We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Halgolla Plantation Home
Ranked #56 of 445 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It wasn't the comfortable accommodation, the attentive staff, the mouthwatering food. It wasn't the beautiful location perched on a hill amidst the varied and ineteresting fauna and flora. It wasn't the peace and tranquility nor the ability to visit Kandy and must see other tourist attractions that made our Sri Lankan trip. No. My wife and three adult children were captivated by the generosity and attentiveness of our hosts Arlene and Emil. We don't believe a trip to Sri Lanka would not be complete without a stay here. It's the best.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halgolla, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We strive hard to maintain the highest standards for our guests and to offer a unique experience for visitors to Sri Lanka. We are glad that we have met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Two friends and I spent three fabulous days at Halgolla with Emil and Arlene. This is no ordinary guest house, but a family home where guests are treated as part of the resident family, and this includes the staff.
The food and facilities are of a quality rarely seen in a commercial establishment; the bulk of it coming from the produce of the estate. Every meal was a culinary delight, with such a variety that it was quite impossible to taste them all!!
Emil's extensive library, and Arlene's quiet supervision of every little aspect of the household, would make any visitor's stay something to remember.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halgolla, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

As the owners, we get as much enjoyment out of our guests as we aim to provide for them. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our stay at HPH was one for the books, to say the least. Me, my husband and our 2 little boys stayed with Emil and Arlene for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it!. As others have already mentioned the food is AMAZING (the best we had in Sri Lanka - Egg hoppers are a new family favorite now), so make sure you're not on a diet or anything. Would be a shame! The house is lovely and you can see the family's artistic touch throughout. Emil and Arlene are wonderful hosts and they really let you into their life. We felt like we were staying with our grand-parents (and that, mind you, is a very big compliment ;-). Their stories, not only of Sri Lanka, it's history, but also the family, the people, the plants, fruits, recipes etcetera are great and will give your Sri Lanka experience the 'couleur locale' that's unforgettable.
But don't stay here if you're not in for a homestay or when boutique/luxury hotels are more your thing ;-)
By the way, the road up to HPH is indeed in pretty bad shape but for us, even in Monsoon season, it worked fine (despite the fact a fallen tree blocked our driver from coming all the way up to HPH so Emil brought us half-way so that we could do a 'hand-over'). We even saw Tuk-tuks driving up and down.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornelia dr d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halgolla, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We’re gratified that we’ve met your expectations and our own – to provide a unique experience for visitors to our beautiful country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our stay at Halgolla was one of the highlights of our 25 day trip around Sri Lanka as it enabled us to imagine life there as a resident rather than be limited to the tourist hotel experience. Arlene and Emil are very welcoming and interesting hosts. The accommodation is very comfortable, and it is both interesting and relaxing to spend time in the garden seeing how a wide variety of spices are grown. The food is exceptional - the Sri Lankan dishes were not bettered anywhere else we stayed and were much tastier than at most other places. Specialties we were fortunate to be served were roast wild boar and nutmeg marmalade. The road up the hill to Halgolla, like many country roads in Sri Lanka, is best traversed by a vehicle with more clearance than a small sedan. As our car hire firm was not willing to allow their vehicle on this road, Emil very kindly organized for a van to meet us near the main road and, for a very modest fee, to bring us and our suitcases up to the house. We are happy to recommend this homestay as a way to experience life on a small estate or as a quiet break from busy tourist places.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halgolla, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We are gratified that our aim - to provide a unique homestay experience in Sri Lanka - has been achieved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Reviews from the few others who have actually had the benefit of staying in this Plantation Home reflect accurately our experience. Both Emil and Arlene obviously enjoy sharing their home and their knowledge of Sri Lanka with visitors. And provide a culinary feast with the assistance of their friendly staff.

Undoubtedly initial access should be gained before dark and preferably not in a thunderstorm - see those from the top.

Birds and butterflies abound. Note especially the exceptional library of old books which exquisite prints - see the Junglefowl in the photo below as an example.

Remote and peaceful it is an ideal antidote to the developing westernised hotels. Though we were able to watch England defeating Sri Lanka in the second Test on TV.

Room Tip: You will enjoy whichever of the two you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardAHWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halgolla, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

As the owners of HPH we thoroughly enjoy getting together with our guests
and Richard and his family were no exception. They helped us to see our
property and country with fresh eyes, particularly Richard's observations stemming from his many years of travel around the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed for five nights. The standard of hospitality was that of Sri Lanka at its best. Emil and Arlene made every effort to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. They are excellent hosts and very good company. The dining is certainly correctly described as superb. There was a wide variety of delicious Sri Lankan food and plenty of it. Ben's Room is a large, airy room. I didn't use the mosquito net - I didn't see or hear a mosquito in my room. I found the nights quite warm, used the fan and slept pretty well. The location is high above the floor of a valley. The home is in a tranquil setting, surrounded by the trees of the plantation. There are fine views of the surroundings. I particularly enjoyed walks around the area, and watching a great variety of birds.

Room Tip: There are just two similar rooms. Nellie's Suite is more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanyf4dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halgolla, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Photographs of the rooms are available on
our website and here on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Emil & Arlene are excellent hosts- no more of your wonderful food please Arlene!. The house is pretty and still has part of the old working plantation as part of its grounds. We had a most interesting walk looking at spices and fruits growing in their natural environments, and looked around where the rubber used to be made in earlier times. The bedroom is very large and comfortable. A stop for one or two nights is perfect to recharge when you are travelling around Sri Lanka. My only recommendation to Emil & Arlene is the house is at the top of steep and winding road and although this means it is cool and gives great views from the veranda, I suspect that some taxi drivers either wouldn't find it or even give up, so Emil I would say it would help you and your clients if you could arrange to pick them up from Kandy.
Best wishes Karen & Jem

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jem354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halgolla, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thanks for your kind words. We do offer our guests the option of having
us arrange their transport to and from HPH which would include to and
from Kandy. Just let us know your requirements and we'll try to meet them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.0 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halgolla Plantation Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halgolla Plantation Home

Address: Halgolla 50 Acre Estate | Galagedera, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $58 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halgolla Plantation Home is not an ordinary B&B, but welcomes you as guests of the owners in the ancestral home of a family that has lived here for three generations. Situated off the beaten track in the mid-country, it is ideal for exploring the Kandyan foothills or as a jumping-off point to historical and cultural sites. Guests are assured of peace and relaxation. Ideal for artists, writers, nature lovers, hikers and those appreciating quiet pursuits.We have three spacious and airy rooms available. Two of them have private attached bathrooms; the third one has a private but separate bathroom.We serve authentic, healthy tasty Sri Lankan food, tailored to your taste (not too hot). Vegetarians can be accommodated with advance notice. Minimum booking is two nights. We do not accept guests under the age of five (5) years because HPH is not equipped for younger children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Halgolla Plantation Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing