We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely home stay ”
Review of Hanthana House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanthana House
Ranked #1 of 458 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night towards the beginning of our trip to Sri Lanka and had a lovely evening. The room was clean and well presented, the family were warm and welcoming and the home cooked good was delicious! The location is a little outside of Kandy itself but the owner arranged a Tuk Tuk to take us into town which was very reasonable. Thankyou for having us :-)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TaWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank very much lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 309 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had two amazing nights at Hathana House, accompanied by wonderful home cooking (including your own cooking lesson). The rooms are newly built and decorated to a high standard. It's a little oasis in Kandy. What Pathu and Suba don't know about Sri Lanka isn't worth knowing, they suggested other places to visit around the city and for the rest of our trip. Definitely worth the short tuk-tuk ride out of town.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjhw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank very much lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

It was really a very good experience for us at Hanthana House. It is around 2.5-3km from the Kandy town. Mr Pathirana and his family treated us like their own guests and offered us wonderfully prepared home-made dinner. Best was the tea served to us. It was truly one of the best we had in Sri Lanka. Though in Kandy there is nothing much to do, but staying at Hanthana House will be a good homely experience. Thanks to Mr. Pathirana for guiding us for the rest of our trip at Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: You can choose to stay here if you enjoy seclusion from the crowd as Hanthana House is around 2.5-3k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. It helped us a alot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights after getting an excellent deal on Agoda. The house is beautiful, set amongst the hills and with some lovely views of Kandy. Being situated out of the town it was lovely and peaceful and after a day in bustling Kandy that was very welcome! The rooms are beautifully done out and spotless. The food is all home cooked and absolutely delicious. Pathi and his family are very welcoming and also very helpful in sorting out any trips to the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdolittle702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Manager at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thanks alot for your lovely review. It really helped us alot !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A unique blend of boutique standards and homestay, western tastes,efficiency and cleanliness and eastern warmth , sensitivity and hospitality with truly the best of both worlds. Delicious food, generous portions, reasonable rates.Overall an excellent value for money. No doubt, one of the best guest houses/ small hotels in Sri Lanka.

Eugenia Zachanowicz -Canada/Poland
Ravi Jeevanayagam - Canada
Raga Alphonsus - Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niusia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks alot for your lovely review ! It helped us alot .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Finding a great deal on agoda (approx. $18/night) I booked two nights here, but ended up staying four. As a backpacker, I don't know if I've ever stayed somewhere as nice, with such hospitable hosts, as this during my extensive Asia travels. Large, light, spotless rooms, a big balcony overlooking the hills, amazing home cooked meals, and Pathi and his family do everything they can to make you feel welcome and part of the family. I went on a 3 hour hike with Pathi through the hills and tea plantations, got great tips for the rest of my trip, and Pathi even organised an incredible deal on a safari in Yala for me.

Kandy itself didn't sell me much, so it was great being away from the noise and bustle of the city. It's only a 30 min walk/200rp tuk tuk into town, or if you're lucky as I was you could get dropped there whenever the family is heading in.

Definitely recommended!

Only downside, if I had to think of one? As a solo traveller staying in off season, I was the only person there half the time, but this just meant I got to chat to the family more and enjoy some much needed down time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandering_gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Manager at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks alot for your lovely review ! It helped us alot .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Located in the hill and a bit hard to find - this is one aspect that makes this home special.
Pathi was waiting for us on the road since was not easy to see in the night. There is also free tranfers from the train station - just need to arrange with Pathi.
A very warm place. The rooms are very new, simple and nice decoration, everything very clean.
Pathi , Suba and their son, Marresh, are excellent hosts.
We had only one night so first we had a delicious dinner prepared by them. The next day, early morning, Pathi took us for a 2 hour walk on the hills behind the house - with great views of the tea plantations.
We came back and did a cooking class with Suba, excellent cooker - then we enjoyed the meal we prepared!
Short but amazing stay! Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camiletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks alot for your lovely review ! It helped us alot .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 57 in Kandy
1,357 reviews
2.8 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 57 in Kandy
574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#15 of 57 in Kandy
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanthana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana House

Address: 108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $30 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanthana House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanthana House is a boutique type accommodation which offers a comfortable stay in an attractive surroundings with added benefit of tasty and Srilankan Cooking which you can learn to prepare yourself!. Hanthana House consists of two en suite double bedrooms and one en suite twin bedroom and one en suite triple room, all with generous balconies overlooking the neighbouring tea estate. The bedrooms have ceiling fans, teak furniture and polished cement floors as well as a wet room with shower, basin and WC. The newly-built spacious and light dining room also has views of the tea estate and it is open to the generous new kitchen, where cookery lessons are always available! The upstairs sitting area has a comfy sofa and armchairs as well as a piano and Wi-Fi access! An organic kitchen garden is planned which will provide most of the vegetables for meals, and various walks through tea plantations and up to local viewpoints are accessed from the front door. Hanthana House is approximately 4 km from Kandy in the Hanthana hills, an area famous for cultivating some of the first tea grown on the island and the location of the Ceylon Tea Museum. Please be aware that a homestay is neither a hotel nor a guesthouse as you live and socialise with a family in their home. Think of it as an extension of your own home, with the usual creature comforts and no-one to make your bed or clean your room on a daily basis! The real experience is the interaction with a Sri Lankan family as they go about their daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hanthana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing