We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab food”

The Kandy Garden Cafe
Ranked #8 of 145 Restaurants in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fab food”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Some of the best food we had in Sri Lanka. Not the best location, close to a busy road but worth it for sure.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vegemightyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    176
    56
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Colombia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“loved the food”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Found this cafe on way to my guesthouse; had kotti roti, a traditional food, which actually looks like a stir fry.
All the food great, fresh and cheap;
Its a locals take-out food for dinner type of place as well; so you
know its good

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank dawne539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent Sri Lankan Food in Kandy!”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We came here almost every evening while we were in Kandy because we had tried some other restaurants in Kandy but we find that the best food was still this Garden Cafe.

The food here is simple Sri Lankan food but taste very good.

The fried rice and the fried noodles were not oily at all and still taste good. I love noodles, and I have been eating noodles wherever I went, but the fried noodles here is simple, yet tasty and healthy... Maybe if somebody used to heavy taste type of food might find that the fried noodles a bit mild taste, but it was good for my palate.

The Devilled Chicken here is the best! It taste like what my mom used to cook at home.

We also had the Hoppers and Red String Hoppers with the Potato Curry, Dhal and spicy coconut sambal. They were excellent!

Everyone there including those who work in the kitchen, they all were very friendly and welcoming.

Cheap price, great value, good food. Great local restaurant atmosphere especially evening time many locals came here for take away. There were not many sitting places though... You may need to be patient to wait for other people to finish their meal to get a table. But it worth waiting.

Both of us ate so much but it only cost us less than 5 USD.

Absolutely recommended! Two Thumbs up!

Tips - The elephant ginger beer (EGB) is very good to go along with the spicy Sri Lankan food, although the food here in Garden Cafe is not too spicy. And the drinking water that they serve for free, is absolutely safe to drink.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wintermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cheap though my meal wasn't great”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The atmosphere is quite authentic and relaxed. Lots of locals and good cheap drinks. The food is also cheap and comes in big portions. I ordered the devilled chicken and it was mostly bones while my fried noodles were tasteless. Other than that the people there were lovely and i would definately go back for drinks

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank s4115707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top spot! I will return”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great food, top service and cheap as chips. Big billiards room in the back with a guy that places the balls for you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank offtapsucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kandy Garden Cafe also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to The Kandy Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing