We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet in Kandy!”
Review of Lucktissme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucktissme
Ranked #98 of 438 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Kandy with a real home feel away from all of the hotels around the lake. It's only a 250-300 rupee ride and is nestled on the hill in a great neighborhood. Very stylish living space with nice seating outside. The rooms are the cleanest I've come across in Sri Lanka so that's always nice. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi Emily,Thank you for your reviews. Wish you all the best, and good luck with your photography.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Lucktissme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

The family who run this B&B are warm, interesting people who made us feel so at home. With lovely big rooms, clean airy bathrooms we felt right at home. Delicious food too! We will definitely recommend this reasonably priced get away in the busy hills of Kandy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank You so much for your comments. Hope you had a enjoyable stay at Lucktissme.
Wish you all the Best,
Lucktissme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

i really enjoyed the grand home atmosphere and architecture, quiet neighborhood and very gracious hosts here...and would definitely return again. it made for a wonderful and relaxing stay, plus was a good value in a popular but noisy and sorta smoggy city!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 339jackm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello Jack,
Thank You very much for your review. It was great to have you and your friends at Lucktissme. We wish you all the best and have a safe Journey.

Regards,
Lucktissme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

a friendly and helpful hostess offers comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, & reasonable price. the beautiful old house in quiet wooded setting is a nice change of pace from the busy city. i will return here again the next time i'm in kandy.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank maxtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello Max,

Thank You very much for your review. It was such a pleasure to have you and your friends at Lucktissme. We wish you all the best and have a safe journey.

Regards,
Lucktissme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The best of places we have stayed at in Sri Lanka. We have travelled the island for a month and have seen many places, but without a doubt this was the most pleasant of them all. The atmosphere and history of the house, the warm welcome of the family and their staff, the spacious rooms, the lovely and well prepared food: it was all just perfect. We can highly recommend it to anybody who's looking for a beautiful and quiet spot just a 200 rupees ride away by tuktuk from the city centre of Kandy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Diana,
It was such a pleasure reading your comments, knowing that you have enjoyed staying at Lucktissme.

Thank You very much.
Innocent & Harold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had heard about Lucktissme from friends in australia and I was very pleased I stayed here with my family. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome and treated us like we were part of their family. The old Sri Lankan house and surrounding gardens were beautiful and it seemed like we were in the jungle, not in the middle of busy Kandy. We liked it that much we decided to stayed longer than we had planned.
Terry Beks, Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We are happy that you felt you were part of the family.Yes,the gardens are like mini jungle in the middle of the busy Kandy city.
We thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

In December 2011 I stayed at Harold Ratwatte's guesthouse on the outskirts of Kandy. Harold is a former tea planter and has a wealth of stories to tell. This guesthouse is in a pleasant location and built in the Kandyan Sinhalese tradition. on ancestral property. It is located a quiet area with access to main roads to Kandy, Mahiyangana and Colombo. I enjoyed the traditional Sinhalese food, presented in clean, impressive fashion and it was tasty. The room was well ventilated and clean.

Manfred Claasz, McCrae, Victoria, AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

We are very much for your comments on Lucktissme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.3 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
708 reviews
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kandy
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.4 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucktissme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucktissme

Address: 125, Pitakanda Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $33 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lucktissme" A Home Away From Home, An Unforgettable Rest Stop. A Guest Annex with large verandah in a Tea Planter's ancestral home with all amenities, situated on a two acre spice garden with varieties of fruit trees. A haven for birds and other creatures, within the city limits of Kandy.Child friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lucktissme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing