We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favourite hotel in Sri lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Tourist Lodge
Ranked #27 of 320 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Brescia, Italy
1 review
“our favourite hotel in Sri lanka”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Firstly apologies for the late review! We did promise Razik, the owner, that we would post a review upon our return so sorry Razik... we're a bit late.
During Christmas time, I stayed, with my husband and our two teenager sons, for 3 nights in this lovely guest house in a quiet hillside location away from the busy town but within a short walking distance from the centre.
The room was spacious, clean and with a lovely patio with table and chairs and it was a great place to sit and read or have our tea or breakfast.
The owners are really nice. They gave us many good advices to ensure that we had a great experience.
We had a wonderful stay and we had an excellent Christmas dinner in their dining room. A very homely atmosphere, with candles and lights singing Christmas carols for the delight of Razik and his wife Nasli.
This hotel deserves all the great reviews it gets and we would recommended it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    36
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Clean room, but bathroom was old and in poor condition. The bidet leaked on the floor and the water is like warm only. Owner was pleasant and helpful but you have to walk through his house to get to your room. For the price I would expect more modern western facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeandMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Booked Online from http://royaltouristlodge.hotels.officelive.com/booking.aspx and my booking was confirmed on the same day. Stayed here some time ago and have no doubts about giving it 5 stars.

Food is excellent - complements to the proprietor's wife and her exceptional cooking staff. A very homely atmosphere and had a good night's sleep without any sound pollution.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy_C1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Very peaceful, clean and nice place with beautiful view! Rooms are spotless and food is great! Owner and his wife are such a kind people..helpful with everything you need! Like one of the kind they dont give drivers any commision for bringing you in their place so be sure you mention this hotel by its name.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We chose this guesthouse from three that we selected because the owner gave immediate
and positive responses to our emailed questions about getting a taxi from the airport, arranging train tickets etc i.e. he seemed friendly AND efficient. He and his wife were most welcoming and helpful and the set-up there was more like a 'bed 'n breakfast' situation where you are staying in their home. The bedroom was large and the hot water in the bathroom worked (with a slight delay for it to come through the pipes). Breakfast was excellent, with toast/eggs/fruit and can be eaten out on the veranda by the nice garden. They will cook you a full curry dinner if you give them notice - delicious.
Mohammed enjoys chatting to guests and you can get clued up on things like Sri Lankan politics and his life on the tea plantations. But he will also deal with your travel needs and
get you discount tickets to the local dancing (a bit touristy but quite fun) and arrange for a 'tame tuk tuk' to come and take you where you want to go. However, the lodge is very close to the Temple end of the lake so that's just a walk. Do take his advice and visit the Botanical Gardens at Peredeniya, it's well worth it.
There is some animal noise (referred to in another review) in the form of some dogs randomly barking down the street, but you better get used to that if you are travelling in Sri Lanka!
All in all: a recommended 'homestay'.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are taken by members of the owner's family (very quiet people), so only the thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefthander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We love this place. What made the stay special was the lovely couple who owns the guesthouse; humble, welcoming, attentive and sweet.
The room was spacious and bathroom modest, but the surroundings are beautiful, particularly the huge veranda which overlooks the hills.
The only bugbear (and this has nothing to do with the guesthouse) was the animal sounds which kept us up at night. But it's what you get for being in the hill mountains!
A total pleasure to stay at Royal Tourist Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellBelle740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This guesthouse located in the hills of Kandy south of the lake is owned by a very kind and helpfull Sri Lankan couple.
The rooms inculde a bathhroom with a hot shower. It has no aircondition but the location on the hillside has a nartural chill.
It has a beautiful garden.
Distance to the lake is 5 min by foot. 20 min to the Temple of Tooth
The landlord can provide very usefull information for a nice trip around Kandy.
The price for a double room is 3500 rps and a delicious breakfast for two costs 1000 rps (both +10% service charges)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.4 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 54 in Kandy
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settle Inn Tourist Lodge
0.1 mi away
Kandy Hills Resort
Kandy Hills Resort
#36 of 388 in Kandy
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tourist Lodge

Property: Royal Tourist Lodge
Address: No.201 | Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 320 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Tourist Lodge is meant for a quiet escape from the hustle and noise of the ever changing city life. From the picturesque and attractive environment to the variety of ranging cuisine, Royal Tourist Lodge brings you ever closer to a peaceful relaxed Sri Lankan lifestyle. ROYAL TOURIST LODGE is situated about 1 kilometer away and 15 minutes walk round the lake to the city. The guest house is completely away from all sound and air pollution. There are large modern comfortable rooms (Newly Refurbished with Air Conditioning, TV and Mini Bar) with attached toilets, hot water and sit out facing lush lawn ( smoking permitted in this area ), beautiful garden and greenery. Excellent environment for relaxation. Besides the guests will enjoy Sri Lankan family hospitality. Guests are advised not to come with drivers as we do not provide drivers accommodation. However cheap accommodation for drivers could be arranged.Good vehicles and tuk tuks could be arranged for city tours.Arrangements could be made for airport transfer or pick up from the railway station. Shortest approach is from Rajapihilla Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Tourist Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing