We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Kandy...if you seek quietness & serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Look nowhere else in Kandy. Mr. Upali and his team are just amazing. They epitomize Sri Lankan hospitality. I would stay there every time I visit Sri Lanka. One caveat, if you are with your family making daily trips from the hotel into the city and back may be a challenge if you don't have your own transport. It's quite a bit of a hike from the main road and the road to the hotel in narrow and beaten. But I would still say it's worth the effort.

Room Tip: Avoid room # 3. It has squeaky doors and bed. I would choose 2nd floor for the view but I got the fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kaushik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 628 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

I was not going to Kandy. All that I needed in Sri Lanka is a course of Ayurveda and Sigiriya. But then I fell in love. He was all like a fairy tale and too good to be true. His name was Richmond House, Kandy. The way from Sigiriya to Beruwela is long and tedious. Why don't stay overnight in Kandy?
Actually, I'm writing from Richmond House. My English is not enough good to describe the combination of a family of hospitality and colonial luxury. I'll leave that to someone speaking English since the birth.
I ate the most delicious in my life tomato soup here, a few minutes ago. (Believe me, it's not easy to pleased me).
I know you'll come here. This place is deserves to be specially come to Kandy.

Room Tip: When you go here, please, have the exact address, it will be a wonderful to find this place more q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank frog5traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We wanted to book richmond house for months, then we got it"

We stayed in this luxury and homely hotel in kandy with my family,we were tired after visiting all the places and the temple of the tooth,But after the check in we were relaxed, specially they did look after my 3 year old son from the start to the end...so we were relaxed after months...

This is something that you don't expect from other places.

The tripadvisor was right,we found it from tripadvisor and it was correct.

As a sri lankan who lives in colombo ,we are still so happy and relaxed after spending nights in this great place.

wish to come back in the near future.


Thank you tripadvisor ,thank you richmond house

Room Tip: good place relax with your family in the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Richmond House for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The suite on the top floor has to be the nicest room I've ever stayed in. It's huge, with a balcony and superb views looking down on Kandy. Next to the suite is a balcony we ate our breakfast and dinner on.
The hotel staff are so nice and friendly, nothing is too much trouble, they even give us a lift to the train station when we were leaving. If you're going to Kandy, it's definitely the place to stay

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NickB210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at Richmond House on the recommendation of Trip Advisor and found it to be a very charming place to stay. It is located very high up in Kandy but tuk tuks and cars can reach it without too much of a problem. If travelling by tuk buk we recommend taking the hotel address and phone number as not everyone knew where it was. We stayed in the double deluxe room which had a beautiful view of Kandy, there is also very calm aura about the place which is a contrast to the hustle and bustle of Kandy itself. The room was very comfortable and a good place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The staff at Richmond House are impeccable and always ready to help in anyway. In particular, they have their own car which will drop and pick up guests and they can recommend local sights (ask about where to go for an excellent the ayurvedic massage!). We also found out that they can book observation seat train tickets in advance if you know what you're going to be travelling. The food at the hotel was also very good, excellent curry and good breakfasts.

Room Tip: It's worth going for deluxe for extra comforts and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AliciaN02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

A beautiful spot, high up the hill overlooking the crazy Kandy-Colombo Rd and beyond.
Fabulous views all round. Good service and excellent Sri Lankan food - different every night. Special treats each day for breakfast.
A very steep driveway is the only drawback, but the staff take your bags up, so no problem.
All in all, a delightful place with charming owners and staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The richmond house is the most charming and calm place that we had in sri lanka.
Its just super and the most nice people in sri lanka we met.
.
we highly recommend this place for all the travelers who wish to have a nights in kandy.

super super again.....

Room Tip: just book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 57 in Kandy
574 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#15 of 57 in Kandy
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $33 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing