We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet, nice hotel outside Kandy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Randholee Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very quiet, nice hotel outside Kandy”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Über quiet hotel up the hillside from Kandy. Big rooms, with great views (select hillside) and good bathrooms - albeit a bit basic by western standards.

Has great views, but not a simple trip without a driver. Cost 800 Rupees for an evening tuk tuk from the centre of Kandy, and took about 20 minutes. 1000 (without a barter) from Chilled Garden Bar and Restaurant.

I'd say its nice for a couple of nights as a couple, and longer as a family.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ffatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    155
    72
    21
    17
See reviews for
99
209
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

You must make sure you stay in the hillside rooms the views are great. We had been booked into a garden view room and on our second morning we noticed there were vacant hillside rooms and so we arranged a move; well worth the extra! The hotel feels luxurious; the small size makes it seem more intimate. The restaurant was very good for both dinner and breakfast. The staff were very friendly and efficient which made your stay there comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and pristine although you needed to be fairly agile to get into the shower which was in the bath and screened off. A step was provided to get in and out but you needed to be careful. Describing itself as a luxury resort meant the price of the buffet was the highest we paid in Sri Lanka and the laundry prices were high in comparison to the other hotels we stayed in. Overall a good hotel in a lovely location.

Room Tip: Hillside Room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice Small hotel far from Kandy center.
The superior rooms are big and well appointed but best of all have a beautiful balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the valley.
Breakfast and dinner a little scarce.
All in all good stay and very kind service.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra 10 USD a night for the the Deluxe room for the wonderful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

An outstanding hotel by any standard, with great views over Kandy. The food was some of the best we tasted in Sri Lanka, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Quiet and tidy, will stay there again when in Kandy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place got a nice panoramic view of the Hunnasgiriya beautiful scenery. Hotel is suits for Honeymooners because of its so calm and quiet . Small luxury hotel clean and tidy. You can get a cool swim in small pool as well as a good relaxation near the pool lay down chairs

Room Tip: Hunnasgiriya view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajasekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Overall we stayed in 4 hotels in Sri Lanka from 21st to 29 Jan 2013 and this hotel was without the doubt the best. It starts the moment you walk through the door - the staff and management are brilliant & we cannot thank them enough for our stay, the views from the hotel are breath taking, youi have to see them to believe them....the room we had was just wonderful and overall this hotel out stripped our expectation. If, and hopefully when, we go back to Sri Lanka this would be our hotel of choice.

The food was also great and the best we had during our 10 day stay we had no issues - they also have a fantastic gym and it is well worth a visit.

Our only regret is that we only stayed 2 days –congratulations to all the staff and management for making our stay so memorable

Visit this hotel – you will not be disappointed – it just brilliant

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view and you will be not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanrAlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Randholee Luxury Resort.I booked this Resort through a Travel Agent from INDIA for 2 nights.This resort is very good ., best situated for people who like to relax and have a peaceful stay. Restaurant and Swimming pool is very good,we stayed in a NON VIEW Room., we are not completely satisfied with the room and the location of the room,we felt like we were staying in a outhouse of the Resort.,anyway bed was comfortable to sleep which is actually very important after having a full day tour.. Staffs are very helpful and gave us warm welcome with a drink. Buffet Breakfast was good.Overall It was a good stay.,

Room Tip: Please ask or Book for Mountain View Rooms Only..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balajisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kandy
772 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
3.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
1,012 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
2.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randholee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randholee Resort & Spa

Property: Randholee Resort & Spa
Address: Heerassagala Rd | Bowalawaththa, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Randholee Luxury Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Randholee Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randholee Resort & Spa is nestled in the beautiful Mount Pleasant range in Kandy, Sri Lanka. The panoramic view from our resort is about the best that one could experience in Kandy. Seclusion, space, and privacy-our resort offers all these, making it the ideal choice when visiting Kandy. Decked in Kandyan décor, our well-appointed rooms offer its own private balcony and spacious bathrooms equipped with luxury comforts for all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Randholee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randholee Luxury Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing