We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good soya food”
Review of Soya Centre

Soya Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Sells a collection of novel short-eats made with soy, such as wades, and roti rolls and sandwiches filled with soy sausage. The biggest attraction are the vegan the generous soy soft-serve ice cream cones.The open-air counter high above the street is extremely popular with locals, though service is prompt. Also sells typical vegetable buns and rolls, and bulk soy products such tofu and tempeh can be purchased there. And exciting find for the dairy-free traveller. Trucks in Kandy also sell the so called "soy ice cream", in smaller portions, though the ice cream at the Soya Centre is the tastiest and has the best quality.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The soya centre is one of the top stops for short eats in Kandy. The food is alright and is the only option for vegans in Kandy. However there is much to be improved in terms of cleanliness and atmosphere. It is high time for refurbishment.

Thank UdSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are a 100% soy based food company and thereby all our items including the ice cream,milk and short eats are made of naturally grown soy.
We appreciate all comments and suggestions put forward by our customer and try to make as much development as possible. In terms of cleanliness, we follow a set of guidelines for personal,operational hygiene since we deal with food and its of utmost importance. Do come and visit us again and let us know if we've improved. Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited the Soya Centre after reading the excellent reviews. The soya centre can be tricky to find in Kandy, the easiest thing to do is ask a Tuk Tuk driver where the YMCA building is (it's right next door) - or get a Tuk Tuk there! The soya ice cream was tasty, a definite grower, and the soya burger was also tasty, the red sauce available to go with it is a deifnite must. Its like a chilli sauce. We didn't try an extensive range from the menu, but the quality was okay, the price was very low, and provided a welcome rest stop during our day trip to Kandy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kbacon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was a great little place! Central location, Inexpensive and tasty. The soya ice cream was especially good! It is on the second level, so you can sit and eat and sort of watch the world go by :)

Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your Review. Glad you loved the ice cream :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Delicious soft serve ice cream , no lactose, and made naturally! The owner is super nice and informative.. The snacks are also great, vegetarian of course. A must for the hot days of Kandy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yaelwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Hope you visit us again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just amazing icecream, and made of plants!
We've been scooping here 3 times a day on average.
One downside: highly addictive!

Thank jopie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and glad you liked our food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soya Centre also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Soya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing