We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading all reviews stayed for 2 nights and had no single trouble,the view and the room was so clean,the big glass in the window was so clean and at the first time i almost smash my head in to it,later noticed the stickers on the glass.The linen and the room decor was fantastically matched and the big poster bed was one of the main.We asked for the PERAHERA FESTIVAL tickets and they arranged us a great location(a ticket was Rupees 6000).The meals were mostly buffet and had good selected meals for the price Rupees 1000 per adult.Our tour was mainly about the festival and we found this fabulous place in kandy.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is nice,if suites are not available
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank w A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
There are newer reviews for The Richmond House Kandy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 616 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is reasonably new but made to look as though it is old. As with a lot of Sri Lankan hotels things don't work quite as well as they should (the bar fridge was not stocked because it didn't work), there are no coat-hangers in the cupboard, no latch to keep the balcony door open, but it was comfortable enough and very quiet. The staff were friendly and polite, the breakfast was adequate and the evening meal was good, with different curries on both nights we stayed. There are improvements that could be made with little effort including new sheets - the ones on our bed were heavily piled and not comfortable - and the tea and coffee served with breakfast was over-stewed and not pleasant at all.

The staff do everything they can to oblige and will book cars/tuk-tuks when you need them. The main thing for us was that it was too far from town and there were no areas close by where you could go for a morning stroll as the hotel is high up on a hill at the end of a goat track. A tuk-tuk is needed to get to town and that takes 15 minutes and LKR500.

Next time we will try Queens Hotel which is very well located and genuinely colonial.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzurisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked this hotel as a result of the good reviews, however, our experience was not as pleasurable as anticipated.

The room had numerous niggles - the kettle would not work (replacement provided on request) then there was no tea or coffee (supplied on request) the. The toilet seat would not stay up on the toilet even when in use. The bath, basin and toilet did not match and the light didn't work!

The room had a beautiful view, however the furnishings were shabby and the air conditioning unit a noisy old relic.

We requested and early breakfast as we had to leave for a trip. Unfortunately, they forgot (even though there are only 8 rooms in the hotel!)

Perhaps it was our preconceived interpretation of previous reviews, but in our opinion, this is not a boutique hotel, a little more like Fawlty Towers

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hls-durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lead through a narrow passage up the hills, we though this one would be yet another scenic resorts that don't have much to offer except the beautiful panoramic views. And views we got, but not without a surprisingly comfortable room, friendly staff and a seletion of nice sri lankan curries everyday! Just one thing, the textiles and tapestry provided with in the rooms looked and (sometimes) smelt old and under cared for...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vaibhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews on trip advisor. The hotel certainly didn’t disappoint us. It was a bit tricky to find but once we arrived, we felt so relax there. The ‘lobby’ of the hotel is designed simply but is very warm and welcoming. The hotel is located on top of the mountain; we booked a deluxe room and had a balcony to sit out to admire the view.
The manager and the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly, helpful and polite. They tend to all our needs during the two night stay. The breakfast and dinner that they serve are very tasty and fresh.

The only negative thing that I could comment on is the quality of the towels and bedsheet. They have seen better days and would recommend the management to consider changing them to make the hotel perfect.

I wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again when I return to Kandy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

There are so many choices in Kandy but got recommended this hotel by a friend which proved to be a great choice.

The view is spectacular showcasing the Kandy city, with the services and meals provided of high quality and timely (not all that common in Sri Lanka). The room were always clean and had all the facilities' to recharge and get ready for another day of sightseeing.

Gold Star to the management (and Staff) for our relaxing time and keeping the heritage look throughout the hotel.

Quiet and tranquil.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked Richmond House Kandy for 2 nights in July end.. We had good experience at hotel...a Hotel is located on hill and access road is very narrow, so please take some experience driver to reach there.. most of Srilankan guys can drove you there.. if you are driving car on your own might be difficult to get there.

Hotel is located on hill and we got room with fantastic view... room was very well decorated with curtains and all other accessories... hotel staff was very good and hospital and when we said we are vegetarian they made specially curries for us of first day and kept few more stuff for dinner next day.. best part was to have breakfast outside in balcony part of restaurant...

We like the place and its well in budget with friendly hospitable staff....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nirmal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $43 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing