We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Richmond House Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Kehl, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very nice hotel on the hill with a wonderful panorama to the whole Kandy city.
Cozy interieur and kind and qualified personal gives to you a feeling of a sweet quiet home.
Cleaning of the room is done every day.
Food is very fresh and tasty.
I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elina640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    172
    60
    21
    5
See reviews for
148
286
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Richmond House was chosen by a special person for our stay in Kandy. For my husband and I the experience turned out to be unique. Magnificent views of sunsets, sunrises, and a beautiful view of Kandy from our balcony. Only about 10 minutes out of Kandy up in the hills. Climbing to the 3rd floor to our deluxe suite was worth the climb. Balcony, fourposter bed. A spacious comfortable area to relax. (Towels a bit worn out and dicoloured) Breakfasts were delicious, Sri Lankan curries were very good (especially if you let them know extactly what you want the night before and how you would like it cooked.). Western in Food is okay but was overcooked. All staff, from the Manager down were very obliging and friendly. All adults no children in our group of six.

Room Tip: Reccomend the deluxe suite on third floor, I believe it was a corner suite If you don't mnd cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Suzette_D_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked 3 night here from the 22nd November 2012. On arrival we were upgraded to the suite which was a nice gesture and the room was lovely with incredible views over the surrounding hills and Kandy.

We ate in the first night, eating the Sri Lankan menu which was delicious, with 5 different curries to chow down after a long day.

Each and every member of staff couldn't have been more helpful, they have a real family atmosphere there, assisting us with trips to Sigiriya and onwards which was a real help.

All in all, a lovely place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the Kandy town centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BandA50704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our tip is to request the suite.

It's reasonably priced and as well as a very spacious room, you are given sole rights to the terrace outside the suite that offers splendid views of Kandy. We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary one magical evening, drinking wine as we watched the tiny, twinkling lights below. Mind you, after the very steep climb from the road and then four floors of stairs, you appreciate the need to relax.

It's wise to eat at the hotel at night (have local food rather than a western menu). Even our very competent Sri Lankan driver was relieved not to have to negotiate the steep, winding roads encountering often reckless drivers roaring around blind corners.

We were happy with the hotel, the staff and particularly the very helpful manager.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor suite. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

we loved our stay at Richmond 2wks ago and craving going back! The ambiance in the 'house' is lovely and very homely with warm hospitality...felt like 'family'. The hilltop has an amazing view of the city and is seclusive and just enough away from the busy city, yet close enough. Kandy was thus my fav city, only becos of Richmond. The manager, Nuwan, was extremely professional and hospitable. We much recommend Richmond house to all those who visit Kandy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mariam_and_Jignesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aljezur, Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The staff were lovely and very helpful. Our disappointment was with the room. We felt it was a bit shabby - the bathroom needed a good clean, towels were a bit old and stale and the fixtures and fittings were a bit wobbly. We ate in the hotel twice. The Sri Lankan food was delicious but the Western food was overcooked and we had to send it back. The host was very apologetic and didn't charge us. We had problems trying to use the WiFi and the layout of the house meant that noise echoed so the TV being played in the office downstairs sounded really loud in our room at night when we were trying to sleep. Good location with lovely views over Kandy but we felt it was not good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My tour of Kandy was made much more enjoyable by the three nights I stayed here. The view from the balcony of my room was amazing, showing how beautiful this part of Sri Lanka is. My room was very clean, had a four poster bed, ensuite with a ggod shower and bath and it was nicely furnished. The staff were very polite, helpful and the manager Naweera was very accomodating to all our needs. I would recommend this to all who come to Kandy

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony have an excellent view which is beautiful to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tariq K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Property: The Richmond House Kandy
Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing