We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Randholee Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed our short stay at Randholee Resort. Like other reviewers mentioned, this property is far from Kandy's attractions. It's nestled in the hills and you have to take winding, often treacherous road, to get to it. Check in was quick. The room was spacious and clean. We enjoyed the patio overlooking the pool and hills. The dinner buffet was pricey but had a good variety. We particularly enjoyed the shrimp ceviche shots! Breakfast was also pretty good, and we took the advice of other reviewers and at outside near the pool and enjoyed the cool weather. I did feel that they were a bit short staffed at breakfast. It took a while to get utensils and drinks out to us.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhatnaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 420 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Quite a good place,the rooms are very spacious and comfortable, and service is quick and efficient. The breakfast is limited and not quite up to the mark, but the views from the room and leisure areas is simply breathtaking. Would recommend to anybody staying in Kandy as it's location is very strategic.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Pankaj_bajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I must say that for this hotel to name itself luxury resort is a bit of a stretch. I'd give this hotel a 3 star rank at best:
- Room is a bit on the cramped side, but this is forgiven due to the difficulty of location ( it sits on a steep hilly location).
- bathroom is also small, a bit difficult to maneuver esp. when I have to give shower to the kids.
- there is this gazebo perched precariously on the valley, please make sure to watch your children when playing there. The design is a bit unsafe for small children to be left there on their own.
- for me this is the worst offense. The room has a musty, mouldy smell to it. There were these sofa pillows that smelled so bad, we had to put it inside the cupboard. It didn't give a good feeling after you were out all day to come back to the room and smelled the odour. Hygienic, fresh room is something to be really considered by hotel mgmt.

On the good side, scenery in front of the hotel was amazing. The food at the rwstaurant was also not bad, breakfast was good as well. We pretty much eat here most of time, since it is difficult to eat out with small kids. There is also small swimming pool that has infinity pool to it, kids have blast swimming in it.

Room Tip: Make sure to request rooms facing the valley ahead of time! It might be the only saving grace from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b4ikinkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and the views from our room were amazing, overlooking the city of Kandy in the mountains. The hotel room was very clean and tidy and the staff was friendly and helpful, speciall Ardjun from housekeeping who was able to sort out a problem that we had with our car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erokose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We started with a disappointment when the room appeared to have a door to the adjoining room and some very noisy neighbours. However the manager went out of his way to solve this and we ended up being very happy with our stay. The hotel is on a hill overlooking Kandy and the views are absolutely outstanding, we watched sunrise with a touch of morning fog from our balcony. Staff are nice and helpful, special accolade for the manager who shows real commitment. Only reason it didn't get the maximum score is one restaurant with only a set menu, but the food was excellent.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jaap en Manuela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at this hotel mid afternoon after a long journey. At first I was not too impressed as I think it was a bit old fashioned. Bathroom a bit dull. But nice and clean.
Towels were very good soft and white and the sheets.
A good laundry service in this hotel and we sent some linen shirts and trousers to the laundry , they all came back beautifully clean and pressed it worked out to about £1.00 for a pair of trousers 200 LR.
Al al carte restaurant nice and the bar area. Waiters very helpful and the bar staff too staff also very friendly.
Reception a bit slow.
Superb panoramic views over the gardens and in the distance Kandy.
A bit of a drive up from Kandy so we ate in the restaurant. Food good wine good selection of palatable wines. Also they stocked Cognac in the bar to round off your evening with a nightcap.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room via your tour operator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, didnt like it much, menu sounded delicous but failed to impress, staff slow but very pleasant, annoying musicians who wanted to play by table and needed some encouragment to move away. The Spa is souless empty, echoing. Our driver who was fantastic crunched the bottom of his car driving into resort on first arrival, seems to be a large drop at gateway.
The best bit of this hotel is the view which is fantastic, however the lift smelt damp on first entering but I convinced myself it was insect repellent, being realy tired we retired to bed, I woke in the night smelling damp and realised that it was the bedding, while clean it smelt awful, the bathroom was dark and pokey with a shower door over bath that was claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windsurfer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
812 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
4.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randholee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randholee Resort & Spa

Address: Heerassagala Rd | Bowalawaththa, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Randholee Luxury Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $84 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Randholee Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randholee Resort & Spa is nestled in the beautiful Mount Pleasant range in Kandy, Sri Lanka. The panoramic view from our resort is about the best that one could experience in Kandy. Seclusion, space, and privacy-our resort offers all these, making it the ideal choice when visiting Kandy. Decked in Kandyan décor, our well-appointed rooms offer its own private balcony and spacious bathrooms equipped with luxury comforts for all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Randholee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randholee Luxury Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing