We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in Sri Lanka!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Bridget's Guest House
Ranked #12 of 451 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This guest house is simply great: the food, the location (in the forest), the beds, hot showers: everything was good! One minor point: the rooms are quite small. Other than that, it's simply perfect! I can recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiekvdMaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 281 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was ok. The room was clean enough, but the bathroom could have been more thoroughly cleaned.

The owners are friendly, although there was a bit of a mix up with the end bill which would have resulted in me paying for an extra night and meal had I not noticed the error.

The setting is good with lots of trees around with a troop of monkeys who came very close to the guesthouse during breakfast. The room has no air con which was made it a bit too stifling even though Kandy is cooler than the coastal areas.

It's more like 20-30 mins walk into Kandy town so you will need a tuk tuk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aneurin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed three nights at St. Bridget's, the room was very small but clean.
The guesthouse is far from the city, half an hour
walking, or ten minutes and 300 rupees by tuk tuk. Not 15 minutes, like the guesthouse's owner says.

 The family that runs the guesthouse seemed very nice at first, but the minute we said we are leaving they weren't nice anymore. In the final bill we were surprised with a 10% service increase for all the food and the sleeping. And because it's far it's comfortable to eat there, you don't have a lot of choice, so they take advantage of that by taking high prices, and add an addition 10% in the end (without telling you). They always tell you the price without adding the 10% service.

Hot water system in the shower exists, but doesn't really work.
It's warmish, but definitely not hot.

In conclusion, there are plenty of other options in Kendy, for cheaper price and better location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay at this wonderful guest house when i visited Kandy with my sister.
The garden and the guest house is well maintained. The owners warmly welcomed us soon as we arrived. I was so interested in the architecture of both the houses as they were good works of art. I was shocked to hear that the guest house was more than 25 years old.Its kept brilliantly and anyone could hardly say that.As an architect by profession i see it as the reason for the rooms to be a bit smaller than some places.We didn't mind it as it was super clean and homely.The room had what was necessary .I was glad to see big white towels which were nicely arranged on the bed.(this was the first time we saw clean towels at a guest house)
what can you expect when the rooms are so cheap compared to other places where people are also not that nice.
The food served is just amazing.Pipi makes it perfectly according to our liking.....And the portions are rather large for the amount we pay. I requested to pipi if she could give us some cooking lessons ,she did that too....they are such nice people.....
this guest house is located about 5 mins away from the city.(tuk tuk) ....
Sri dropped us at the centre if he was going that way.,,,
Very helpful hosts....
i am glad we were out of the city as the city is covered with pollution.
this is a nice place to be......explore it......

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have been traveling in sri lanka for 5 months.We visited Kandy for the first time. I booked our room for 2 nights and ended up staying 3 days extra.Our room was a room on the 1st floor overlooking the garden.The rooms had a wardrobe which i saw for the first time in a budget guesthouse as this.(nice to have some luxury :) )The rooms are more worth than the price we pay for it. Pipi s food is excellent.Not a single dish repeated throughout our stay. The rooms were good and very clean.Definitely better than many rooms we stayed in different cities of sri lanka.And the price is also good.
We got to meet some good people from different countries .Its a good place to socialize.Also the newly added Wi Fi is for free..
I walked to city with my partner everyday.
This place is definitely a hide away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy city.
I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Call or email them in advance as this place is often fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We booked this place through another guesthouse in Ella. Should have known better. Supposed to be a 10 minute walk to Kandy town...it is at least 20-30 mins down and a steep walk up. Rooms are small and dark. We were told we had to move from our room because someone wanted a balcony room - the room is so small the bed has to be moved to get the door open, and there is absolutely no sitting room on the balcony-waste of space. Anyway, we agreed on a room for us to have the next night, came back later in the day and they gave it to someone else for 2 nights. Kept trying to get us to take room #4 which is like a cell. The food is good, although gets fairly boring after a day or 2. we were told by another business person that these people are not nice...we agree.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wannatravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights at St Bridget's at the end of our 3 week trip. It was a good base to explore Kandy from, away from the hub bub of the city. The owners were very helpful with info and tips about various sites in Kandy which we really appreciated.

The free pick up from the railway station was prompt and Mr also helpfully gave us a lift one day to a woodwork factory (and waited for us) and then onto a spice garden. We returned to buy secret boxes from the factory on our last day as we had found no better quality elsewhere, though they weren't cheap, (but final price was 50% less than price on ticket). Our trip to the Spice Garden was interesting but, for me, took too long and ate into the time i'd wanted to spend at the Botanical Gardens. However, my partner is interested in Ayurvedic medicine so he found it interesting. Products on sale there seemed v expensive to me.

Our room at the guesthouse was the smallest of all the guesthouse rooms we'd stayed in on our travels but it was clean and comfortable (and it was also the cheapest, so can;t really complain). THe bathroom was a bit dated, and the showerhead curiously antiquated but it produced lashings of hot water which is very much the main thing!

We ate at St B's every night and enjoyed the variety of food (different dishes every night) and the subtle distinction of flavours that had been missing at some of the previous eateries we'd visited. Mrs Pippi takes pride in the food and that shows through. Evening meal was v competitively priced - 650SLR i think (better check tho). Breakfast standard - tea, fruit, eggs, toast and jam. (Mrs Pippi's pineapple jam is yum!)

The guesthouse is set in a well cared for garden - we enjoyed drinkinig tea on the veranda outside the front door after a busy day in the city. And when you sit in the semi-basement dining room it's almost like you're in the rainforest as there's dense vegitiation outside all the windows.

We were grateful to our hosts for arranging a driver for our onward journey to Marawila (north of Negombo) and we stopped at the Pinnewala Elephant Orphanage/elephant bathing in river en route for 3 hours which saved us a day going to and from there from Kandy. Highly recommended. (Whole trip cost 8,500SLR. usually 7,500 to Negombo. Pinnew entrance extra).

Tuk tuk to town - 250SLR

Nice place for drink or pot of tea - Queen's Bar (like stepping back in time, and not overpriced)

Had lunch in Devon's - their 'pasty' selection - they give you a tray of pasties, samosas, rolls etc. You pay for as many as you eat.

Odel's (near Queens) have cheap European style clothes, in WHite Stuff style.

Went to morning puja at Temple of Tooth. Paid 500 to a guide for about 30 min tour. He gave us useful tips as to what to do when the drumming started.

Batanical Gardens superb. Got fantastic shots of two types of monkeys there. WIsh i'd had more time - you could spend a whole day there if you're vaguely interested in plants. We had lunch in the cafeteria on the Grand Lawn. A bit pricey but generous portions and worth it.

Mrs Pippi provided tickets to the cultural drumming/dance show which was well worth the 500. Get there early to get a decent seat. and move to the front (sit of stage steps) in the interval before the firewalking!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magliarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
725 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 56 in Kandy
506 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 451 in Kandy
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 451 in Kandy
352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Holiday Home
4.6 mi away
Kandy Guest House
Kandy Guest House
#5 of 451 in Kandy
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Bridget's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Bridget's Guest House

Address: No 125 Sri Sumangala Mawatha | Asgiriya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $27 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing