We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad hotel”
Review of Alcam Holiday Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alcam Holiday Home
Ranked #72 of 438 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel and I would not recommend it : the room and the bathroom were dirty, it smells not good in the room, toilet were broken.
For 40$ à night it is very excessive price for à Sri Lankan hotel. I booked first for 3 nights and after I wanted to cancel 1 night but the receptionist told me always "ok no problem I Will Check but at the end nothing happened"

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysantha R, Manager at Alcam Holiday Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Appears like a Competitor has tried to defame our Holiday Home at Hantana. A good reason for this is that the rate indicated in this review is a ball-park figure which we do not use for our rooms or cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Alcam Holiday Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Me and wife are stayed there for one day. Very pleasant place with nice service and helpful staff. View is amazing! One one point of discomfort - bathroom isn't really good. But it's not a bad by the way. Ok, 4 stars rating from me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I spent three days in this calm holiday recluse with a panoramic view and we are entirely thrilled with our stay.Dean was really helpful and jovial and made our stay a welcome one.Right now no food is served and food is being brought from Hantana hotel down the hill.
It is easy access to Peradeniya Botanical gardens, Temple of the Tooth Relic and Tea Museum.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool and a fitness area,Right now u have to order food and they supply it from...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molina240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very clean budget hotel definitely recommend. Family run and staff could not do enough for you. Great freshly cooked food served up by Dean in our own dining area and professional entertainment from the family. Chrys with his lovely dulcet voice sometimes accompanied by his father on the organ was a relaxing treat. Great views over Kandy. Need tuk tuk to town, 250rs, as very hilly to hotel, but not a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank beli1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Ася Ш
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kandy
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.0 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcam Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcam Holiday Home

Address: 51 Mahasen Mawatha, Hantana Place | Hantana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $41 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcam Holiday Home 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Hantana, Kandy on the way to the Hantana Ceylon Tea Museum, Nuwara Eliya, Dunumadallawa Rain Forest, Nature Trail , Meditation Centre, Hantana Tea Estate and the Dorwin Fresh Water Reservoir. 6 Comfortable rooms and 2 suites with AC, Hot H2O, Fans, Cable TV with ensuite washrooms have views of the city, rolling hills, and the UdawatteKele Bird Sanctuary, Bahirawa Kanda hill and Wales Park. Restaurant on the balcony overlooking great views of the surrounding hills. 1.5 Km to the Temple of the Tooth (Dalada Maligawa), Kandy Lake, Arts, Crafts & Dance, Trinity Chapel, Museum and the Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alcam Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing