We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, good authentic home-cooked food”
Review of Hanthana House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanthana House
Ranked #1 of 456 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night as part of an excellent tour with Tikalanka Tours. Hanthana House itself is spacious, clean and minimalist and the four rooms have balconies overlooking the Hanthana hills. It is peaceful (other than the abundant bird life) and secluded. There is no air-conditioning, but being in the hills the temperature is a bit lower than nearer the coast so this was not a problem for us.

The clear highlight for us was the food. Pathi, who manages the house and also operates the Sri Lankan end of Tikalanka, lives 50m down the road and meals are taken with his family, cooked by his lovely wife Suba. The family are welcoming and friendly, and the evening meal (rice and a multitude of curries) was some of the best we had during our trip. The power went out shortly before we arrived, so we ate by candlelight, which was lovely. Unfortunately our schedule meant we didn't have time for a cookery lesson, which we regret now we're home and want to introduce our friends to Sri Lankan cuisine!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks alot for your lovely review ! It helped us alot .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 309 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

We spent 3 nights here, while we enjoyed part of our Tikalanka tour. Very friendly and helpful. Great balcony with nice view! Very delicious food prepared by out host Patthi and Suba. Patthi went out of his way to make us welcome, took us for a local walk and even drew my attention to a Junglefowl early one morning. Much appreciated.

Be aware that rooms have no air con/fan or mosquito netting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks alot for your lovely review ! It helped us alot .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My son Sam and I had had a really excellent three night stay at Hanthana House in the hills above Kandy. The guest house is comfortable and very clean. I had a superb bedroom with ensuite and a balcony with a great view. This place is a top venue if you like watching birds and photographing them and all you need do is sit on the balcony. I saw many different species including Long-billed Sunbird, Hill Myna, Flame Minivet, Yellow-fronted Barbet, Crimson-fronted Barbet, Grey-breasted Prinia, Black-headed Cuckooshrike and Indian Pitta. All these were observed from the balcony. There were many more and something different cropped up each day. Pathi ( the host ) gets Sri Lankan Jungle Fowl at the bottom of his garden. The food is first class Sri Lankan cuisine and very healthy. It is cooked by the family and you get a real taste of Sri Lankan life. The family are lovely and extremely helpful. I hope to revisit Hanthana House.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks alot for your lovely review ! It helped us alot .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

One of the highlights of our stay in Sri Lanka was four days, staying in Hanthana House near Kandy, with meals with a local family. The modern well-equipped accommodation was spacious and stylish with wonderful views of the hills around. We had meals with Patthi and Suba and their children in their house nearby - an authentic Sri Lankan experience with delicious home-cooked and largely home-grown food (bananas, pineapple, jackfruit etc. from the garden) and of course, arrack to drink! The family were so friendly and welcoming and we felt very relaxed and at home, becoming guests rather than just tourists. We learned a lot about Sri Lanka and the culture, with conversation ranging widely over many topics. Patthi and Suba offer cookery lessons in Sri Lankan food but I’m afraid we were too busy relaxing on the verandah to take advantage of this! It’s a wonderful place to chill out, when you need a break from the travelling and sightseeing but near enough to Kandy to explore Kandy, too. And it was a real privilege to be welcomed into a Sri Lankan home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scallopshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks alot for your lovely review ! It helped us alot .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobvanDooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinpiethoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 57 in Kandy
1,356 reviews
2.8 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 57 in Kandy
574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#15 of 57 in Kandy
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanthana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana House

Address: 108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 456 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $29 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanthana House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanthana House is a boutique type accommodation which offers a comfortable stay in an attractive surroundings with added benefit of tasty and Srilankan Cooking which you can learn to prepare yourself!. Hanthana House consists of two en suite double bedrooms and one en suite twin bedroom and one en suite triple room, all with generous balconies overlooking the neighbouring tea estate. The bedrooms have ceiling fans, teak furniture and polished cement floors as well as a wet room with shower, basin and WC. The newly-built spacious and light dining room also has views of the tea estate and it is open to the generous new kitchen, where cookery lessons are always available! The upstairs sitting area has a comfy sofa and armchairs as well as a piano and Wi-Fi access! An organic kitchen garden is planned which will provide most of the vegetables for meals, and various walks through tea plantations and up to local viewpoints are accessed from the front door. Hanthana House is approximately 4 km from Kandy in the Hanthana hills, an area famous for cultivating some of the first tea grown on the island and the location of the Ceylon Tea Museum. Please be aware that a homestay is neither a hotel nor a guesthouse as you live and socialise with a family in their home. Think of it as an extension of your own home, with the usual creature comforts and no-one to make your bed or clean your room on a daily basis! The real experience is the interaction with a Sri Lankan family as they go about their daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hanthana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing