We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
255
77
12
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
77
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife the owner cooking class tuk tuk sri lanka bird song wild boar richmond hill guest house lovely family arranged everything home stay large balcony beautiful place to stay roti home cooking minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 348 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2017

Prathi and his family were welcoming, warm and friendly. The room was excellent, bed comfortable and the food was the best I've had so far in Sri Lanka. My only regret is that we didn't stay fit longer as he suggested cooking lessons and hill walking as activities that we didn't have time for.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank seamusb186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Your positive feedback and all the kind words are highly appreciated! We were very happy to host you and thanks again for your lovely feedback.

Looking forward to host you again during your next stay with us at Hanthana House.

Warm Regards,
S.G.Pathirana & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

The house and rooms are lovely and clean and the food served at breakfast and dinner were delicious. The only negative would be if you book a room above or next to the kitchen it can be a bit noisy early in the morning.

It's definitely a Tuktuk ride into Kandy itself (we usually walk everywhere but it's a monster of a hill!) however it's super easy to get one and it only costs £2.

We also got some good advice on where to go and stay next.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kerrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We're sorry that it was noisy early morning! Hope you had a good stay with us and we look forward to host you again!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hanthana House for one night: the room itself is lovely and it has a recently renovated ensuite bathroom.

Hanthana house is located on a hill 15 minutes by tuck tuck outside of kandy city center. It is surrounded by trees, and green ..and at night you can hear the sound of nature ! Breakfast was delicious and abundant: typical Sri Lanka pancakes, fruit and toasted bread with ham & butter.

If you wish you can also have dinner at night , downstairs there is a big kitchen with a big table where you can eat together with the other guests. You can enjoy local cuisine for a reasonable price.

If you want to escape from the crowded kandy city center and and sleep surrounded by nature this is the place !
Pathi , his wife and daughter are so nice and will welcome you with a smile.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us at Hanthana House. We appreciate your kind words and comments about our facilities are services.

We look forward to host you in the future during your next stay.

Yours sincerely,
S.G.Pathirana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I were unsure about a home stay but a friendly warm welcome from Tarica and Patrick made us feel so comfortable. This lovely couple made us feel like one of the family and so helpful with information and advice that our stay was great .We had planned our trip to go to the festival of the Tooth which l highly recommend What a wonderful sight to see so many Elephants and Beautiful dancing.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank arkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for this lovely review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us during your stay. Your kind words and comments on Hanthana House and staff are highly appreciated!

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
S.G.Pathirana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights; lovely family and staff. House is spotless and the home cooking is unreal. It offers a welcome homely feel. We also did a cooking class which was great- would definitely recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank samthedogdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to see you in the near future.

With Best Regards,
S.G.Pathirana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews