We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly fabulous!!You must stay here”
Review of Villa Sandalwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sandalwood
Ranked #148 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Having travelled around Sri Lanka a few times we found Villa Sandalwood to be such a wonderful have amongst the somewhat busy- but still fabulous Kandy. Owners Bathiya and his wife are so lovely and always willing to help out with anything and ensure you really enjoy your stay. Bathiya was a brilliant host and arranged for a specialist to see my sister (ear trouble!) and even took us to the clinic. We felt so relaxed and peaceful here and even made friends with the Palekelle kids and had a few games of cricket! The food is awesome and prepared by Amma in true Sri Lankan style and served with wonderful hospitality. Can't fault Villa Sandalwood at all and would HIGHLY recommend this gorgeous place - roof top terrace has AMAZING 360.degree view of Kandy, mountains and the beautiful river. If you go to Kandy this should be on your list as a place to stay as it is great to come back to the peace and quiet after being in Kandy centre. It is only a short fun ride in a tuk tuk.
Bathiya, I am sorry it has taken so long to write this review! Thank you soo much for making our stay rememberable.
The South African (and 1 Brit) bunch.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonali_Yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sandalwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 43 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2011

This is truly a precious find. It's not listed in Lonely Planet and I am glad I found it on Tripadvisor. The rooms are confortable, the staff and owner, Bhatiya, is extremely friendly and helpful. The 360 degree view of the surrounding hill from the rooftop of Sandalwood is simply magnificent, especially sunrise and sunsets.

It's located a little distance away from Kandy town center, in the villages, but definitely within walking distance if you have time. Because it's away from the hustle and budtle of town center, it's peaceful and quiet.

The food is another thing to rave about. Their specialty is sandalwood salad, which they make using the young shoots from the sandalwood trees that grows on their proprerty. It's a really refreshing salad. Aside from the salad, everything else tase great as well. Every night, my friend and I make it a point to eat at Sandalwood and not anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We enjoyed staying at Villa Sandalwood very much. The owner was very professional and friendly, and helped us from when we first contacted him by e-mail until the departure. He gave us lots of advice for our plans, which was really helpful. The villa is located 15 min by car from Kandy, but it is worth travelling that much; the view from the rooftop restaurant is magnificient, the atomosphere is tranquil, the rooms (especially the bigger one) was beautifully set and spacious and comfortable, food was very nice and staff are all friendly and helpful. We had 3 yr old son with us, and he also enjoyed staying here as the staff were very nice to him and looked after him as well. I felt this place was more suitable for couples, friends or solo travellers, but we had a great stay at Villa Sandalwood!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Having spent several days travelling around Sri Lanka, Villa Sandalwood was our last stop in Sri Lanka and we couldn't have wished for a better place to end our trip. Right from the outset, Bhathiya was really helpful and promt in answering our many questions even before we arrived in Sri Lanka. Villa Sandalwood is located just outside Kandy (about 15 minutes by tuk tuk) and a true gem! The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. The rooms also have a balcony which we unfortunately did not have enough time to enjoy. The roof terrace restaurant is amazing with gorgeous views of the hills around Kandy. Rooms are offered on both B&B basis and on half board basis. Have your meals here - it is by far the best food we tasted in Sri Lanka!! Both Bhathiya and his wife are wondeful and gracious hosts with invaluable local knowledge and are never too busy to answer any questions. The staff that work here are truly exceptional and go out of their way to accomodate your every need. We can't say enough about this place and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mils_londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We had the real pleasure of staying at Villa Sandalwood for 5 nights - we loved it so much we extended our original booking by an extra 2 nights! The location is just outside Kandy, & easily reached either by local buses or tuk tuk (15 minutes). The Villa is immaculate, the rooms clean and fresh..& the rooftop restaurant a dream. The 360' views are spectacular as is the attention to detail and flair which characterised every delicious meal.
Above all, Bhartya, his wife Nishadi and family are delightful hosts. They were incredibly kind and helpful to us, enabling us to make the most of our stay - including a trip to the nearby Kandyian craft centre, a Sri Lankan cookery demonstration, and 'tweaking ' our itinery so that the rest of our trip made the very most of the Hill country & South coast. Bartya has 20 years of experience in the hotel industry and this was evident in the very high standards that our stay at Villa Sandalwood was managed . In contrast, Nishadi's extensive expertise in social welfare issues ( including work for the UN) meant that we were really able to learn more about this fascinating and complex country.
A stay here will refresh your weary bodies, delight your appetite with excellent food and introduce you to perhaps the nicest Sri Lankan people we met in the whole of our month long trip. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escapeesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed at Kandy for one night on our way back from Nuwara Eliya. The hotel Villa Sands was little away from the city area. Its run by a very nice family . We had a very warm welcome. The room was spacious and everyting has a very aesthetic touch to it. The view from the balcony was nice and since it rained most of the time, we loved it. The restaurant situated on the terrace was very homely and has a view of the hills on all sides which is beautiful especially when you see the mist rolling in. The place is quiet and great for a relaxing holiday and brings you closer to nature.
I would reccomend the hotel to everyone visiting kandy and looking for a place which is reasonable and relaxing. The food is tasty and the presentation exotic. I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwinibonney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Amazing place : the owners are educated Sri Lankans (hotelier professional for him with a passion for architecture ; consultant for UNO social rights for her), and we spent a lovely evening talking about Sri Lankans.
Food was delicious ; the restaurant is just amazing, located on the roof / open air, with a 360 degrees view on the mountains.
We took the suite room by adding just 10 USD versus regular, so total 65 USD : very well spent.
Super quiet, super clean, candles & fresh floers in the room, superb finitions => the standards of a Designers Hotel in Europe !

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchtravellerDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
4.1 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
6.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
6.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.9 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sandalwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sandalwood

Address: 09 Pallekalle, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: $36 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sandalwood 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Sandalwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing