We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious short eats!”

The Kandy Garden Cafe
Ranked #10 of 150 Restaurants in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Dehradun, India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Delicious short eats!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were in a hurry to catch our train from Kandy, so stopped by to pick up something quickly. I'm vegetarian, and was delighted by the vegetable rotti and samosa. Go for it, it's a treat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShootingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    183
    56
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best authentic Sri Lankan food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A real gem, and one not to miss. The best street food I have had so far in Sri Lanka, very authentic and used by all the locals. All freshly prepared and very friendly staff. Please visit if you are in kandy! So cheap and beautiful food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank camilla_chellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another great recommendation from trip advisor.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is relatively easy to find. Tuk Tuk drivers all know where it is.
Food is delicious, reasonable variety to choose from. Authentic. And we felt the cost was also extremely reasonable.
Chicken Briyani, beef curry, egg hoppers and breads. Yummy.
Don't be put of by the exterior, give it a try. You will be pleasantly surprised. Locals use it a lot for takeaway meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winoNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We thought we were going to the Kandy Garden Club to drink Gin and Tonics and beer on the verandah and then have a bite to eat; they wouldn't let us in (Members Only) so we looked in at the cafe; pretty basic but we were hungry so in we went.
Suffice to say that the result became the yardstick for just about every other meal we had in Sri Lanka; we never saw another bryriani come even close.
If you are a bit worried about the meal being too hot; just ask them to tone it down and they will. Their English may be modest but their attitude and service are excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Believe!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Just believe me it's the most flavoursome of foods that you'll experience at this sparsely decorated local Cafe situated north of the lake. Try the Roast Chicken Byriani, Curry Beef, Veg Kohtu and some parrata. A great meal for two won't cost you more than Rp700 and make sure you take the left overs with you for lunch tomorrow. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kandy Garden Cafe also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to The Kandy Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing