We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, honest hospitality, and delicious food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Woods Guest House
Ranked #92 of 384 Kandy B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, honest hospitality, and delicious food!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Our room was cozy with a small bathroom attached and everything was clean. The guest house has a beautiful view and there are many balconies where you can sit, relax and watch the birds and monkeys. It's about 20 min walking from the entrance of the temple of the tooth. Breakfast was delicious and you can always ask Cusum to cook lunch or dinner for you. Prices will be a bit higher in comparison with restaurants in the centre but she cooks delicious and the food is always fresh! You can ask Upali if you need some help as he will do anything for you. He can also takes you for a daytour which is absolutely not expensive! We saw the botanic garden, a spice garden, tea factory, millenium elephants and many other stuff!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankygoestoholywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
8
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
422 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Though only 10 min by tuk tuk from the city centre of Kandy the Green Woods fulfills the imagination which comes with its name: from the balcony you look across to a giant wall of green forest. As I understand the guesthouse is a Mecca for birdies, but even we, without any special interest in birds, enjoyed our stay and the meals at the Green Woods.
The gracious lady owner has held the guesthouse in operation for 30 yrs or so, also during the not-so-good times, and they know their business well.
The manager Mr Opali is very helpful and also provides tuk tuk rides, if you ask him.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The guesthouse is in a very nice location between trees, a short walk from the town center (it's nicely quiet there). The common area is very nice, room was pretty basic with a bathroom begging for a facelift. Hot water in the rooms and free wifi included. Cooking is only breakfast, for dinner we were referred to the Bamboo Garden / Slightly Chilled restaurant nearby. The only downside was that the owner seemed very preoccupied with some additional construction of the building and didn't have any help, so it happened many times that we had go looking for him or wait to arrange simple things.
Also don't trust him with arranging trip to Knuckles range - we were given a 40$ price per person, which he and the guide claimed contained the entrance fee. We realized during the trip that there is no fee at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If I were just rating the rooms then I would probably have given it an average rating. It is fair to say that they are basic, but clean. Sunil and the location make this in my opinion a very good place to stay. Sunil gives you such a lovely warm welcome and is always on hand if you need him. My partner also claims that he makes a 'mean cup of tea'. The lounge area is lovely to relax in and watch the monkeys that can often be found trying to get in the guest house given half a chance.we had an enjoyable evening meal here one night and breakfast was always plentiful. We would definitely return to Green Woods when we next visit Kandy.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
288 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed four nights at Greenwoods and came back for a second time when we were passing through Kandy again. It is a very relaxing place set in a forest, yet only a short walk from the Tooth Temple and downtown Kandy. One has the sense of being deep in the Sri Lankan forest. A large troop of Macaca monkeys passed by our balcony. The woods were alive with songbirds. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. We stayed in rooms 9/10/ They consist of two bedrooms, a large sitting room, and a bathroom. It is perfect for two couple travelling together or a family. Best of all is Sunil, the manager and cook. He has a very warm personality and always has a great welcome. He cooks wonderful rice curry specialties. Sunday is Sunil's day off, so there is no dinner at the guesthouse that night. The Bamboo Gardens nearby is a decent Chinese possibility. Avoid the History Restaurant where we had one of the worst meals in our experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I feel that the place either once used to be nice or has a potential that it never fulfilled. Either way, right now it's a very mediocre guesthouse, in which you wouldn't want to spend more than a night or two. The problem however is not its location (the tuk tuk ride from the station will take longer, but on foot it's a pleasant 10-15 minute walk to thecity center), but rather the sad shape of the rooms and its nonexistent service (at least when we were there). The rooms perhaps once used to be 'basic', but now are pretty grim and need a good scrubbing and a new coat of paint... The mosquito nets are dusty and asthma inducing. The rooms are weirdly built - instead of being seperated off by walls, they have a door and a window, which luckily has a curtain... The window comes out onto the dining room, making it difficult to sleep and leaving the guests with little privacy.

The breakfasts are included and are nice. Don't expect dinner or even tea if you didn't order beforehand though!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieeramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamina, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's 15 minutes walk away from the lake. Over all nice place to sleep, but nothing fancy to talk about it. They didn't serve food that night when I stayed there. The little we talked with the owner he was polite. They arranged tuktuk back to buss station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#28 of 384 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Villa Kandy
Green Villa Kandy
#68 of 384 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La
Shangri-La
#37 of 307 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanthana Jungle View Holiday Home
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden's Guest House
Palm Garden's Guest House
#164 of 384 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods Guest House

Property: Green Woods Guest House
Address: 34/A Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 384 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green Woods Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Guest House Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing