We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at this lovely boutique hotel. The drive up via rickshaw was an experience in of itself. Lovely staff and had a chance to spend some time on te balcony with a nice cup of tea and my laptop. The views are incredible even in the rain! Owner was very accommodating and helped me out with a cash advance through my credit card after I lost my ATM card - a rare find in Kandy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abtranzNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    177
    60
    21
    5
See reviews for
149
293
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived the Richmond House, Kandy late in the evening of 22nd May. The reception was excellent,our triple bed room was ready and we could occupy after the registration. A family travelling with a child would find the triple bed room accommodation wonderful. The last 50 odd meters to the hotel is a steep climb,possibly cardiac patients and people with arthritis or other similar medical conditions should be cautious. Richmond house provided us with a healthy breakfast of fruits and bread (our preference) and a wow dinner of five plus vegetarian Sri Lankan curries and rice. It was possibly the best meal we had in Sri Lanka. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Good place for family and couples. Quiet, scenic and peaceful. The rooms are airy,clean and comfortable. You have WIFI in the room for you internet access!

Room Tip: Not many rooms, it is more of family and not a tourist hotel! Go there to chill out, catch up on fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited kandy for the poson holidays to stay few nights in kandy.I was looking for a hotel in the internet and suddenly i found the richmond house.Fortunately they had the last two rooms for us.It was difficult to find the place and it was difficult to climb the path way to the lobby.but ones you entered to the lobby they welcomed us with big smiles.it is a beautiful house rather than a hotel.well decorated lobby clean rooms.good food extremely helpful and friendly staff from manager to room boy.we were really satisfied with there service and beautiful rooms with panoramic views.Thanks all the staff of The richmond house we will visit you again !!!!

Room Tip: New suites(room no 9 and 10)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadeema g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family (with baby) stayed at this excellent hotel few days ago. The rooms are wonderfully and tastefully done, with bright colors.Specially the 4 poster bed in a room makes a feeling of colonial life style. There are great views from both rooms and restaurant overlooking the hills. My wife enjoyed the tea at top balcony, which she rated as very relaxing. Staff were friendly, the whole place had a very nice atmosphere to it. We will definitely go back there!

Room Tip: A Family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank polwattage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in Richmond house for two nights.we booked the hotel over the phone two days before the arrival date.the reservation is perfectly done as we request for the king suite on the top of the building.king suite is the best suite they have and it was perfect with a private balcony and views.lovely food.friendly staff (specially the manager)
Thank you for your wonderful hospitality!!! will be back!!!

Room Tip: the king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chani a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo,Maharagama Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked Richmond House for 2 nights, with our family of 4, we were welcomed with true feelings and the foods were great. Must tell you about the view .the moment of check in and the moment of check out was totally new, we had a wonderful time here ,as with all reviews it was STEEP, well we managed it because the stay was fantastic with all its service and rooms ,will back for sure and highly recommended.

Room Tip: book from agoda or contact them diretcly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hasith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We found our hosts at Richmond House very friendly and extremely helpfull. In fact the owner helped us put our holiday plan together and organized a very reliable driver. The food was delicious and homely. It is up a very steep hill which makes for marvelous views and a very peaceful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Poppy_0live22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
686 reviews
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
590 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,889 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Property: The Richmond House Kandy
Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing