We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gem of Sri Lanka”
Review of Lucktissme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucktissme
Ranked #100 of 388 Kandy B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The gem of Sri Lanka”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The best of places we have stayed at in Sri Lanka. We have travelled the island for a month and have seen many places, but without a doubt this was the most pleasant of them all. The atmosphere and history of the house, the warm welcome of the family and their staff, the spacious rooms, the lovely and well prepared food: it was all just perfect. We can highly recommend it to anybody who's looking for a beautiful and quiet spot just a 200 rupees ride away by tuktuk from the city centre of Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Diana,
It was such a pleasure reading your comments, knowing that you have enjoyed staying at Lucktissme.

Thank You very much.
Innocent & Harold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had heard about Lucktissme from friends in australia and I was very pleased I stayed here with my family. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome and treated us like we were part of their family. The old Sri Lankan house and surrounding gardens were beautiful and it seemed like we were in the jungle, not in the middle of busy Kandy. We liked it that much we decided to stayed longer than we had planned.
Terry Beks, Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bexy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are happy that you felt you were part of the family.Yes,the gardens are like mini jungle in the middle of the busy Kandy city.
We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCrae, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

In December 2011 I stayed at Harold Ratwatte's guesthouse on the outskirts of Kandy. Harold is a former tea planter and has a wealth of stories to tell. This guesthouse is in a pleasant location and built in the Kandyan Sinhalese tradition. on ancestral property. It is located a quiet area with access to main roads to Kandy, Mahiyangana and Colombo. I enjoyed the traditional Sinhalese food, presented in clean, impressive fashion and it was tasty. The room was well ventilated and clean.

Manfred Claasz, McCrae, Victoria, AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
We are very much for your comments on Lucktissme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I cannot rate this guest house highly enough! The food was amazing, the room was comfortable and the hostess friendly and helpful. I would recommend anyone who is planning a trip to this region of Sri Lanka to make this your base from which to explore Kandy or the outlying hill country. They made a good holiday a GREAT one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexWilliamsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday staying with us.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 54 in Kandy
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone House Kandy
Stone House Kandy
#20 of 388 in Kandy
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucktissme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucktissme

Property: Lucktissme
Address: 125, Pitakanda Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 388 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lucktissme" A Home Away From Home, An Unforgettable Rest Stop. A Guest Annex with large verandah in a Tea Planter's ancestral home with all amenities, situated on a two acre spice garden with varieties of fruit trees. A haven for birds and other creatures, within the city limits of Kandy.Child friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lucktissme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing