We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and excellent place to stay in Kandy”
Review of Nature Walk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nature Walk Resort
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hotel is very well located. Walking distance to central Kandy, but just behind the corner of the hustle and bustle of the city center. Last part to get to hotel is a steep road up the valley. This means very nice views for the rooms located in the front, the rooms facing the back have a view of the mountain very close by which is much less. Ask for a room upfront. We stayed in a room facing the valley which was ultra clean, looked like recently refurbished with a little balcony in front of the room. Nice to sit on early in the morning with a good view across the valley and watching the monkeys cross the street on the electricity wires. The monkeys are regular visitor of the balconies; we even found a couple mating while two other monkeys were going berserk on the roof of the Kandy Lake Club. The Kandy Lake Club gives dance shows every night between 5.30 and 6.30, which is the only moment you have some noise. On the other you need not to go far to watch a show. Staff is very attentive and willing to help with imposing themselves. Breakfast is included and before the usual toast and eggs they give a nice fruit salad. Wifi works in room. Good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoelenKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Nature Walk Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 501 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly service. Ask for the room facing the valley - you'll be treated to a fabulous dawn vista. It's a tu- tuk ride from the centre of Kandy, a bit too much to walk. But it's nice to escape the hustle and bustle. It's quiet, apart from the drumming and exuberance from the early evening cultural show that take place next door to the hotel, all adds the the atmosphere!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare-Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This guest house is in a quiet area of Kandy. The hotel looks down a small valley over the town, see photo which is taken from the hotels front veranda. The hotel is very clean and tidy and the manager during our stay was very attentive. Right next door is the Sri Lankan cultural centre which performs traditional Sri Lankan dance.

I gave this hotel an overall rating of Very Good because I believe it was very good value for money based on what we were spending for our arranged tour. It is by no means an upmarket hotel, but for what is on offer I found it very good.

My assessment:
• Our room had 2 single beds pushed together as a double.
• Fan and AC.
• The room opened on to a side veranda, nice to let natural light in but no view.
• This is the first place we stayed in Sri Lanka that had hot & cold water at the bathroom sink.
• Noise travels a bit in this hotel due to the hard surfaces.
• The hotel is on 3 levels and the stairs are at an easy slope.
• No lift so wheel chairs or bad knees and hips may be a problem.
• During our 2 night stay there were all European / western people staying in the hotel.
• No TV or fridge in the room.
• Front desk has power point adapters for loan.
• Beer is available in the restaurant.
• The food is nice and is made in a clean kitchen open to the dining area, so you can see what is going on.
• Breakfast is simple, fruit, eggs on toast and juice.
• It is about 200m walk down to the main road with various shops including small convenience store and laundry.
• Free WiFi in foyer.
• Sri Lankan driver accommodation at hotel.
• Watch for the hundreds of monkeys passing the hotel in the morning, do not leave your window open during this time.

Overall I found this hotel very good for our tour. It was clean with good food and comfortable, I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If staying a couple of days consider a front room with a view of the valley
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in Nature Walk for 4 nights in January 2013. We took a tuk tuk from the train station for 300 rupees to get there. It is a little far from the center, but no more than a 15 minute walk and half that to the Tooth Temple. Our room was basic but clean. The bathroom was only okay because the shower got everything wet and there was an open window right to the reception/dining area. Our room did have nice double doors to the "balcony" but it was too small to even stand on and there was no view. However, each floor has a common area we sat at to enjoy a good view. Ruwan, who was very friendly, helped us with excursions to the Cultural Triangle and the elephant orphange (which we wouldn't recommend) but the drivers spoke good English and were fair with prices. Breakfast was fresh and typical Sri Lankan. We had dinner there once and were pleasantly surprised with the taste and price. Kandy was a lovely city and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room in the front of the building, one with a sitting terrace.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HubertJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great experience and good value for money. Food was good. Lots of Monkeys so be ware of your bread....as one of them snatched away our bread. It was a great experience and the place is very close to nature. Great view too ...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashwani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Near the town of Kandy, clean, one or two of sleep is excellent.
Monkeys in the vicinity, do not leave the windows open.
wi-fi is good ang free of charge!
with tuk tuk from the city is the price to hotel 250 rupias max!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisztina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

too expensive for what this guesthouse offers, simple breakfast, overpriced dinner, overpriced offer of excursions with "guide" who doesn't speak english, "kind" receptionist who smile before you pay him, after that he didn't even say goodbye nor offer to call taxi plus gossiping about guests (I couldn't believe he made distasteful comments about me to my girlfriend while I was upstairs - awful)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.0 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Walk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Walk Resort

Address: 9 Sanghamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $22 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nature Walk Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Nature Walk Resort located on the edge of the jungle just 10 minutes walk from the center of Kandy. Relax in a clean and peaceful environment and enjoy the breathtaking views over the forest from your balcony where you can observe monkeys and a wide variety of birds and butterflies. All rooms are ensuite and the restaurant serves delicious food throughout the day. An internet service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nature Walk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Walk Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing