We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kandy Panorama Resort
Ranked #164 of 456 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Would recommend this hotel if you're after breathtaking views of sunrises as you stand on your balcony overlooking the valley below..... stunning. We slept with the doors open with no visits from the insect world. The room and bathroom were clean. The staff OK but didn't eat at the hotel because too many other places to go to. A drawback for being so high up the mountain is its distance from the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nesta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 107 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel , in spite of wonderful views.. Bugs all over bedroom. Staff indifferent and unmotivated. The hotel was booked for us so we cannot comment on value for money. The leek and potato soup was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived at this Hotel, late, in the dark and were amazed by the night view from the balcony in our room 202, on the top floor, and could'nt wait to see it in daylight. We had a meal in the restaurant, which was open air with the same amazing view and then went to bed.
Our room was full of moths, insects and creepy crawlies little bugs and such like. We swatted several, but decided we wanted to change to a room on a lower floor, after 2 geckos arrived and started calling out to each other. Looked like they were all getting in under the roof rafters attracted by our light!! There was no reply on the telephone and we went downstairs twice calling out and knocking on the kitchen and staff room doors, but could not raise anyone. We had to go back to the room. We left the balcony light outside on and things seemed to calm down in bug land and we slept eventually under the covers!! not good .
Next morning we told the owner/Manager of the nights occurance and how bad it was that we could not raise anyone to help. If there had been a serious medical problem with a guest, what would anyone do?? also suggested that they put some sort of mesh covering around the top of the room to stop pests coming inside. The owner said that he would do this, and certainly sort some sort of out of house phone emergency contact system..
We would not have stayed in this Hotel for a second night, which is a shame because the setting/views were amazing

Room Tip: Room 202 top floor - amazing view - but huge bug/pest problem unless some sort of mesh?mossie nettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a strange place , not really sure what happened to my last review as I can't see it here.decide to write another.
The view from Lobby, restaurant and rooms is breath taking. If you are writer, or some one love to be alone and work, this is like your place.
But same time it's strange, rooms bit tacky , staff look bit lost.( they friendly, but something different)
Could be much better place with good management .
I like this place for the extordinary view.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SriLankanInUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a four day tour arranged by Walker Tours of Sri Lanka. So it was booked for me.

Let’s get the one good point out of the way now. The view is undoubtedly terrific across the valley to the mountains and to Kandy. However, other fabulous views are about Sri Lanka when visiting the tea plantations or the cave temple. Or the hills surrounding Kandy will find similar such views without the need to stay at this dreadful hotel.

The room was full of insects, the sheets were dirty as was the one pillow {on a double bed}, the bathroom was mouldy and smelt the whole room {and hotel} was in general dis-repair and unclean.
I was rung by Reception half an hour after arrival to come down and order dinner. This was at 17:30 hrs and although not to impressed, wondered if this may be the usual way here. A time was agreed of 19:30 hrs, and was in the restaurant in good time. However after waiting for 30 minutes I asked where my dinner was but was fobbed off as the owner had turned up and was being served first. I then left but the waiter came to my room to tell me my dinner was on the table, so I returned to find all dishes at once including the starter {some I had not ordered} with them all being cold. At this point I had had enough and called it a night. The owner was not concerned at all, although had seen and heard all.

There is no air conditioning, and the ceiling fan was hanging off its fixing so did not risk putting that on to try and keep cool.

The following night my dinner was pre-ordered and arrived on time; cold again. I left the food for the obvious reasons

Please please never stay in this hotel if you need a basic standard of cleanliness, customer service and hygienic food delivery. You will regret it if you stay here and do!!

Room Tip: If you do stay here, make sure you do not get a room underneath the restaurant {which is on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverton_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed overnight on a trip to Kandy and Dambulla etc. We were amazed by views as we walked into reception and the views from our balcony which was very private. The downside was the food (buffet evening meal) and the price of drinks was double we had paid anywhere else. The hotel was up a very narrow winding road which was quite hair-raising! The manager was very friendly but other staff quite abrupt. Ok for an overnight stop but take your own drinks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minxy2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We left Dambulla at dawn and took us 5-hour drive on the way through this hotel. Since it is located on the very top hill of Kandy, it was difficult for us to find this hotel.

We arrived very late in the evening and the hotel was almost closed. I noticed that only one or two staffs were accommodating all the guests in this hotel.

I got disappointed to see a king size bed prepared for us, even we made a prior request for twin beds. I even got more disappointed to know that the basic utilities (shampoos, soaps, toothpastes) were all upon request in the lobby, and no phone service.

The only good on this hotel is the location. You will wake up to a very stunning view from the terrace. Sea of clouds covering the Kandy hills, which for a second, you would thought you are in heaven.

The worst part for this hotel was the breakfast. They only offered some slices of fruits, an egg and bread (which took almost 20 mins to serve) as an entire meal.

Overall, not recommendable. Not even for budgeted travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlespenilla720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#33 of 57 in Kandy
554 reviews
0.9 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.7 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 57 in Kandy
1,356 reviews
3.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Panorama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Panorama Resort

Address: 352 H Dharmaraja Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 456 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $45 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy Panorama Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kandy Panorama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandy Panorama Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing