We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful hotel with amazing people and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Richmond house is a very beautiful house with excellent service. The rooms are very clean and luxurious, the view from each room over the hills and the city is incredible and the traditional food was the best I have ever got during my stay in Sri Lanka. The owner family of the hotel and all their stuff try to make every wish possible, the conversation always was very exciting, they all are very friendly with open and big hearts, each question about the country they can answer you as well as explaining the traditions, history and sights of Sri Lanka . Just after one day you feel like at home.
I hope to go back to stay there again as soon as possible...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank Katja1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 619 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

Even traveling alone was able to be relaxed in peace, and the facilities of the hotel and the waiting on customers of the hotel employee prepared for the foods which were not pungent.
The bedding is clean, and the view from the room is good, and it is the hotel which it wants to go with my family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
48  Thank Kyoko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had opted for the Suite and it was truly a magnificent, well appointed, large room that was more than adequate for our family (2 adults and 2 children ages 13 and 10).

The views were magnificent and the food delicious and good quality.

The staff were very attentive and looked after all our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
53  Thank Solik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Big thanks to Mr. Upali and his family for such a hospitable and friendly stay. They go out of their way to make you feel at home - nothing is too much trouble...... even the use of a laptop for the free wi-fi.

The rooms are bright, clean and spacious....perfect after a day of seeing the sights which they will also happily arrange for you. I was kindly upgraded for most of my stay, but all the rooms I saw are of a high standard.

This is a great place to rest up, and a great springboard to go out and see the magnificent, rugged environs.

Thanks again to all, I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
52  Thank Gulf_Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a lovely guest house where the owners are there to make sure that you have a pleasant stay. After a terrible stay at Amaya lake in Dambulla, it was a delight to stay somewhere where the customer is treated they are meant to be.
I would most definitely stay here again if I am ever in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
51  Thank sabwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I can only imagine that the previous reviewers had trekked overland to the Richmond House, through swamps, jungles and mountain passes, probably over the course of several weeks, with little in the way of creature comforts. Nothing else can adequately explain their delight at this hugely overrated establishment. To be fair, we only booked standard rooms, but at $60 a night for a double I expected something a bit better. The rooms were fairly spacious, but dirty and in a poor state of repair. The bathroom stank, and there was no shower curtain or bathmat so the floor of the bathroom got very wet when we used the shower. We ended up doing this sitting down which is never a pleasant experience. The TV worked, although it was hard to find a channel which wasn't scrambled, and the view was certainly very good. Our door would either not shut or not open which I wouldn't normally mind but it opened straight onto the dining room. My wife told me to stop complaining and we went out for the evening for dinner in Kandy. The following morning the fun continued - the staff were very friendly but barely spoke any English - simple things like ordering breakfast were difficult - no menu and if you asked a question like, "what type of cereal do you have?" the waiter would scurry off and bring back bowls of cereal. The eggs were overcooked, the toast only cooked on one side - we tried several times to get toast toasted on both sides, and for some bizarre reason the breakfast came with cake - not a croissant or a danish, but a slice of birthday cake, honestly. We left after two nights thoroughly underwhelmed and I had a long conversation with the manager about why we weren't happy. To be fair to this place, it's in a lovely spot and they are a nice bunch of people who genuinely seem to want to make their guests happy. They are also, unfortunately, completely clueless and have perhaps listened to a bit too much of their reviews on TripAdvisor. They need to get a lot better at the basics of running a hotel - cleaning, maintenance and catering and train their staff but there is very little wrong that a bit of effort and management couldn't sort out fairly quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank EJDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The terrific hotel with immaculate clean rooms and plumbing that works well is matched by the wonderful family that make you feel really welcome and do there utmost to make your stay a memorable one.
Some of the food was the best I've had after 3 weeks on the island, the frosted coconut crepe for breakfast was amazing!
Do I have to mention the Sky tv ,watched Aussie league live! the bathtub, a/c, room service,spotlessly clean Thee VIew etc etc.
Don't hesitate BOOK IT! you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: really quick e-mail reply
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
56  Thank frrlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $33 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing