We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and very good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Bridget's Guest House
Ranked #13 of 470 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed there for two nights and loved the place. Location is good, it was nice to walk to the city center and we even came back after dark by foot. Service is great, the family were friendly and kind. They served three course dinner which included soup, main course and fruit for dessert. All very tasty. You may even meet some interesting travellers at the dinner table :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatariinaJee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 287 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Although we did not stay here, on our recent stay in Kandy visited this guesthouse for dinner. Owners welcome non residents for dinner but phone and book ahead.

It is a little out of the way so I would recommend agreeing a time for your tuk tuk driver to return to collect you.

Food was delicious and owner seemed to delight in bringing us lots of different little dishes to try including curried jack fruit. Dinner is a three course set menu. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CandyB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our holiday, the family That ran the guest house were so friendly and helpful. Very clean, great food and they gave us lots of advise for tours and arranged trips and travel for us. Lovely jungle garden, nice walk into Kandy but best to get a tuk tuk back after dark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The room was nice though quite small and not perfectly clean (e.g. smell of the pillow, dust on the floor). The food was fantastic and the owner very nice and helpful.
The location is slightly outside of the town (20min walk) almost in the jungle, therefore very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kopette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this place for two nights and it is really cheap! remember though that you need a tuk tuk to get there every time.
rooms were clean and the house is nice. we didn't enjoy the dinner but maybe we had a bad night. breakfast is very expensive!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When arriving in that peacul place ,no noise , a tranquille villa ,nested in the forest ,wonderfull garden , full of birds , excellent welcoming ,and pleasant family .
Enough close of the city but not in a noisy area !!!
Since the beginning of our journey in Sri lanka. (10 days already ) the most pleasant stay .
The rooms are simple ,not big ,but very clean , the owners were refreshing the painting of the walls to improve again the quality of the place .
The family is very kind ,helpfull ,Mr and Mrs PIPI are always helping for all and are doing always their best
, ,we share a delicious food ,.
The rate are very resonable when comparing to the other places ,ad we get a wonderfull and kind service .
Don't hesitate to stop some days there .
We recommand this place ,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Kany. A liitle out of town in a great jungly location with birds and monkeys all around. The room was clean although quite tiny but that wasn't a major issue as we weren't in it much. The common areas are great and the evening meal quite simply the best food we had in Sri Lanka (which is saying something, as every meal in the country was great).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
747 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 470 in Kandy
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kandy Guest House
Kandy Guest House
#7 of 470 in Kandy
263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 470 in Kandy
363 reviews
2.9 mi away
Vista House
Vista House
#20 of 470 in Kandy
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Bridget's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Bridget's Guest House

Address: No 125 Sri Sumangala Mawatha | Asgiriya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $27 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your St Bridget's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing