We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
12
20
21
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
20
21
15
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 76 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked room through booking.com and they tried to give us a different room at double the price on arrival. We had to show them booking snapshots etc. We got in the room we booked after a lot of faffing. Large room with big double and a single bed. Large bathroom.
Second night here we went for our evening meal and returned to guest house about 11:30pm/12:00. It was shut. Gates locked. We had to climb over the wall to get in and then bang on the front door to wake someone up. Eventually someone came and we returned to our room to find bugs and flies up the whole of one wall next to the bed. The room was free next door so we slept there. It was horrible. We showed the guy we woke up and he said he had never seen it before. Luckily this was our last night here.
Definitely not a 24hour reception as stated on the guest house info and not a nice visit. Be careful when booking here.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HGR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2014

My friend and I arrived very late a night. We booked over the phone in a tuk tuk (buses weren't running anymore) on our way from Colombo. The guest house is up a steep hill grouped with many other guest houses. The family is extremely nice, and we had great conversations with them. The owner went to university in the US. My friend and I shared a large bed, fan only, and shared bathroom with other guests. The bathroom was clean, but the hot water went in and out. The rooms were clean, but the beds are a bit hard. Outside the balcony is nice to hang out on and enjoy breakfast. Wifi worked most of the time except late at night. Laundry was a bit expensive, but it was a quick turnaround food a much needed service. We enjoyed our stay very much. The owner gave us recommendations and advice on tours and transit. I would recommend this place.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lacyafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I am basing my review people looking for good budget accommodation. It was a cheap place around many other guesthouses on the hillside above the lake, but opposite the temple. We had a triple room with hot shower. The Wifi work good except in the evening when everyone was trying to access at the same time. The do meals which are on par with price and quality with other places we ate on the street. Beer was a little overpriced at 380 rupeer per 625ml bottle, but it is a minor complaint. They can organise drivers and tours as well. As usual you pay a little more booking with a Hotel then a driver you find yourself, but still decent prices especially if you can get a few others to join you.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chewie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights during Esala Perahera.

Pros
Clean and simple room
Nice balcony to kick back and relax on

Cons
Expensive for what you get
Hard beds - thin mattresses and pillows (mine was even missing a slat)
Shared bathrooms - warm water was intermittent and bathroom got very dirty
Noisy
Quoted transportation prices were inflated

Overall
The accommodation was not worth the price and there are definitely better options out there. Also the prices we were quoted for transportation did not match up with other prices we received, if you are organising anything through them it would be worthwhile getting a second quote

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during the Esala Perahera in Kandy. Looking at the prices other people got during the same period, we got screwed... we were told 50 dollars a night was the normal price during this period, for a double room with shared bathrooms! That was well above our price range but we were so in need of a room that we went for it... We called a few days in advance to make a reservation, and the guy on the phone said everything was taken care of but when we arrived nobody knew anything about our reservation... They told us they were full but then all of a sudden they did have a room available, which was weird - also did not notice the hostel being 'full' at anytime during our stay.

The room was clean but SO MUCH NOISE during the night and early morning (very thin walls, people screaming at each other, flocks of crows screaking at 5 am for an hour...), and there was no mosquito net + no way to install ours above the beds. AC worked. Shared bathrooms were good, cleaned every day! Good breakfast. Nice staff.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morganebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews