2011. The owners were really kind and pleasant and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean but some renovation would do them good. The views were great, the terrace where we had our meals is great to sit on and just enjoy the surroundings. Thanks to the owners for all their kindness and their help with our baby, so we were able to have our meals in peace. Kind regards, Magdalena, Samo & Maks

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank Magdalena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Firstly apologies for the late review! We did promise Razik, the owner, that we would post a review upon our return so sorry Razik... we're a bit late.
During Christmas time, I stayed, with my husband and our two teenager sons, for 3 nights in this lovely guest house in a quiet hillside location away from the busy town but within a short walking distance from the centre.
The room was spacious, clean and with a lovely patio with table and chairs and it was a great place to sit and read or have our tea or breakfast.
The owners are really nice. They gave us many good advices to ensure that we had a great experience.
We had a wonderful stay and we had an excellent Christmas dinner in their dining room. A very homely atmosphere, with candles and lights singing Christmas carols for the delight of Razik and his wife Nasli.
This hotel deserves all the great reviews it gets and we would recommended it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Clean room, but bathroom was old and in poor condition. The bidet leaked on the floor and the water is like warm only. Owner was pleasant and helpful but you have to walk through his house to get to your room. For the price I would expect more modern western facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeandMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Booked Online from http://royaltouristlodge.hotels.officelive.com/booking.aspx and my booking was confirmed on the same day. Stayed here some time ago and have no doubts about giving it 5 stars.

Food is excellent - complements to the proprietor's wife and her exceptional cooking staff. A very homely atmosphere and had a good night's sleep without any sound pollution.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy_C1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Very peaceful, clean and nice place with beautiful view! Rooms are spotless and food is great! Owner and his wife are such a kind people..helpful with everything you need! Like one of the kind they dont give drivers any commision for bringing you in their place so be sure you mention this hotel by its name.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#33 of 56 in Kandy
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
828 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tourist Lodge

Address: No.201 | Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 376 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Tourist Lodge is meant for a quiet escape from the hustle and noise of the ever changing city life. From the picturesque and attractive environment to the variety of ranging cuisine, Royal Tourist Lodge brings you ever closer to a peaceful relaxed Sri Lankan lifestyle. ROYAL TOURIST LODGE is situated about 1 kilometer away and 15 minutes walk round the lake to the city. The guest house is completely away from all sound and air pollution. There are large modern comfortable rooms (Newly Refurbished with Air Conditioning, TV and Mini Bar) with attached toilets, hot water and sit out facing lush lawn ( smoking permitted in this area ), beautiful garden and greenery. Excellent environment for relaxation. Besides the guests will enjoy Sri Lankan family hospitality. Guests are advised not to come with drivers as we do not provide drivers accommodation. However cheap accommodation for drivers could be arranged.Good vehicles and tuk tuks could be arranged for city tours.Arrangements could be made for airport transfer or pick up from the railway station. Shortest approach is from Rajapihilla Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Tourist Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing