We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hantane Shadow Resort
Nearby Hotels
$322
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nature Walk Resort(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$45
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$39
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$79
$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$34
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
2
1
1
1
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
1
1
1
8
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here as part of our travels in Sri Lanka in Feb 2103. it was by far the lowlight of our travel. horrible and damp, the room absolutely stunk and the manager who claimed to have lived in britain did not have a clue. Though beautiful surroundings the place was horrible, luckily we wre only staying one night but it was one to forget. To compound the stay, the showers did not work so could not rid ourselves of that horrible stale odour. A point to management there, if it rains do not leave the windows open or else you will get damp in the room!!!

Room Tip: Argue with the manager for fresh bedding if it is damp
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Let me start by saying that the manager and staff are very friendly and try to do everything the can for you but they are fighting a losing battle.

The hotel s really in the middle of the Forrest and as such is dark and damp.

We were supposed to stay for three nights but sated one. The room smelt damp as we entered and we found that the furniture was wet to the touch. The sheets were dirty beyond belief and damp as was the mattress. The room was very dirty. The curtains and sheets were stained with something nasty and the bathroom was too dirty to use.

My wife slept fully clothed and with rain kit on. I took the plunge and slept on top of the sheets in my clothes, in he morning my clothes were wet and I am sure I had been bitten all over.

The food was below standard.

When we spoke with the manager and told him we were leaving after only one night he seemed to have expected it.

This hotel needs cleaning, refurbishing and a make over before it is fit for people to go there

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Located in the hills of kandy, marvelous view.surrounded with trees, calm and quiet so there is plenty of fresh air, which is veryyy relaxing. Both families loved the hotel.
The manager and the staff were very friendly, the manager was willing to give a extra bed free of charge.
If you want to get out of you daily tiring routine and spend some time relaxing yourself, Hantane shadow resort will be the best place to visit.
Very decent rooms, nothing to complain.
Please feel free to contact Mr.Sunil, the owner and book yourself a room.
Great Experience, will go there again with our relations very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ushani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The adam's family as a hotel but then without the humor ! All had been written before and it's trough, your worst nightmare is about to start as soon you checked in.
ESCAPE or stay away.the manager could even charge us 200roupees extra for a tuktuk, after we agreed on the price with the driver himself ! We got fried rice for 5000 roupees for 3 persons. The real pool has the size of a big bathtub and with brooken tiles on he side. Because we didn't wanted extra drinks or food ,they went to sleep and put out all electricity.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartpurfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Something is very wrong with this place! We left the place in the middle of the night!!! We had luck to find other hotel considering that was one o clock after midnight. Place is weird, dirty and abounded. Room is scary, super dirty, toilet full of ants, everything was creepy dirty. We decided to stay because it was far from the town and it was late, we had sleeping bags. We locked the door, turned off the light when we heard something liquid dropping down from the ceiling to our bed! I don't want to know what was it but was brown color. That was the moment when we took our bags and left. Staffs were totally helpless and manager is the rudes person ever. DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO SHOOT HORROR MOVIE!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marigio0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews