We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and bright, amazing!”
Review of Nature Walk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nature Walk Resort
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Clean and bright, amazing!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

What a happy surprise to find a clean and attractive guest house in Sri Lanka. This place is situated on the side of a hill on a road beyond the Temple of the Tooth and is walking distance into town. The nicest rooms face the road and have a view across the tree tops below. These rooms have balcony seating in front but there are pleasant public lounge areas on each floor even if you have an inside room.
Our room was bright and had tiled floor, wooden furniture, air-con and a queen sized bed with a 9 inch thick mattress and nice linen. The bathroom was convenient and the water was hot. The rooms do not have television. There was free wifi but it was a bit iffy. The staff were friendly and helpful and responded promptly to requests.
Having found such comfortable accommodation it would be too much to expect great food. There was nothing wrong with the food; it was just a bit simpler than most places up north. The breakfast was a standard juice, fruit, egg, toast/butter/ jam and coffee, repeated. It was well worth the uninspired breakfast for the lovely room however.
The staff feed the local macaques. They do not suffer from shyness so it is unwise ever to leave the room door open. If you are eating in a public area, be watchful or you may be feeding the monkeys before you make a conscious decision to do so.
This was the nicest guest house room of the eleven that we stayed in whilst in Sri Lanka..

Room Tip: A front room with balcony and view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    226
    85
    28
    8
See reviews for
82
260
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2011

- Make sure you book a room in advance as they can fill up quickly and you don't want to miss out! Trust me!
- Clean, affordable and genuinely great staff. Good value for what you pay.
- The owner Sarat is very helpful and will make sure you have an enjoyable stay.
- I'd highly recommend this resort- whether you're travelling with friends, as a family or as a couple.
- Hopefully I can make it back to Kandy someday soon, and if I do, I'll be sure to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Wow, Mr. Sarath and his lovely team is something you always wish to have on a foreign land. Very friendly, gentle and caring, with utmost sincerity for the guests. They are always willing to talk to you, provide you info and make your stay as much comfortable as they can. Very clean and spacious rooms, with a breath taking view from the balcony, I strongly recommend this rest house to any one, either a solo traveler or a family or a couple.
Very affordable rates too :)
Breakfast serving was superb.

Room Tip: ask for the one with balcony facing front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammar06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I loved this guesthouse
and it's a great value @ 1600 rupies/night
for a single (no balcony, excluding breakfast).
Super clean, good food, very friendly and
professional owner/manager. Comfortable bed
and great (again very clean) bathroom.
Safe for solo female travelers!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstmarshmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

www.naturewalkhr.net

I loved this place with my whole heart, the view was amazing (and thats one of the greatest things you can get according to me), view over the mountains and beautiful surroundings.

Owner and staff very helpful and knows good english, is always attentive to make sure you are having the best stay possible. Monkeys everywhere in the morning til around 2 PM, dont leave anything on the balcony, they ate my cigarettes and lighter.. but dont worry, the monkeys didnt get hurt.

Free Wifi in all rooms, although not great connection in some rooms. But with the view, you'd rather sit in the common-area's overlooking the mountains anyway

Great 10 min walk to town, just follow the road and the traffic going down to the lake, and then walk right, along temple of tooth.

We stayed in april, off season and payed 2500 sri lankan Rupees (25 dollars) for a room with balcony and view + AC. Great room, felt very luxurious and the beds where HEAVEN. so soft it felt like sleeping on air. We had to change rooms because the balcony-room was booked, to a back room with Fan and large windows (with grids, protecting from the monkeys when open, but without the prison-feeling), this room cost 2000 rupees (20 dollars). Also great room, since you almost anyway sat in the "livingroom-areas" because of the breathtaking view.

Great breakfast for 400 rupee/person. (toasts w butter, jam, lots of fresh fruit, coffee or tea, eggs your choice. I recommend the Omelet sri lankan style with green chilli). If you fancy the sri lankan breakfast (like, rice and curry and assorties), you can always find a "Curry and rice for 100 rupees"-place nearby (= 1 dollar). And there is a great bakery on the way to town with cheap assorties, cakes, buns and other sweets.

The lunch/dinner kind of food in the Hotel restaurant was not good, maybe this was because it was off-season and no real chef's around. The bellboys cooked. Stick to french frie's and ice cream with fruits and youll be happy.

There is a tuk tuk hanging around the hotel all the time, probably a friend of the staff. (they call him every time you leave the hotel.) He will take you cheap. But he will also recommend restaurants, tea-gardens and the tropical garden etc. Personally this is a touristtrap and a way for him to drive you around. The snobby restaurant he took us to within the first hour we were there served bad food for +10 dollars/a course (I asked him to take us to a place were he usually go). You can get much better food if you find it yourself, and the tea garden is supposed to be for free although the guide wants you to buy something or atleast pay for the tea he serves and the recipe's and guide he gave you (but if you are cool enough, just walk away afterwards and say that it was supposed to be free).

(Temple of tooth is beautiful temple to visit, be sure to not miss the dancing around 7 at night, ask which nights in forehand if you are planning to go see it. Entrance fee is 1000 rupee=10 dollars for forreigner and 500 rupee=5 dollars for asian's)

The lake is beautiful - worth not taking a tuk tuk!

All and all - So beautiful and romantic for me and my partner it was like being on a honeymoon for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelle_Zami_Carousel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I Was there on Mid May and really loved the place.I always prefer clean and hygiene stay and this was perfect.breakfast was too good.i did not have lunch there so can not comment on that .Staff is very good and helping.Kandy dance happens just next to this hotel so you can watch that in evening.Balcony view is really worth.Lock was not working for our room and they changed our room without any delay.It's worth for money.Keep it up :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Great place to stay just away from the bustle of town but close enough to stroll in, ideal for the temple of the tooth. Friendly staff who looked after me when I got food poisoning from a restaurant in Kandy. The monkeys are very cheeky so watch out but highly amusing. Food was good - would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay-Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#37 of 54 in Kandy
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Walk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Walk Resort

Property: Nature Walk Resort
Address: 9 Sanghamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nature Walk Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Nature Walk Resort located on the edge of the jungle just 10 minutes walk from the center of Kandy. Relax in a clean and peaceful environment and enjoy the breathtaking views over the forest from your balcony where you can observe monkeys and a wide variety of birds and butterflies. All rooms are ensuite and the restaurant serves delicious food throughout the day. An internet service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nature Walk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Walk Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing